We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we booked ahead - good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through the Loire Valley and it was a great choice, thanks to the reviews. We booked late and were told that there were no rooms available in the main house but we were offered a deluxe room in the adjacent cottage. We were assured we would be very comfortable there. We had Room 51 on the upper floor of the cottage and they were absolutely right. The room was a delight. The only problem was a toilet room that was virtually impossible to stand up in!! They really do need to fix this. The main room was very spacious with a large sitting area. The bathroom was very modern and there was a very comfortable bed.
The WIFI was only available in the main house.
There was no restaurant in the hotel, but a breakfast was available at additional cost that we used for the convenience. It wasn't great and could have been better but saved us looking for somewhere.
Pierre the concierge was very helpful when we arrived late and needed a restaurant reservation. He had a number of sample menus for us to go through and we finally made a reservation at L'Epicerie (really recomended see separate review) There is a street of restaurants in the town, just the other side of the Chateau only a 5 minute walk.
So very pleased we made the reservation, not cheap but in our opinion well worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

This was our first visit to the Loire Valley, we had no idea where to stay, We chose Amboise because of the location and the size of the town we then selected this hotel on the net and with reference to Trip Advisor. We are glad we did, for us it was perfect, close proximity to town, ample parking and an attractive frontage opposite the Loire, what a magnificent river! Our room was a pleasant surprise, separate lounge with windows on two sides, 2 windows looking up to the chateau and two overlooking the river. The bedroom was nicely furnished complete with king size bed. The large bathroom had two separate sinks, a large corner bath and a large shower, the water pressure was excellent. The bathroom has separate toilet facility, very handy. Our bedroom window overlooked the Loire, one morning we woke to a strange gentle roaring noise and looked out to see a hot air balloon sail past our window, in total 4 launched from the park on the opposite side of the river. Despite the fact that our room overlooked the road in and out of town it was never a problem to us. Yhe free wifi was efficient and appreciated. Thanks to Giles and Pierre for their restaurant recommendations and local knowledge we made the most of our 5 days stay. We enjoyed the town and the chateau was a pleasant surprise, not at all crowded like others we had visted. Throughout all of our dealings with the hotel they were professional, prompt, courteous and friendly. We have no hesitation in recommending Le Manoir, we hope to return and discover more of the area. Thanks for a great stay guys.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for visiting the Chateaux of the Loire valley. Amboise is comfortable for visiting the Loire Valley. The hotel itself is ideally situated, right between the wall of the Amboise castle and the Loire, an easy walk to the restaurants in town and up to Clos Lucé. The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and courteous and went out of their way to deal with our requests.
There is parking free.
The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom (modern) was fully stocked with high quality toiletries, robes, slippers...
There is a free Wi-Fi, but not good at 3rd floor.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Beautiful small hotel on a landscaped courtyard below the Chateau d'Amboise, and right on the Loire. Friendly and engaged service at the front desk and in the breakfast room. Quality finishes and furnishings throughout. We slept on the second floor under wood beams with our windows overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardr38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This hotel is consistent with most reviews here- cute manor tucked in a cute little town of Amboise. The manor has a simple but quite elegant front yard with ample space to drive around and park. Gil, who received us, was very professional, helpful and nice. The manor has two sitting areas on both sides of the main staircase. Straightforward decor- not much to rave about here.

Our traditional room was clean and comfortable and larger than what you see in the photos. It has a decent bird's eyeview of the Chateau and the river below. Likewise, the bathroom is quite large and equipped with modern fixtures. The bed while king sized, is bowed and soft. I wished it was a little more firm. The floors are very squeaky and the walls, thin. I can hear the opening and closing of the wardrode cabinets in the adjacent rooms and the flushing of toilets. I would be very careful in making unnecessary noises in this hotel especially at night. Internet service while free is very slow.

Overall, nice place to stay for a pastoral type of vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

This was such a delightful place to stay!!! The hotel was very beautiful itself and very elegant. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. And the staff were ESPECIALLY super nice. When we had trouble finding a gas station, the guy printed out directions and made sure we had no difficulty returning the car with a full tank. He could not have been more helpful. Amboise was such a fascinating town and we were very lucky to get a wonderful view of the chateau from our room. There were lots of wonderful places to walk and great lshops, cafes and restraunts. We hope to return return someday and I would highly reccamend this hotel to anybody!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonlightgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We loved staying in the lovely walk village of amboise. Clos Luce is worth walking to as well. Don't miss the chateau chenonceaux just a short drive away. Suite ten was 270 euros for the night. Well worth it for the large bath the high ceilings and the views of the river and the chateaux. We also stayed in 51 for only 170/night and it also has great views of the chateaux but is not as grand. Low cielings and not a seperate bath. Stay in the manor for the free wifi signal. The gatehouse rooms 40-51 do not get a signal.We found this gem on trip advisor and hope his helps someone else make a decision.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
416 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £87 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing