We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can only endorse the previous reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had a room in the main house and it was great - well proportioned and a good temperature with the air con. All recently decorated and very tasteful. Pierre (the manager) is so helpful with suggestions of what to do and where to eat. He seems to judge very well what different people like and is keen to follow up as to what you thought so he can tailor his future recommendations.

Why can't all hotels be this good!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFiend48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the second time we have visited Le Manoir Minimes, this time we went with friends. We stayed in the cottage across from the main house. This was very nice and we welcomed the air conditioning as it was very hot. All the facilities are of a high standard but you pay for every extra. We were charged 2 Euros for ice for the room. The receptionist was nice and friendly but everyone is very business like and you feel like you are in a corporate hotel rather than a homely hotel. I think things could be a bit more lay back, especially at breakfast. This was charged at 15 Euros pp and you got croissants, bread and jam. Lovely place but watch the extras.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaudeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eric66Amboise, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

We thank you for your comment and for your confidence and interest that you showed us for your second stay in Le Manoir Les Minimes.
However your comment is restrictive, breakfast price is 13 Euro per person and not 15 € as mentioned.
This price including choice of hot drinks, café, 6 choice of tea, chocolate and assortment of infusion, fresh juices fruits orange or grapefruit, cereal, muesli, dried fruits apricot, prune and tropical fruit, fresh season fruits, croissant, pain au chocolat and fresh baguette from the best Amboise bakery.
We have also the choice of 6 marmalades and honey, ham, hard eggs, choice of cheeses and assortments of natural yoghurt and with fruits, butter, rice pudding, and home made apple sauce.
And the last precision than we want to make this breakfast served on a table topped with linen cloth and porcelain dishes and silver.
We tried to make your stay unique and that guest feels comfortable here like at home we are working every day on this way.
We are very sorry that you felt like in a corporate place, it is not our feeling. We believe that if the guest requests some room service, like breakfast, drinks, laundry… it must be charged. Ice is free when it is served with hotel’s drinks, we do have a bar and waiter to serve the guest, but in your case you request a room service ice to drink your own drinks…
Best regards
Patrice LONGET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were a group of five couples visiting the Loire Valley and stayed five nights at Manoir les Minimes. Let me address the negative first--the 2nd. floor (French) rooms are, first of all, up a lot of stairs and, second, really attic-eaves type rooms. They are well equipped, authentically wood beamed and very charming but rather small. Our room had one not really large window but with spectacular views of the Loire and its bridge as well as of Amboise Castle. Some of our friends' rooms were smaller and some had a less fabulous view. I would strongly urge visitors to pay the difference for a large first floor room. That having been said, the hotel is very well equipped and offers all the amenities one would wish of a four star hotel. The public rooms are beautiful, the outdoor patio nice and breakfasts are excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and generally very helpful. Occasionally when only one person is around, that person can become somewhat overwhelmed and unable to give time to one's inquiries or requests.
Amboise is a lovely town with lots of charm, nice shops and very good restaurants. We went for a hot air balloon ride and I would heartily recommend it. The front desk will be happy to make arrangements for the experience and even called us on our cell to confirm that he was able to accommodate our time schedule, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes in Amboise, France. From our reception to our checkout, the staff was professional and helpful. The bottom floor of the main house is mostly open to guests to use for afternoon drinks or using the free WiFi. Our room was not in the main house which I was kind of sad about, but it turned out to be a wonderful room that was spacious and quiet. The amenities were top notch. We have no complaints!
All staff members we met were quite helpful, but most of our staff interaction was with Pierre and he was just awesome! He seemed to do everything from guest check-in, make dinner reservations for guests, serve guests wine or drinks in the parlor to watering the lawn. Always busy with something but never too busy to stop and greet us or help us.
It doesn't get much better than Le Manoir les Minimes. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank researchfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel in a room that was part of a four room cottage, which was separate from the elegant main building of the hotel. The accommodations were modern, comfortable and luxurious. There was easy access to the restaurants and attractions in the town of Amboise. Located overlooking the Loire river, it was a short distance to visit various chateaux. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Far-flung73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The positive reviews on Trip Advisor are well-deserved. The decor, setting and amenities are top-notch. The parking is great. The grounds are land-scaped with wonderful flowers. The location is secure with gate access from the "clocker" on the room key. Bed and linens are of a very high quality. Mini bar (which I rarely use) items were very fairly priced. We stayed in the Annex which was quiet and comfy. The only negatives were: WIFI didn't work in annex; baggage had to be carried up a very narrow stairway; toilet was in a very tiny room. I didn't interact with the staff (who seemed to me to be super formal) but another member of my party did and he found them to be helpful. Breakfast (additional 13 Euros) was average.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beekay458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We absolutely loved our stay in Amboise at Le Manoir Les Minimes. Everything was perfect--from the close proximity to the town to the delcious breakfast in the mornings to the resident dog, Olga.

Our room was one of the "attic" rooms on the second floor. It was rather large and had beautiful wood beams crossing the ceiling. Our window looked out at the Chateau and the Loire River. We really appreciated having access to the free Wi-Fi for in-room use. We also opted for breakfast at the hotel in the mornings (an extra charge), and we are so glad we did. The croissants were easily the best we had in France on this trip.

The staff was wonderfully helpful and hospitable. They made our trip to Amboise our favorite stop on our tour of France, and we are looking forward to returning to Amboise and Le Manoir Les Minimes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahoprincess8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
420 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £85 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing