We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but poor restaurant”
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Amboise
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    435
    190
    36
    21
See reviews for
398
293
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We spent 3 days in Amboise and we choose Novotel to stay. It is a very nice hotel,clean, comfortable rooms,very good breakfast with a wonderful view of Amboise and its Castle. Location was not a problem as we had a car. We took a TGV in Paris (Montparnasse Gare) to Tours ( 1 Hour ), rent a car there and then we drove to Amboise (around 20 Minutes). We had a great time at Loire Valey ( it's fantastic! )and really enjoyed the hotel. We hope someday we will return to stay there again.
Barros Family from Fortaleza,Brasil

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainebdbarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

It was good if you just there for sleeping . They didn't have much to offer . It is good location when you have a car .This city is hard to find taxi .

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This hotel is great for families. Nice staff, modern, clean. Nice pool and mini golf area for the kids. They even have an xbox in reception.
Amboise was a delight. Beautiful place, lots to see and fab food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The good:
- location near the major Chateaux
- rooms (superior) modern and clean
- swimming pool, free internet, childrens' games
- large gated car park
The bad:
- food in the hotel restaurant is overpriced for what is effectively microwaved frozen food quality
- pillows are the cheap and uncomfortable sort
- the centre of Amboise is not really walking distance

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We loved this hotel. The rooms were clean and more than adequate for our family of 4. The staff were friendly and helpful. The children enjoyed a few hours in the pool while we soaked up the sunshine and the terrific views from the sun terrace. We also took advantage of the mini golf. Breakfast was very good value as the children ate for free. The only down side was that we wished we'd have booked more than one night!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shesowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stopped off here for a night whilst visiting some Loire chateaux. Arrived after a hot day travelling and sightseeing and had a swim in their excellent outdoor pool. Afterwards a nice cold beer and dinner.
Located just outside Amboise and so is well placed for a tour around the Loire.
Recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.9 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Property: Novotel Amboise
Address: 17 rue des Sablonnieres, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing