We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location overlooking the Loire”
Review of Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellevue
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The location of this hotel couldn't be better for a stop off in Amboise. Our room (7) overlooked the Loire and was minutes from the square where all the restaurants are. The room was contemporary and newly refurbished with an outside decking patio - just a shame we arrived too late to enjoy it. The public areas especially the corridors and stairways looked very dark and dated with maroon carpets and dark wood but don't let that put you off. Room was €110 plus €9/person for a good quality continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JED457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Situated right by the main bridge in Amboise, traffic noise is an issue if like me you are put in the room overlooking it. I should have asked to be moved, but after a day cycling I just crashed. The room was clean & had everything you would expect, I was surprised the hotel didn't have a restaurant. It's only a very short walk from the main restaurant street, so it's not a problem. Breakfast was mediocre, at best. The orange juice looked as old as the hills. Would I stay again, yes if I was desperate.

Room Tip: Not near main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Old Belle-Vue reviews made the hotel appear tired and worn BUT a good value. The price point was good so we choose the hotel. We were very surprised to enter a modernized, tastefully decorated lobby. Our renovated room was immaculate and painted in a soothing color. We asked for a room with a view of the Loire river. In the evening, the vista was beautiful. An orange setting sun provided a lovely photo op. The only complaint was the lack of a minifridge and the lingering smell of fresh paint.
The management is in the process of updating their website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maui-ME2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I think the hotel has just undergone a revamp when we stayed here recently. I was really impressed with our room. Everything is new. We were kindly upgraded to the family room sleeps four in two large rooms with two bathrooms. Great value and warm friendly staff. Excellent location a hop skip and jump to the castle and restuarants. Only one quibble...the heating needs to be turned up. The room was absolutely freezing and the heating was on max. I mentioned it to the staff and they said it gets turned up at night but we were also freezing through the night. I mentioned it again on check out so hopefully they will turn it up according to the weather conditions as it was extremely cold for March when we visited. Although the hotel doesn't have parking we had no problems getting a free spot on the street right outside. All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyliedbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

At the Bellevue it's all about location. this hotel is located directly behind the Amboise chateau-couldn't be an easier walk to get into town. the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms are dated and could use a renovation. parking is easy on the street near the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed here in September while on a cycling trip through France, and the owner could not have been more friendly and helpful. He let me put my bike in a private, secure garage overnight and offered advice on my route for the following day. The hotel decor is a little dated but the rooms, bathrooms and common areas were absolutely spotless - I'm not sure I've ever stayed anywhere as clean. There was also a fantastic selection of food at breakfast the next day, including some of the best pastries and bread I ate during my time in France (and there was stiff competition). The hotel is centrally located, and it was easy to walk out in the evening to find somewhere to eat. Highly recommended - don't be put off by the dated facade as this is a real gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamCervinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed our stayed at this hotel. We stayed on the top floor of this small hotel. The small elevator was a welcome sight! Our room was a good size with a recently renovated bathroom. The wifi was very good. This hotel is in a great location for walking to all the sights. We did not try the breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
19.8 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
1.1 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#10 of 25 in Amboise
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue

Address: 12 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £69 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel bellevue is located to the historical center of amboise.very closed from the castle's entrance and near leonard de vinci house. americans,english,australians andalso italians a are enjoyed to stay at our hotel. all new clients are welcome at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle-Vue Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing