We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautiful converted private house. Very elegant furnishings and excellent location. You will feel like nobility as in the days gone by. This is a great place for a romantic get away! However, I would absolutely skip the continental breakfast which was 16 euros per person and very mediocre! Better to go into town and find a spot on your own. Some of the staff at the hotel were friendly, especially those in the day. However, we did not experience warm and helpful service from all.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricDEFORGES, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our home and furnishings. It is also good to know our staff served you well.

However we find your comment somewhat confusing as we do not understand exactly why you found our breakfast to be mediocre, other than your comment about the price. This price which includes a large variety of hot beverages, fresh fruit juices, cereal, muesli, dried and fresh season fruits, croissants, “pain au chocolat” and fresh baguettes from the best Amboise bakery, is very reasonably priced. We further include your choice of 6 marmalades and honey, ham, hard boiled eggs, scramble eggs, choice of cheeses and assortments of natural yogurt, rice pudding, homemade apple sauce and cake. With all of this being served on crisp linen with porcelain dishes and silver, we feel we have created an experience as well as an enjoyable meal. All of this, including the level of service you commented on, helps to create the “Home away from Home” feeling we try hard to impart.

It certainly is possible to find a less expensive breakfast in Amboise like you have suggested, but it would most certainly be a very different experience. More along the lines of American fast food where you have your coffee in a paper cup in one hand and your frozen croissant in your other hand.
Not the romantic French experience we enjoy giving our guests.

Best regards
Eric DEFORGES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

First and foremost this review is long overdue, but I thought it necessary to provide the proprietor with the same level of respect as they had provided us. Finding this gem in the Loire Valley was my first introduction to TripAdvisor in 2010 and it hasn't let me down since. We travelled as a family of four (then 13 & 11) on a multi-country European trip one of which included France - Paris, Normandy and the Loire Valley. A trip which I had taken many years before with my family when I was 12, so it had left an indelible mark. Le Manoir is in a picturesque setting, walking distance (a mere tones throw) to the town center and a perfect location to set-up any excursions to the numerous chateaux's in the region i.e; Chenonceau, the gardens of Villandry etc. One can either eat the provided continental breakfast or I would recommend a morning stroll through the quiet streets to the various bakeries in town all of which were incredible. Try and get a view of the Loire River, which we did. Nothing like hearing my 11 year old gasp at the view he had from his window!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank immigration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Wish it had been more! Our room was in the cottage house - lots of "move around space", with a HUGE bathroom and very quiet. The staff was nice and helpful, especially Alexander - he helped us with dinner reservations for both nights - terrific choices! Especially Le Patio for my birthday celebration. Thanks Alexander! The breakfast is first class with lovely table settings, delicious fresh pastries, fresh squeezed juices, cereals, yogurts and eggs. A nice, relaxing start to a full day. All in all we give 5 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came for three nights and stayed for six! Felt very spoilt to live in such a luxurious and tasteful manor house. The staff were so very helpful and accommodating. It is central to so many wonderful places in the Loire. We cannot recommend this place highly enough .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent two lovely nights and 3 days at this special place. We enjoyed a suite room which gave us plenty of space. I loved the wisteria covered elegant exterior of the old convent now converted to a carefully renovated space.

The staff were attentive and quick to answer any queries. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented in an elegant dining space.

The Manoir was only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Amboise and even better only 5 minutes walk from the two major sites being the chateau and Le Clos.

All in all a most pleasant stay.

Candy W

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The staff, location and accommodations were absolutely perfect. I wish I could have lingered a bit longer, but now I know where to return upon my next visit to the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMC535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is the best hotel or manor I have ever stayed. The location, facilities and room were excellent. Quality linens, towels and toiletries were provided and bed was very comfortable. The service is also very good and breakfast was excellent in a dining room like those served at an English tearoom. There is free parking and wifi access. Also walking distance to the chateau de amboise and nice restaurants. I enjoyed very much this place as the hotel is not the standard looking modern hotel but a manor with sophisticated furniture designed for royal.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
22.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
293 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £117 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing