We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little ramshackle”

Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup
Book In Advance
More Info
US$289.71*
and up
Loire Valley Castles Helicopter Tour
Ranked #9 of 35 things to do in Amboise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pagoda, built in 1775, is a Chinese curiosity of pure Louis XVI style. Virtual reconstruction images show the splendour of the Duke of Choiseul’s palace, destroyed in 1823 by the “Black Band”. Quaint Chinese garden, its oriental plants and Chinese ornaments invite to meditate. Awe-inspiring panoramic view from the top of the Pagoda, “old-fashioned” outdoor games, boat ride on the ornamental lake.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little ramshackle”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A lovely little walk through the woods to get to it. Definitely better to visit on a nice day weather wise. There is an air of decay about it and it seems that it is still being worked on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank S-JPE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPagodedeChanteloup, Directeur général at Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Visitor,

We were interested in your commentary.

We have been deploying our efforts to save this monument for 27 years.

We hope that you’ll come back, preferably with nice weather, and that you’ll be touched by the beauty of our site.

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    55
    46
    42
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Was passing so dropped in. Not much to see although the film about the chateau that used to be here was interesting. Overall not worth the 9 euro entry fee

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Magicians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPagodedeChanteloup, Directeur général at Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Visitor,

You consider that the entrance fee is expensive. However, it is necessary to enable to carry out maintenance and restoration work in the site.

The site offers you the visit of the Pagoda, its panoramic view, the park, and the quaint Chinese garden. You can also see the virtual reconstruction images of the castle and its gardens in the « Caretaker Pavilion ». You can also enjoy the other animations (outdoor games, boat ride …)

We hope that you’ll come back to enjoy all the animations at our site.

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not sure”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We went to have a look but was closed. Went back but can see the pagoda from the road. Not sure what else is on offer?? Too many other great attractions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DomCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPagodedeChanteloup, Directeur général at Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Visitor,

We are sorry that you came when the Pagoda was closed. The site offers you the visit of the Pagoda, its panoramic view, the park, and the quaint Chinese garden. You can also see the virtual reconstruction images of the castle and its gardens in the « Caretaker Pavilion ». You can also enjoy the other animations (outdoor games, boat ride …)

We hope that you’ll come back to enjoy all the animations at our site.

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The forest is the thing”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The pagoda is cool, but probably not a key destination for most travelers in this region. But, if you're in the area for a few days, it is definitely worth a stop. The forest is beautiful, there were flowers and wildlife (muskrats?) nearby. The pagoda is a fascinating piece, not many tourists there. It's possible there are sometimes boat rides on the pond, but we didn't see any (we didn't see much reason to stay long). It turned out to be a fairly recent building (what's left of the old chateau), and while its setting is lovely (and you can picnic), we found it worth only a 20 minute stop or so. But, if you want a nice place to picnic and plan to take one, it's nice (there's some sort of visitor center, but since the chateau is mostly gone, it's not of keen interest).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LeBiscuit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“if you have see a parc you can miss this one”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

You are in the Loire and there are fabulous gardens everywhere... usually with interesting Chateau. There is literally notmuchhere to seeunless you would like a nice spot to bring a picnic

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPagodedeChanteloup, Directeur général at Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Visitor,

We are happy that you appreciated the Chanteloup site as a nice spot to have a picnic. You can also buy a « picnic basket of Chanteloup », prepared by us with regional specialities.

We hope that you will come back to enjoy a country lunch in the park.

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup also viewed

 
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to Park of the Pagoda of Chanteloup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing