We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel and found it to be a charming hotel within a stones throw of the Chateau Amboise. The rooms were well appointed with original beams and modern comforts (e.g airconditioning, soaker tubs). The staff were very helpful and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 21 had a nice view of the Loire river and the Chateau Amboise. It had a lovely soaker tub with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    162
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
164
674
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We spent 3 nights here and stayed in the classic pavillion ground floor room in the annex looking onto the garden (Rm 41). The room was a good size and very clean. The hotel is a stroll from the centre with good access to restaurants and shops. A very peaceful, well maintained property. Bedroom has a safe for added security. We found staff to be very polite and curtious. Breakfast might appear a little expensive but was a delightful experience and certainly more than enough on offer to set you up for the day. I would have no hesitation in making a return visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

First, the good: this is an attractive little hotel, located in walking distance of the restaurant and shopping areas of Amboise, and within walking distance to the Chateau Amboise. The fenced in grounds and parking circle in front give an air of privacy, and the interior of the hotel is nicely appointed. Our room, with a king bed and sofa bed, was good sized and an attractive. The atmosphere was halfway between a B&B and a more traditional hotel. We had a great view of both the river and the Chateau Amboise out of our second story window.

The room was clean, and the AC worked just fine. The beds were average in comfort - nothing special about the bed itself, but the sofa bed was probably above average in comfort.

Where we had a problem was with the staff. Upon arrival, after waiting for the one overworked man behind the desk, we checked in and got our key (Bonus - the room was ready well before check-in time). The second floor rooms are located up a steep and winding staircase. When we requested help with our luggage (we were a family of three on a 10 day vacation, and had much heavy luggage. The clerk grudgingly agreed to help, but then disappeared after a single trip upstairs, leaving me to lug all the heavy bags up myself.

We asked for suggestions for dinner in town from a different desk clerk later that day. He advised us that finding an available restaurant simply by walking down the street would likely be impossible, and strongly advised that reservations be made. The hotel has several restaurant menus available in the lobby, and he pointed out several that he recommended. We chose on the first night, and it proved to have excellent food (Le Lion D'Or),although with the typical slow service we found throughout our trip. The second night, however, things went bad. After making a reservation at another of his select set of restaurants, we asked the desk clerk to adjust the time of the reservation, which he did. However, my wife overheard his conversation, and even to her rusty high school french, it sounded like the desk clerk was negotiating compensation for directing guests to the restaurant.

The restaurant (L'Epicerie) itself was terrible. My daughter's meal - which was brought out first in advance of any of the adult meals, or even our entrees - was badly overcooked. We sent it back, and it came out raw. We sent it back again, and it came out raw again. After three strikes, and an hour into our visit with no sight of the food for the adults, we left. Contary to the advice of the desk clerk, we easily found our choice of seating at several nearby restaurant.

When we got back to the hotel, we advised the desk clerk of our bad experience, and suggested he adjust his recommendations accordingly. However, he made it clear that he didn't care what kind of experience we had, and would not adjust his recommendations in the future at all. He first tried to avoid talking about it by saying that he wasn't the chef, so how could he want to know anything about it. Then he blamed us for ordering the wrong thing. In all, we went where he directed us, and he was simply nasty in return.

In all, it appears that he gave deliberately bad advice about the need for reservations, and then steered us to one that compensated him for doing so. Instead of being sympathetic, he took on a sneering and condescending manner. (He had a unpleasant manner throughout all our encounters, but it really hit bottom during our comments on the restaurant.)

We did have breakfast one morning at the hotel. Not bad, but not great, and typically overpriced. You don't have a lot of choice, since the hotel won't allow guests to eat in their rooms, so you've got to pay the money, or skip breakfast, but can't bring back goodies from the local patisserie. My daughter did get charged 14 euros for having a mere cup of tea.

On check-out, the desk clerk was engrossed in defending the 14 euro cup of tea, and the 2 euro charge for ice (perhaps standard in France, but we weren't charged for ice in any of the other three hotels we stayed at in France.) As a result, I was left to again haul the luggage down the stairs without assistance, as there was never more than one hotel staff person around at any one time. Once the luggage was down, the desk clerk finally was available to help, and then pretended that it was our fault the service was so bad. We were so steemed by the time we completed the check-out and departure process that our blood pressure didn't return to normal until we drove the whole three hours back to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellerPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is divine. I did expect it to be good from previous reviews and also Alistair Sawday however, it exceeded my expectations. We had a two night stay in early September and treated ourselves to a suite, (the toile de Jouy suite) with lovely views over the immaculate gardens and the Chateau of Amboise. However, I am sure that all the rooms are excellent, including the Pavillion, everyone we saw whilst we stayed there seemed to love the place. The hotel is classically decorated and furnished (I prefer this style of hotel - I'm not a fan of boutique hotels as they can be characterless - however, boutique hotel lovers would still love it here as there are also chic, elegant, modern touches). The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and all the rooms have a lovely very subtle natural fragrance. The service is discreet and excellent, there is always somebody on hand for ordering drinks or helping with your arrangements ie booking restaurants etc.
Alexandre who we saw on both days was delightful, he booked a restaurant for us, the lady who looked after us at breakfast was also very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, extra tea or coffee etc. Breakfast itself was very good, fruit juice, fresh stewed fruit compote, museli, cereals, yoghurt, cheese, ham, boiled eggs. Lovely pastries and bread, jams, tea, coffee etc all served in the beautiful dining room. What more can I say - I can highly recommend this place, it was the highlight of our week's stay and by far the best place we stayed in the Loire Valley - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved our suite, the other suite is gorgeous too and the room next to the toile du jouy suite lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltonswestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

How lovely to find a hotel by chance that exceeds the 4 star official rating it has been given. We booked this hotel just as an overnight stop on our way down to Bordeaux and were very impressed. It's situated in a great central location with views of the Loire and Amboise castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. We also appreciated the attention to detail - our bed was turned down and the curtains drawn when we went out for the evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I cannot fault this superb manor house. Our room was spacious, immaculately clean, and always serviced while we were at breakfast. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. A special thank you to Alexandre, who worked the afternoon/evening shift during our stay, who was especially good to us, spoke perfect English, assisted with our dinner reservations, and pointed us everywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrbisTravelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This place is just magical to us. We stayed here during the last leg of our 4 month european travels and the loire valley and this hotel holds so many memories for us. The hotel itself is beautifully done, the service was great, and location was unbeatable. When we looked out the window, it was just breathtaking to see the amboise castle and the river... just picture perfect.
This place was definitely one of my top 5 places that i fell in love with and i can't wait to come back here one day!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank flowergal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
535 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
579 reviews
22.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
215 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Property: Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing