We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Just loved this hotel, having visited Amboise before I left my husband to choose a hotel and he chose this one and boy did he get it right.

All four of us had 2 exceptional nights here, Pierre (Will Young look a like!) was just a dream, helping us at every given opportunity. Our rooms were spotless - ours on the top floor and my in-laws on the ground floor. Ours offered a stunning view of the Loire and the Chateau and the bathroom was just a delight.

We went out to dinner both nights, the 2nd was L'Alliance and I have to say don't go please, it was such a bad meal we ended up laughing our way out the door, such a shame considering a year ago I had one of the best meals for a long time.

But if you want to do some culture adventuring then you cannot get better than this hotel.

All in all, if you wan

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALSLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2009

I booked Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes for two nights for a quiet weekend getaway. It was 100% perfect. The Hotel is located just off the main square and set beneath the stunning Château d'Amboise. The Staff really could not do enough. I booked on their online booking engine and within minutes received a personal note confirming my reservation. I sent a couple emails with various requests prior to my stay for dinner reservations and bike hire and every time they were replied to within minutes. The customer service was spectacular. We stayed in the Rose-tree Pavilion and can recommend the classic room even though it is there lead-in category, as you are in Loire for the Chateau's, wine, stunning country side and a good night’s sleep. So for only 122 Euro the room was perfect. The only suggestion is to stay on room only basis and venture into town for breakfast as you will get better value for the 13 Euro charged at the hotel. No saying that the Breakfast was a disappointment but there is more choice in town for the same spend.
The restaurants in Amboise are small and intimate so dinner reservations are recommended. But the food and wine is excellent. The L'Epicerie is great for a more relaxed evening and the boeuf tournedos was out of this world. However the highlight of the trip was Les Pavillon des Lys. We opted for the 8 course set and were blown away with the cuisine. A Real Treat with superb staff again.
I would also recommend hiring bikes to explore the region, though a good level of fitness is needed as the route to Château de Chenonceau is rather hilly.
Thank you to the team at Le Manoir les Minimes for making our weekend break very memorable.
It was as said before 100% perfect.
Kind regards,
Simon and Belinda

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonZA_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This hotel is just over the road from the River Loire with good grounds and parking in front.

They serve a buffet breakfast, have no dining room but their recommendations for dinner in Amboise town (15 minutes walk) were excellent and they booked all 3 meals for us.

We stayed in the ground floor of a small cottage by the gate. It was spacious and very peaceful apart from on 2 of the nights when the people upstair appeared to be training Babar the baby elephant to run and jump round the room prior to settling down for the night. The guests who came after them were extremely quiet and we did not hear them at all.

The town of Amboise is a wonderful surprise and the chateau is well worth a couple of hours with wonderful views over the town and the Loire as a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We spent a couple of nights in Le Manoir on our one week tour of Le Loire. I wish we had stayed longer.
Amboise is a lovely little town in the centre of the region which is ideally placed to provide easy access to many of the best sights in the Loire Valley. There are a number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance of Le Manoir which is ideally situated with a commanding position overlooking the river.
Although the property has no pool it really lives up to its four fleur de lys rating. We stayed in one of their opulent suites which was beautifully furnished and extremely spacious. Even though our room overlooked the road alongside the property, the soundproofing meant that we could hardly hear the passing traffic.
The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and courteous and went out of their way to deal with our requests.
I can warmly recommend the property. It is not cheap but in this case we felt that we got value for our money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Following a drive that would exhausted even the heartiest of truckers, checking into this place was akin to taking a shower after toiling in a coal mine.
It's very cute and quaint but is a very well appointed and relaxing hotel.
We opted for one of the 2nd floor manor house rooms, replete with beams straddling the ceiling and a bath big enough for two. We instantly jumped into the aforementioned tub and then dived into our cosy bath robes before ordering a bottle of red to our room. Gilles (one of the staff) who is amazing, possesses a great sense of humour and brought the wine to us (complete with delicious petit fours) was one of the highlights of staying here and I hope the hotel know how lucky they are to have him. He also has the most 'French' laugh my ears have ever had the pleasure to experience.
It is quite expensive for what you essentially receive, but it was worth paying for after our long trip. The view from our room was also amazing with the Chateau Amboise to our left and the Loire right in front of us.
Amboise itself has unfortunately succumbed a little too much to tourism, but this meant we spent more time relaxing in this gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Situated in an old manoir. We stayed at DLX room in the pavillion, no views but a lovelly big room with a nice bathroom. Room was more than big enough for three. Within walking distance to the castle and town center of Amboise.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

This is one of the most beautiful hotels that I have ever stayed in! It felt as if I was staying in someone's private home. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, and have modern large bathrooms. The owners and employees are delightful, friendly and so helpful with restaurant suggestions and guidance for touring the area. You are within walking distance to the Chateau and the main town center. Centrally located with easy driving access to lots of other Loire Valley chateaus. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
420 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £85 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing