We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in suite Ten, great views of the river and chateaux amboise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in suite Ten, great views of the river and chateaux amboise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We loved staying in the lovely walk village of amboise. Clos Luce is worth walking to as well. Don't miss the chateau chenonceaux just a short drive away. Suite ten was 270 euros for the night. Well worth it for the large bath the high ceilings and the views of the river and the chateaux. We also stayed in 51 for only 170/night and it also has great views of the chateaux but is not as grand. Low cielings and not a seperate bath. Stay in the manor for the free wifi signal. The gatehouse rooms 40-51 do not get a signal.We found this gem on trip advisor and hope his helps someone else make a decision.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    160
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
161
666
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed at three hotels while in France ranging from Paris to Normandy and the Loire Valley. This hotel was extremely affordable and went beyond our expectations. The rooms seem to be closer to what an American would expect, minus the bath tub without a shower nozzle. The hotel is situated just below the Amboise Chateau and within a short walk to the downtown area. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights during a trip to France. We were so delighted with our choice. It is such a beautiful place with stunning surroundings. The hotel was charming and cozy. The staff, particularly Pierre and Giles, were fun and so kind and helpful. Thanks for making our trip even more special! I couldn't imagine staying any place else in the Loire Valley. Amboise is a busy little town and a nice place for a base to see the chateaux with some cute little shops. Our dinner at Pavillion de Lys was one of the best meals we have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alocuzzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We LOVED this charming hotel. The staff was delightful, offering excellent dinner and sightseeing suggestions. The room, a Tradition room on the top floor, was clean and comfortable. The common areas were simply gorgeous. I felt like we were staying in one of the chateaux we toured in the Loire Valley. We really enjoyed having breakfast in the elegant dining room each morning. We will definitely come back some day!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravelPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel is by far the best hotel we stayed in on our road trip around France. We stayed here for two nights and chose it for it's location and parking.

The hotel was very easy to find and there was plenty of free secure on-site parking. The hotel is an 18th Century Manor house and over-looks the Loire River and Chateau Amboise, it really does look stunning as you drive in.

We were greeted by a very friendly chap on reception who spoke extremely good English which was very welcomed after days of our appauling French speaking attempts. I wished I had got his name but he recommended some great local restaurants for dinner, one of which was L'epicerie, a small, very quaint restaurant in the heart of the old town which served amazing food. He will even make reservations for you.
The hotel is very beautiful inside as well as out, the hotel feels like a boutique hotel yet it's sympathetic attention to it's history is clear with the furniture and decor.

Our room was beautiful, very spacious and although very traditional in style, it felt welcoming and relaxing. The bed was very comfy and the small seating area by the TV was a nice spot to relax in the afternoon sunshine by the window with some room service afternoon coffee, which even came with little biscuits, whilst over-looking the Chateau and the river. There was a safe and a mini bar in the room, better choice too than some hotels with additional snacks. The bathroom was lovely too, very modern in style although for a bath lover, the bath was a little small. The toilet was in a separate area but this really didn't matter. Even the toilet paper had a small Le Manoir les Minimes sticker on the beginning of the roll, such attention to detail. Loved it.

Breakfast was very good too. A good buffet choice and choices of hot drinks.

I think what I liked the most was that whilst you were down at breakfast or out at dinner, staff would make up your room or turn down your room for the night. You just felt so welcomed here as if you were staying with family. You are paying a price but you so get the service and quality back in spades!! there were even little mints in the room.

I would also note that the hotel is very quiet, perhaps a little creaky with the floorboards but this is to be expected in an old building. The fact that the hotel is by a main road it is surprising how quiet it actually is. There was also air con in the room. I do recommend however you keep the plugs down in the bathroom as the smell of drains would waft up now and then, probably the only fault I could find in this hotel!!

I would highly recommend this hotel. If you're debating the cost, just go for it because you will not be disappointed! I would definitely stay here again if I was in the region again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank its-all-about-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

searched for this hotel with trip advisors help and it was just as expected.

lovely setting and views of the chateux and sat on the river.Hotel grounds are lovely and well kept. we had a top rooom overlooking the driveway and double windows with chateux and river views.comfy bed, beams in room and fabric covered ceiling.bathroom was open plan with glass doors seperate toilet. only downside no fixing for shower which came of taps but lovely toileteries etc. Rooms downstairs were full of character and fine furniture. Breakfast was lovelly fresh tea , coffe , juice and warm bread rolls etc

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mingachimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at Les Minimes for 2 nights during our trip to Amboise. We chose this hotel based on its Tripadvisor, and I have to say it did not disappoint. We stayed in a deluxe room on the 1st floor of the manor. The room was extremely charming (see pics) and the bathroom was nice. It had 2 sinks, a bath/shower combo and a separate toilet. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the charm of the place made up for that. Its ideally located just a couple of minutes walk to the town center and the Chateau Amboise and a 15 min walk to Leonardo DeVinci's house (worth a trip!). I would recommend taking the train (we came from Paris on the TGV, a quick ride) into Libourne and cabbing it, versus the Amboise train station. Its a pretty quick ride (about 15 mins or so). We had dinner one night at L'Epicerie which I would highly recommend, great service, very good prices. The restaurant is right across from the Chateau on the main street (green building). The front desk was kind enough to reserve a table for us, its a small restaurant. The second night we headed to L'Alliance, also walking distance, its right next door to a hotel (I think its called Blason or something close to that). Not as good as L'Epicerie.

Our weather was pretty mild and we did have cocktails outside one afternoon, its very plesant to sit on their patio. The second day we wanted to open our own bottle of wine and their would not let us, they said we had to drink their wine. Fair enough. Their mini bar was very reasonably priced. I think as the summer approaches the pace might pick up in Amboise, but there's really nothing to do after dinner, no where to grab a drink or anything. Definitely not the place to go for night life, but very beautiful, 2 nights was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
22.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.8 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Property: Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing