We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini-Chateau with Wonderful History”

Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci
Book In Advance
More Info
US$198.22*
and up
Small-Group Day Tour of Loire Valley: Chenonceau Amboise and Clos Lucé with...
More Info
US$464.26*
and up
2-Day Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris
More Info
US$870.49*
and up
4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At the invitation of Francis I, Leonardo da Vinci came to live at the Château du Clos Lucé and stayed here for the last three years of his life, devoting himself to perfecting his inventions. Leonardo was prolific and inspired, working as an engineer, architect and theatrical director, organising lavish festivities for the Court. At his residence 300 metres from the Château Royal, he drew up plans for a model château for Francis I in Romorantin and designed the double-helix open staircase in the Château de Chambord.The Château du Clos Lucé is dedicated to showing and explaining to the public the great knowledge acquired by the Italian Maestro.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mini-Chateau with Wonderful History”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Acquired in the late 15th century by Charles VIII for his wife, Anne of Bretagne, the property was inherited by Francis I. Being a devotee of the arts, Frances invited Leonardo da Vinci to live and work at this chateau. Leonardo died here on May 2, 1519. Although the house is relatively small it is rich in history. A museum of Leonardo's inventions is situated in the basement of the structure. The adjoining outdoor restaurant is a wonderful place to have lunch or a beer and enjoy the chateau.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard-Amboise, communication manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear visitor,
Thank you for the comment.
We are happy that you spent a good and interesting time at the Château du Clos Lucé, the residence of the Leonardo da Vinci.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,124
    1,309
    386
    128
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leonardo da Vinci's home surrounded by wonderful park”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Place where Leonardo da Vinci lived for three years and died. Interesting examples of his inventions made to scale here. Great for kids. Same goes for the gardens. Good for a few hours of awe at Da Vinci's intelligence and creativity.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneFilippini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard-Amboise, Communication manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Chateau and grounds”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Clos Luce was our first chateau during our visit to the Loire Valley. It was a pleasant walk up from the center of Amboise. we did the self guided tour. The pamphlet provided enough information for us, but there are guided tours available.
Clos Luce should be on everyone's itinerary when visiting Loire Valley.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristineW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard-Amboise, Communication manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An enjoyable eye opener”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had never heard of Clos Lucé until we were almost on the door step. Having planned a stay in the Loire we decided to try Amboise one day. This was the first thing we saw and it was great!
A far as chateaux go it was down scaled compared with Chenonceaux and the like but what interested us most was the Leonardo da Vinci's inventions. We did the self guided tour using pamphlets provided in English. Leo spent his last three years here at the request of King François 1 in 1516.
The place is full of sketches, explanations and realistic mock ups of said inventions. The basement has AV footage and small scale versions of everything from paddle boats, clocks, armoured tanks, mobile bridges to hangliders and helicopters! In the expansive gardens there are full sized versions of many of the previously mentioned inventions. Suitable for the whole family. It was lovely to roam around the gardens and enjoy the water areas etc. These gardens aren't highly ordered and manicured as per Villandry etc but they felt very welcoming and comfortable. At least three restaurants are available for snack, meals & drinks too.
For the art lovers it also explains how he got into the ' smoky' background effect he used and how the gardens inspired him and some followers to develop their art.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carmel2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard-Amboise, communication manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you for the positive comment.
We are happy that had a nice visit in the castel and its parc.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cashing in on the Leonardo legend?”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Sadly, this was a bit of a disappointment for us. The house is charming enough; some interesting objects from the 16th century are on show in some rooms; there are some pretty gardens; and there are some reconstructions of Leonardo's inventions in the basement. But the place's only real historical selling point was its link with Leonardo da Vinci, and we had the feeling that a great deal was being made out of not very much. Perhaps one needs to buy into the whole Leonardo business to get more out of it - but even if we had, we could have been put off by the high ticket price of 14 Euros. Even Chambord and Chenonceau, which are much larger attractions, and have much more to explore, were noticeably cheaper. If you are visiting Amboise, we guess that you may want to see it; but go and see the chateau immediately afterwards - that's much better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterandRobin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard-Amboise, Communication manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment.
We will try to improve the points you describe.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing