We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and very well run hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were a group of five couples visiting the Loire Valley and stayed five nights at Manoir les Minimes. Let me address the negative first--the 2nd. floor (French) rooms are, first of all, up a lot of stairs and, second, really attic-eaves type rooms. They are well equipped, authentically wood beamed and very charming but rather small. Our room had one not really large window but with spectacular views of the Loire and its bridge as well as of Amboise Castle. Some of our friends' rooms were smaller and some had a less fabulous view. I would strongly urge visitors to pay the difference for a large first floor room. That having been said, the hotel is very well equipped and offers all the amenities one would wish of a four star hotel. The public rooms are beautiful, the outdoor patio nice and breakfasts are excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and generally very helpful. Occasionally when only one person is around, that person can become somewhat overwhelmed and unable to give time to one's inquiries or requests.
Amboise is a lovely town with lots of charm, nice shops and very good restaurants. We went for a hot air balloon ride and I would heartily recommend it. The front desk will be happy to make arrangements for the experience and even called us on our cell to confirm that he was able to accommodate our time schedule, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    166
    26
    11
    0
See reviews for
166
707
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes in Amboise, France. From our reception to our checkout, the staff was professional and helpful. The bottom floor of the main house is mostly open to guests to use for afternoon drinks or using the free WiFi. Our room was not in the main house which I was kind of sad about, but it turned out to be a wonderful room that was spacious and quiet. The amenities were top notch. We have no complaints!
All staff members we met were quite helpful, but most of our staff interaction was with Pierre and he was just awesome! He seemed to do everything from guest check-in, make dinner reservations for guests, serve guests wine or drinks in the parlor to watering the lawn. Always busy with something but never too busy to stop and greet us or help us.
It doesn't get much better than Le Manoir les Minimes. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank researchfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel in a room that was part of a four room cottage, which was separate from the elegant main building of the hotel. The accommodations were modern, comfortable and luxurious. There was easy access to the restaurants and attractions in the town of Amboise. Located overlooking the Loire river, it was a short distance to visit various chateaux. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Far-flung73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The positive reviews on Trip Advisor are well-deserved. The decor, setting and amenities are top-notch. The parking is great. The grounds are land-scaped with wonderful flowers. The location is secure with gate access from the "clocker" on the room key. Bed and linens are of a very high quality. Mini bar (which I rarely use) items were very fairly priced. We stayed in the Annex which was quiet and comfy. The only negatives were: WIFI didn't work in annex; baggage had to be carried up a very narrow stairway; toilet was in a very tiny room. I didn't interact with the staff (who seemed to me to be super formal) but another member of my party did and he found them to be helpful. Breakfast (additional 13 Euros) was average.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekay458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We absolutely loved our stay in Amboise at Le Manoir Les Minimes. Everything was perfect--from the close proximity to the town to the delcious breakfast in the mornings to the resident dog, Olga.

Our room was one of the "attic" rooms on the second floor. It was rather large and had beautiful wood beams crossing the ceiling. Our window looked out at the Chateau and the Loire River. We really appreciated having access to the free Wi-Fi for in-room use. We also opted for breakfast at the hotel in the mornings (an extra charge), and we are so glad we did. The croissants were easily the best we had in France on this trip.

The staff was wonderfully helpful and hospitable. They made our trip to Amboise our favorite stop on our tour of France, and we are looking forward to returning to Amboise and Le Manoir Les Minimes.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idahoprincess8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through the Loire Valley and it was a great choice, thanks to the reviews. We booked late and were told that there were no rooms available in the main house but we were offered a deluxe room in the adjacent cottage. We were assured we would be very comfortable there. We had Room 51 on the upper floor of the cottage and they were absolutely right. The room was a delight. The only problem was a toilet room that was virtually impossible to stand up in!! They really do need to fix this. The main room was very spacious with a large sitting area. The bathroom was very modern and there was a very comfortable bed.
The WIFI was only available in the main house.
There was no restaurant in the hotel, but a breakfast was available at additional cost that we used for the convenience. It wasn't great and could have been better but saved us looking for somewhere.
Pierre the concierge was very helpful when we arrived late and needed a restaurant reservation. He had a number of sample menus for us to go through and we finally made a reservation at L'Epicerie (really recomended see separate review) There is a street of restaurants in the town, just the other side of the Chateau only a 5 minute walk.
So very pleased we made the reservation, not cheap but in our opinion well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This was our first visit to the Loire Valley, we had no idea where to stay, We chose Amboise because of the location and the size of the town we then selected this hotel on the net and with reference to Trip Advisor. We are glad we did, for us it was perfect, close proximity to town, ample parking and an attractive frontage opposite the Loire, what a magnificent river! Our room was a pleasant surprise, separate lounge with windows on two sides, 2 windows looking up to the chateau and two overlooking the river. The bedroom was nicely furnished complete with king size bed. The large bathroom had two separate sinks, a large corner bath and a large shower, the water pressure was excellent. The bathroom has separate toilet facility, very handy. Our bedroom window overlooked the Loire, one morning we woke to a strange gentle roaring noise and looked out to see a hot air balloon sail past our window, in total 4 launched from the park on the opposite side of the river. Despite the fact that our room overlooked the road in and out of town it was never a problem to us. Yhe free wifi was efficient and appreciated. Thanks to Giles and Pierre for their restaurant recommendations and local knowledge we made the most of our 5 days stay. We enjoyed the town and the chateau was a pleasant surprise, not at all crowded like others we had visted. Throughout all of our dealings with the hotel they were professional, prompt, courteous and friendly. We have no hesitation in recommending Le Manoir, we hope to return and discover more of the area. Thanks for a great stay guys.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
556 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#5 of 25 in Amboise
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#7 of 25 in Amboise
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Property: Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing