We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice chateau from across river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau d'Amboise

Chateau d'Amboise
Book In Advance
More Info
US$182.21*
and up
Small-Group Day Tour of Loire Valley: Chenonceau Amboise and Clos Lucé with...
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With the dawning of the Renaissance, the mighty medieval fortress of Amboise gave way to a royal residence, during the reigns of the Kings of France Charles VIII and François I. The Court, a large number of men and women of letters and European artists, stayed here on invitation from the sovereigns, one example being Leonardo da Vinci who lies here in peace in the Château’s Chapel.This place of high renown in the History of France boasts an exceptional collection of Gothic and Renaissance furniture illustrating the artistic finery of the first French Renaissance. After a visit of the Royal House and the impressive Cavalry Towers, the walk continues in the magnificent panoramic gardens overlooking the Loire river.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very nice chateau from across river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

crossed the river & took picture.... it was so beautiful

we also visited shops beside the chateau, it was very nice to sit & have food there, watching chateau.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hargiyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,459
    1,314
    282
    41
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great chateau visit but take a cushion for the evening son et lumiere per”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The chateau has spectacular views and using the audio tour well recommended as it's scripted commentary has all the hallmarks of an am dram performance and is a laugh in itself. We went to the night son et lumiere performance which is on Wed and Sat evenings. Be warned the bench seats become increasingly uncomfortable and at 2 hours long you tend to flag as yet another 16 century dance sequence emerges from the dark. It was well gone 12 when we finished and the cast (of about a hundred local people including children) were very enthusiastic whilst a few star performers and old stagers. We were left thinking it was about an hour too long and that the producer probably thought if he made the show twice as long it would be twice as good. It wasn't. Lovely costumes, interesting horse tricks, spectacular backdrop. But it was quite literally a pain in the backside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chateau above the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Perched high above the Loire and the town of Amboise, this chateau has seen many French monarchs and artistic luminaries. Construction of this chateau began in the 9th century and proceeded over the centuries. Charles VIII rebuilt the site in the late 15th century. Leonardo da Vinci was a frequent guest at the chateau. The audio guide is very helpful in making sense of the various owners and occupants of the chateau. St. Hubert's Chapel on the grounds of the chateau houses the remains of da Vinci.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the visit; but don't miss the town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This Loire Valley region of France has a dozen or more Chateau's. Some take most of a day to visit. You can cover the Chateau d'Amboise, including the grounds, in about 2 hours. If you have a limited time don't miss the Sentries Walk, Council Chambers, Music Room and the Landscaped Gardens. If you have unlimited time, use the balance to walk around the town and river bank

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David440a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely Chateau above a lovely town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Amboise is a lovely busy tourist town on the Loire river, and the Château sits on the hillside above it. We were staying in the town and decided to visit the Château one morning. We chose to go for the optional audio guide, as it meant we could wander around whilst listening to the information rather than looking for English translations. It was a lovely sunny day when we visited, so we had some great views over the town, river and surrounding area from the walled area (fantastic photo opportunity). There are several rooms through which you are guided, and many have pieces of furniture in great condition, along with fabric and art from various points in the Châteaux history. As many others have mentioned, Leonardo de Vinci is buried in the small chapel, and that adds another interesting piece of history to learn about. After looking around the interior of the Château, it was pleasant to take a quiet walk around the lovely garden areas too. We were glad we chose the audio guide which was very good, with some very interesting information about the history of the Château.
We visited at 11am and it was fairly quiet, not too many people in the rooms. When we left, a queue was starting to form at the entrance, so perhaps in the afternoon it can get a bit busier.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau d'Amboise also viewed

 
Villandry, Loire Valley
 

Been to Chateau d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing