We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring the Loire Valley”
Review of Villa Roma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Roma
Ranked #15 of 31 Amboise B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed here in late September with my husband & 2 children. Amboise is a lovely little town, and Villa Roma is right in the middle of town, opposite the Chateau Royal, and the Clos Luce (where Leonardo Da Vinci spent the last few years of his life - worth a visit) is just a 5-10 minute walk up the road. This is a great place to base yourself for a visit to the Loire Valley.

The hotel is just 2 rooms above an Italian restaurant (Via Roma). The room at the front has views of the Chateau Royal, the family room we had was at the back with no view, but it was a really nice room. It's a very old building, lots of character and done up very nicely. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

We had dinner at Via Roma, which was really good, and a simple breakfast (croissants, bread, juice & coffee/tea) was included in the room rate. There are lots of other restaurants and bars/cafes nearby.

A few things to be aware of:
- I booked via Booking.com and on the listing, it said that the family room had a kitchenette, but all it had was a sink and microwave - no fridge, plates, glasses etc.
- It wasn't clear when I made the booking that they are only open during the opening hours of their restaurant. It wasn't a big deal for us as we arrived at 5.40pm and the restaurant opened at 6pm, so we just had a drink at one of the bars nearby. Once you have checked in, you can come and go at any time via the back entrance (there's a numeric code for the lock).
- Their street address (rue Newton) is the little lane at the back, which you can't drive down, and you cannot get into this entrance until you have checked in and have the code for the back entrance. The restaurant is actually on Rue Victor Hugo, which is a one-way street that goes past the front of the castle. There is parking on this street (free overnight from 6pm to 9am, max 2hrs after 9am).
- no WiFi
All of the above were minor issues for us, we would definitely stay there again if we ever go back to that area.

Room Tip: - The room at the front has a view of the castle. The family room is at the back, with no view. - C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Really enjoyed our one night stay here in July 2012. Amazing location opposite the castle (literally could view it from the window and the main square). Nice decorations, obviously recently done. Simple interiors but just perfect especially as so close to everything. Bathroom basic but totally fine. Staff very friendly and a nice show around when we arrived. We were on top floor which in summer really needs air conditioning to avoid street noise and mosquitoes - otherwise great.

Room Tip: Request air con or avoid top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

There are 2 beautifully French rooms in this hotel that we acquired for an overnight as we were passing through the Loire Valley. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious.

The only drawback is the inability to check-in at an undisclosed arrival time. Due to traffic and an especially long wait time for a rental car at the airport, we arrived later than we planned (4:00pm instead of 1:00pm). There was no one available to check us in until the restaurant in front of the hotel opened at 6:00pm. We checked in, showered, and cleaned up for dinner only to be told by the restaurant staff that they were closed at 8:50pm which of course seemed odd to us because they had just opened at 6:00pm. So we had to trot all over town to find an open restaurant. You know what they say about Europeans eating a late dinner? It doesn't apply in Amboise. We ended up eating in a pizzeria that was still opened.

I do recommend staying here. It truly is lovely, but know in advance that check-in times coincide with the restaurant service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecretGardenStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A very difficult place to find as it's up a back alley with no nameplate leading to an anonymous door with a scruffy note telling you to go round to the restaurant at the front. My wife was all set to find anywhere else or sleep in the car! After we walked back through the alleyways to the front we were able to check in at the restaurant. It's an odd arrangement; however don't be put off because the room was lovely with a large window overlooking the chateau on the other side of the road. The bathroom was big and clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was the usual french affair served in the restaurant itself. Returning after a meal out meant negotiating the dark alleyways and entering a code at the seedy looking door where there was no light - quite intimidating for any single female i would have thought. Whilst the stay was fine for one night I do think it was pricey for what it was - more akin to student lodgings and this didn't come across in the details on the website. The access to the room was from a small hall at the rear of the restaurant and then up a very narrow winding staircase which sort of gave it some charm I suppose.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the front, the other ones (I think there were only two) couldn’t have had any vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailinggerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Great location at the center of the city, newly renovated. great value.
Very spacious and comfortable room and bath room. Good view of the Amboise castle and the street. Yet the window does block out the noise very well.. You can hear the music of the street artist if you open the window. Quite romantic.
Minimum service, no phone in the room . It is above the Restaurant Via Roma, there are only 3-4 rooms .Enter thru the atrium of the restaurant. A waitor simply gave us the key and moved our luggage upstair to the room and tell us breakfast will be served between 9-10am next day, do not know who is in charge until the next morning.Have to exit the back door from the atrium when restaurant is closed .
We had French dinner at the restaurant right across the street. Very good and resonable price.
Good thing we have planned all details of the sightseeing ahead of time, so we do not have to count on the non-existing receptionist. Toursit office is only 5 minutes away.
I would highly recommend it for the price, location and the nice room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas prendre la chambre du deuxième étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guyonpascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
245 reviews
2.2 mi away
L'Auberge de la Ramberge
L'Auberge de la Ramberge
#1 of 1 in Poce-sur-Cisse
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Amboise
Ibis Budget Amboise
#11 of 25 in Amboise
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma

Address: 8 Place Michel Debre, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast, located opposite the castle of Amboise. 3 rooms renovated cozy full direct access to downtown restaurants - pizzeria owners ideal location for visiting the chateaux of the Loire ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing