We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location; good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Blason

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Blason
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location; good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

'Le Blason' is a quaint little hotel--in an excellent location. The staff (including the owner and his wife) are very friendly. In general, the rooms (I saw many of them during our stay) are small, but very clean. I would say "basic" is the best adjective to describe the rooms. The t.v. did not work that well, and the free wi-fi was 'off and on.' Perhaps my computer is to blame concerning the wi-fi. All in all, a great value, and again: the location is excellent. A short walk up to the chateau and to the center of town. The hotel also offers a secure parking garage/area for your rental car, etc.

The bathrooms are VERY small. I would say about 1/2 the size of a cruise ship bathroom. For those of you who have previously cruised, you know that cruise ship bathrooms are small. Imagine that same bathroom cut in half. Oh, well: just take a quick shower and enjoy the town!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    136
    54
    22
    14
See reviews for
69
126
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Eight of us stayed two nights in this quaint, historic building in Amboise at the start of our independent walking tour of the Loire Valley. Damien, the front desk person, was extremely helpful and accomodating. He carried our luggage up to the top floor where our rooms were located and made sure we had all our paperwork from the walking tour company. The rooms, while small, were very unique. Ours had the huge original posts and beams supporting the roof. They were held together with wooden pegs - incredible that they've survived at least 5 centuries! Bathroom was small but adequate and clean - as was the room. Breakfast was also fine; freshly baked croissants, good coffee, etc. Location of the hotel was perfect; mid point between the Loire River where the wonderful market is located and going the opposite direction, the Chateau of Amboise and Chateau du Clos Luce, tourist shopping and restaurants. We all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank japptp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here in mid-June with our 2 teenage daughters for 2 nights. The quad room and bathroom were small but adequate. The place was neat, clean and well-run, and the location was perfect. The front desk staff were cordial and efficient, although not overly friendly or helpful (when we asked about getting food for a picnic one evening around 19:30, the woman at the front desk told us that all the stores were closed, but actually the Carrefour in the center of town is open until 22:00; they have excellent bread, by the way. Also, she neglected to tell us about the fireworks that night, which resulted in all of us running outside in our pajamas to see what the noise was; if we had known, we would have stayed out to watch them properly).

We rented bikes from LocaCycle (53 euros I think for 4 bikes for a day). The bikes were fine for a casual ride; we went up the north side of the Loire to Chaumont, then on to Chenonceaux, and then back to Amboise. 37 beautiful miles, and pretty well-signed so it's easy to find your way. The bike shop will give you a map, but you can get a better one from the TI for 2 euros. The bike shop will also to tell you to head to Chenonceaux first, but we all thought the other way had more gradual climbs, and you get to Chenonceaux at the end of the day, when it's less crowded (we got there at 18:30 -- it closes at 20:00), and had the place to ourselves).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viewspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for one night during cycling holiday. Hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs. Garage to store bikes, clean and comfortable room, and good breakfast. The location was perfect as it was in the heart of Amboise, easy walking distance of restaurants and river. Only criticism was very tiny shower/toilet - easily the smallest shower we have ever used (half size!). Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the second floor, so lots of stairs so avoid this level if you are unfit. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This historic hotel is a great find about 5 minutes walk from the main shopping area. The double room we rented was clean and relatively spacious, with a shower and toilet in the room. The two nights that we stayed there were very quiet, and the hotel staff was helpful and kind. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash-nicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This little hotel is located near the heart of town, it's a 5-10 minutes walk to the chateau and the shopping area. This whole town is charming so the location is ideal for strolling around since everything is within walking distance. There was some parking issues but there is paid parking nearby by the day. Luckily for us there was an open spot right in front so we took it without blinking. Street parking is free, unlimited but very hard to find; if you do get lucky like we did, park your car and don't move it until is absolutely necessary. Other than that, the hotel is great, a 15th century building remodeled, clean and decent beds. We had a quad room with 2 small beds and one double, and the room was comfortable enough for all of us. The only complaint is the bathroom literally the smallest we have ever seen, smaller than the one we had at the ferry crossing from London. If you are taking a shower expect EVERYTHING to get splashed and possibly wet, as the curtain does not provide cover. It was not a deal breaker once we knew about it, but the first person to use it had to learn the hard way. Staff was great, they waited for us to arrive since they do not usually stay afterhours, but since we called in advance they had us set up for late check in; also held our luggage after check out since we had scheduling issues... amazing customer service, very helpful. The hotel also offers free wifi, and breakfast for a small extra fee. We did not have it, so no comment on that. Overall we would totally recommend it and if we are ever in town, it will be our first choice.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and there was no noise at all street or otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We are a group of bikers and stayed there for the second time. Again we find this little hotel very good value for money. The rooms are not very big and the bathrooms tiny but its central and inexpensive. Laurent the owner is delightful as is his lovely wife. The breakfast pains au chocolat are to die for. Hotels in Amboise tend to be quite expensive so this is a very good find. There s a small car park right at the front of the hotel but if its full they have their own private car park down the side of the hotel which for 3 € is well worth taking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GS1200Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Blason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Blason

Property: Hotel Le Blason
Address: 11 Place Richelieu, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Blason 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of town, 900 feet from The "Chateau Royal" and of Leonardo Da Vinci's house, Le Blason welcomes you in a fine XV and XVII century house. Our 25 rooms are all fully equipped with bathroom (shower), private toilets, telephone and flat tv screen. We provide private and secure car park and free internet access in the lobby or in your room (wifi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Blason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Blason Hotel
Le Blason Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing