We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing, would definitely recommend. ”
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Amboise
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing, would definitely recommend. ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, was very nice. The staff were amazing, they were happy to show us where to go in the valley. Amboise is a very beautiful village, and the novotel is located on the outskirts of the village, on top of a hill. For that reason it is beautiful to look out your room Window and see the village.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    453
    196
    39
    22
See reviews for
412
306
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had car trouble in Paris which set us back about 6 hours. Needless to say by the time we arrived at our B&B no one would answer the door. Fortunately the Ibis which was completely booked call around for us and secured the last room at the Novotel. The hotel was seemingly standard to me (as far as American hotels go). I was like a Best Western or Hampton Inn. Everything was clean and it's bathroom offered a bathtub. We paid extra for Breakfast which was average. I could not get the wifi on my phone however it work on my iPad somewhat. I kind of felt it was a little pricey for the accommodation however I was very grateful not to have to sleep in the car :o).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The high rating of the hotel is purely for its facilities .lovely grounds ,swimming pool and tennis courts, although the lawn had not been mowed for at least three weeks while we were there which was a shame as it gave the grounds a slightly neglected look. The bedrooms when first entered can smell slightly musty and of smoke which is off putting but bathroom modern and clean. The bed for me was a bit hard. I did not rate the restaurant for dinner but the breakfasts were good. The hotel gets a huge amount of business from tour groups and to a certain extent I think it is neglecting individual travellers as the groups do not seem to stay more than one night. It is possible to walk into Amboise from the hotel although it's take about 25 minutes and uphill on the way back but it's nice not to have to get in a car to reach the town and it's location is peaceful

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground and lower ground floor as do not smell as fresh as upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixstoweSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel with a family of 5. We had 2 rooms which were connecting which was really nice since we had this no where else in europe. The rooms were clean and modern in furnishing. Breakfast was included and had a nice selection of items. Seems to be a popular tourist group location. Good location from the center of town as well as setting out on day trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,039 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently stayed here as part of a recent tour, and it was evident it's popular with tour groups.

Rooms and bathroom was reasonably sized, not too small and not large. The toilet was separate to the bathroom, however there is no sink in the toilet.

Breakfast was ok - sausages were raw on the inside, scrambled eggs were cold and there wasn't enough still water on the table so we had to ask for it. On our first morning for breakfast, we had to ask for clean cutlery because we came down after the main breakfast rush.

Staff were nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed here a few years in a row and it is a little sad to see the hotel and especially the grounds deteriorating for want of spending some money. The rooms are starting to look a little tired, perhaps because of the very high turnover from coach tours. Smoke smells in the room are a constant problem, luckily we moved to a less smoky room. Prices for the independent traveller are rising year by year, perhaps becuase so many rooms are sold to the coach tours.
The grounds could be as great feature of the hotel with wonderful views to the chateau , and to be fair the pool area is lovely and well kept. However the large grounds are being neglected as atre the tennis courts.
Good restaurant although one waitress in particular was very surly at breakfast, also finishing breakfast at 9.30 is quite mean especially for UK travellers with the time difference.
Overall this could be a fantastic base for exploring the Loire but the hotel needs to decide if itbwants to offer good quality to attract the independent travelled or penny pinch and get by on coach tours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulm2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
1.8 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.2 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
367 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Property: Novotel Amboise
Address: 17 rue des Sablonnieres, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing