We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely charming and very walkable to restaurants and shops in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Choiseul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Choiseul
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming and very walkable to restaurants and shops in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

This is an absolutely charming hotel set in an old, small mansion that has been totally renovated. The room was large and comfortable, and had a large modern bathroom. The restaurant was elegant and the food quality was fantastic. Breakfast was a bit disappointing given all the other wonderful experiences, but still not too bad. To me, the best part of the hotel is the location, which is extremely close to the center of town and, for adventurous types, even walkable to the train station. The service was also very friendly and helpful. It's just a 5 minute walk to the old castle high on the hill, which is a tourist attraction not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middle_East_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    118
    42
    21
    11
See reviews for
48
229
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Le Choiseul is a beautifully restored manor home with quaint rooms, beautiful furnishings and fantastic staff. They also have a highly touted restaurant that brings locals in from the area, but we didn't take advantage of it.

The rooms are all different and very charming. When we were told we had an attic room, we were a little skeptical. But what a room. OK, so we had to get our luggage up 2 spiral staircases (I need to learn to pack lighter), but there was a great reward at the top of the stairs. A beautiful, large room with wonderful funishings. Very, very clean and neat. They obviously take pride in this hotel. We read someplace that the bathrooms were small. Small? Ours would have held a family of 8 with no problem. It was very large and immacuate. And if you are a washcloth user, they had wash mitts. What a delight. Wifi access was a off and on, but we were able to keep in touch with family and friends for the most part. Right on the river and main street so very easy to find (what a relief!). Staff was very helpful and patient. Helped us with directions each day - thank you!

Hotel is well situated so we were able to 'chateau until we dropped' in our 3 night stay. Amboise itself is very cute with a great patisserie and chocolate place just inside the pedestrian area. And on the street to the right of the patisserie, was a pizza/pasta/ assorted plates restaurant with really good food at a fair price.

I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannyfrance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Spent two nights. Very friendly reception. Room very attractively decorated, if a little old-fashioned. Bathroom a little tired - but everything worked. Enjoyed breakfasts and our one dinner; we were led to wonderful table overlooking the river. Food was excellent and the service very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

I loved this place, beautifull hotel, in the middle of Amboise, a very nice city, gorgeous address. We get a bike and rided to Chenonceau castle. Of you have energie do that.
Our room was very small, and after a saw others so much bigger and better decorate, i didn' t understood why they have us this room with a so expensive rate....
But I still recommend this hotel and restaurant

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

On one hand I am very grateful to the staff here for giving us a discounted room at 12 midnight when we had to leave the Le Manoir Minimes because our room was infested with bugs. However, even the discount was a bit overpriced. We had an attic room that was spacious but quite a distance from the parking lot --- carrying luggage down 2 hallways and up 2 flights of steps was quite difficult. The next morning, my girlfriend and I had breakfast which was a whopping $22 Euros per person -- and had 2-3 croissants, a small portion of eggs and a only few slices of bacon.

The shower was odd -- there was no curtain or partition so to avoid getting water on the floor, you are essentially showering in a crouching position.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stabone130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had chosen this hotel as our last night of luxury in France after a couple of weeks in the south. Never again

We were given an attic room which was meant to be a superior room, the temperature was in the 30's and it was unbearably hot. There was one narrow window overlooking the road and a skylight in the ensuite bathroom. We could not get the air conditioning to alter. It had been set for the whole hotel apparently with no way of increasing it according to the position of your room or the clients preference. A phone call to reception was no help at all. It was also a very dark room.
We had booked for dinner at the hotel restaurant which comes highly recommended. We tried to get a pre dinner drink in the bar but there was no one serving, The reception staff ignored us as did several of the dining room staff travelling between the dining room and the reception area.
Eventually we persuaded one of the reception staff to call someone from the dining room to come downstairs to serve us. We had to ask if we could be looking at the menus while we had our drink to save time. This was agreed but we were told it would take some time to prepare the starters anyway.

The meal when we finally got it was good but not exceptional, the staff apart from one was young and inexperienced.
We really felt that the hotel was living on an outdated reputation , or maybe they don't have to worry because Amboise is a popular tourist town and there is no shortage of custom.
We however will not be back, overpriced and thinks very highly of itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

In a quiet setting next to the cliffs housing the amazing Chateau of Amboise and a very short stroll to the pretty village, a wonderful , clean homely feel to these little villa-style rooms. I had a private terrace and lovely views over the Italian style gardens. The staff were execeptionally helpful and the food was divine .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnnjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Choiseul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Choiseul

Property: Le Choiseul
Address: 36 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Choiseul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel in Amboise with panoramic view over the River Loire.At the foot of the Amboise Castle ramparts, overlooking the Loire, The Choiseul is a collection of private residences built in the 18th Century, surrounding Italian-style gardens.An ideal base for those who wish to visit the royal castles of the Loire Valley & to savour the area's celebrated cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Choiseul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Choiseul Amboise
Le Choiseul Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing