We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very serviceable.”
Review of Hotel Le Blason

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Blason
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We came here as a couple and found it very serviceable -- however, the size (and comfort) of the bed and the bathroom were really better for one person, not two. It's very clean and tidy, well located near Amboise's "main drag" and run by a really lovely family with an adorable daughter and dog. Not luxurious, but it works, especially if you're not spending much time in the room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank m_ellis_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I will admit I was disappointed with our room as it was in no way cute or quaint. The room, however, was large and clean with a comfy bed. The bathroom is downright ugly, of the plastic, per-fabricated, molded type, but it worked well. The front counter staff was very nice and let us leave our luggage while we toured the town. We had to sit down in the lobby to get any WiFi connection, which even with that was spotty. Its a neat old building, well located and we easily found free parking on the street. There was some street noise, but when the window was closed I never heard a sound. Overall it was safe and clean, but the rooms definitely lack any charm. If you just need an affordable place to stay this hotel is great, but if you want something memorable, there must be better choices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The welcome at this hotel wasn't particularly warm (our first night of a walking tour) and in retrospect, we're not surprised that they didn't want to show us up to our room on the second floor. It was small, claustrophobic, with an unpolished floor, a tiny dormer window and a sloping ceiling, that meant you couldn't stand up in half of it. The bathroom had the feel of an airport toilet, only slightly bigger. The staircase is narrow and steep, and there is no lift (so forget it if you are elderly/infirm). Luckily, the weather was good as we didn't want to spend much time in our room and there was no balcony or communal patio area. The other downside of this hotel was the street noise of the one way street under our room, which seemed to be the main thoroughfare.

Room Tip: Don't choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 95,097,779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A tiny room, with sloping ceiling on one side and a minute area to hang clothes with only one small shelf. The bathroom was one of those plastic French ones that arrives all in one piece, with shower (curtain attached using an advanced sort of paper clip), loo and basin all squashed in together. Breakfast was good but unimaginative (Danone yogurt and croissant etc. from the local bakery). Coffee awful.

Staff were friendly and helpful and we ate four excellent evening meals in restaurants in the town recommended by them. The location is great and although we were on the top floor at the side we were able to have the window open with no problem. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet, the room was clean and the bed comfortable and the towels were replaced every day - very necessary as it was impossible to have a shower without soaking the whole floor!

Internet access was a joke - wifi dropped every couple of minutes, though there is a desktop computer in the hallway which guests can use for free.

The room was really a single one but with a double bed. It's ideal for people who travel very light and only want to stay one or two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was away from the downtown area of Amboise but close to and short walking distance to stores and attractions. Be careful to not pick your rooms on the side street of the building, thought, as the cars race on this street and you cannot keep your window open because of the noise!!! Otherwise we had a nice but small room with a nice bathroom of which the shower had good pressure - shomewhat a novelity in many older French hotels. They did have a single PC for their business ctr right in the lobby; i just used it late at night so there was no traffic. Prices were reasonable and room clean so what more can you ask for!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMate61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It is probably difficult to provide modern amenity in a medieval building, especially one that was always rather modest. The climb up the narrow winding staircase to my second floor room was a challenge and I needed to duck the ancient beams and sloping ceilings. The room did have character, of a spartan kind; no frills here. The bed was comfortable enough; a stand of some sort for my bag would have helped a bit. The moulded plastic bathroom module might have been the best use of the space available, but added to the utilitarian feel of the room. The wifi only worked intermittently up-stairs. The breakfast room was a more generous space, but the juice and coffee dispensing machines hinted at the frugal breakfast to come. Don't expect any frills here. Yet Hotel le Blason is quite central and offers off street parking if you need it. The manager on duty was very helpful.

Room Tip: Get one on the ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have arrived at the hotel at late afternoon, a family of 5 person (3 small children). We were promised to have spacious room for all of us. The room was at the third floor, there were 5 beds in the room without any vacant place to even put the bags. The bathroom was a real joke in the size of 1Sqm. Offering this room for 5 person was a real CON!
No need to say that we have paid for 2 nights and left the hotel without staying there even one minute.
The only good thing in this hotel is its location, but you can find much better places in the same prices.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shlomi_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chaptal
Hotel Chaptal
#14 of 25 in Amboise
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#9 of 25 in Amboise
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Blason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Blason

Address: 11 Place Richelieu, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: £60 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Blason 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of town, 900 feet from The "Chateau Royal" and of Leonardo Da Vinci's house, Le Blason welcomes you in a fine XV and XVII century house. Our 25 rooms are all fully equipped with bathroom (shower), private toilets, telephone and flat tv screen. We provide private and secure car park and free internet access in the lobby or in your room (wifi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Blason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Blason Hotel
Le Blason Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing