We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm and attentive service in tranquil location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old charm and attentive service in tranquil location”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We visited the Manoir les Minimes 3 years ago, and was looking forward to returning this summer. We stayed for 3 nights and were not disappointed. This time we had a loft room with beautiful view of the river and Amboise castle. It was spacious, clean and charming.

The hotel location is excellent; very close to the center of Amboise (but quiet), and with easy access to all the Loire castles. There is free parking on the premises. All public areas has elegance and atmosphere; have a look at the photos on their website.

Last but not least, we must mention the charming guys behind the front desk! Always helpful, attentive and smiling. Finally, we love Olga, the sleepy hotel dog!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivi-from-Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    163
    25
    11
    0
See reviews for
164
692
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had a room in the main house and it was great - well proportioned and a good temperature with the air con. All recently decorated and very tasteful. Pierre (the manager) is so helpful with suggestions of what to do and where to eat. He seems to judge very well what different people like and is keen to follow up as to what you thought so he can tailor his future recommendations.

Why can't all hotels be this good!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFiend48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the second time we have visited Le Manoir Minimes, this time we went with friends. We stayed in the cottage across from the main house. This was very nice and we welcomed the air conditioning as it was very hot. All the facilities are of a high standard but you pay for every extra. We were charged 2 Euros for ice for the room. The receptionist was nice and friendly but everyone is very business like and you feel like you are in a corporate hotel rather than a homely hotel. I think things could be a bit more lay back, especially at breakfast. This was charged at 15 Euros pp and you got croissants, bread and jam. Lovely place but watch the extras.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaudeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eric66Amboise, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
We thank you for your comment and for your confidence and interest that you showed us for your second stay in Le Manoir Les Minimes.
However your comment is restrictive, breakfast price is 13 Euro per person and not 15 € as mentioned.
This price including choice of hot drinks, café, 6 choice of tea, chocolate and assortment of infusion, fresh juices fruits orange or grapefruit, cereal, muesli, dried fruits apricot, prune and tropical fruit, fresh season fruits, croissant, pain au chocolat and fresh baguette from the best Amboise bakery.
We have also the choice of 6 marmalades and honey, ham, hard eggs, choice of cheeses and assortments of natural yoghurt and with fruits, butter, rice pudding, and home made apple sauce.
And the last precision than we want to make this breakfast served on a table topped with linen cloth and porcelain dishes and silver.
We tried to make your stay unique and that guest feels comfortable here like at home we are working every day on this way.
We are very sorry that you felt like in a corporate place, it is not our feeling. We believe that if the guest requests some room service, like breakfast, drinks, laundry… it must be charged. Ice is free when it is served with hotel’s drinks, we do have a bar and waiter to serve the guest, but in your case you request a room service ice to drink your own drinks…
Best regards
Patrice LONGET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were a group of five couples visiting the Loire Valley and stayed five nights at Manoir les Minimes. Let me address the negative first--the 2nd. floor (French) rooms are, first of all, up a lot of stairs and, second, really attic-eaves type rooms. They are well equipped, authentically wood beamed and very charming but rather small. Our room had one not really large window but with spectacular views of the Loire and its bridge as well as of Amboise Castle. Some of our friends' rooms were smaller and some had a less fabulous view. I would strongly urge visitors to pay the difference for a large first floor room. That having been said, the hotel is very well equipped and offers all the amenities one would wish of a four star hotel. The public rooms are beautiful, the outdoor patio nice and breakfasts are excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and generally very helpful. Occasionally when only one person is around, that person can become somewhat overwhelmed and unable to give time to one's inquiries or requests.
Amboise is a lovely town with lots of charm, nice shops and very good restaurants. We went for a hot air balloon ride and I would heartily recommend it. The front desk will be happy to make arrangements for the experience and even called us on our cell to confirm that he was able to accommodate our time schedule, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes in Amboise, France. From our reception to our checkout, the staff was professional and helpful. The bottom floor of the main house is mostly open to guests to use for afternoon drinks or using the free WiFi. Our room was not in the main house which I was kind of sad about, but it turned out to be a wonderful room that was spacious and quiet. The amenities were top notch. We have no complaints!
All staff members we met were quite helpful, but most of our staff interaction was with Pierre and he was just awesome! He seemed to do everything from guest check-in, make dinner reservations for guests, serve guests wine or drinks in the parlor to watering the lawn. Always busy with something but never too busy to stop and greet us or help us.
It doesn't get much better than Le Manoir les Minimes. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank researchfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel in a room that was part of a four room cottage, which was separate from the elegant main building of the hotel. The accommodations were modern, comfortable and luxurious. There was easy access to the restaurants and attractions in the town of Amboise. Located overlooking the Loire river, it was a short distance to visit various chateaux. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Far-flung73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The positive reviews on Trip Advisor are well-deserved. The decor, setting and amenities are top-notch. The parking is great. The grounds are land-scaped with wonderful flowers. The location is secure with gate access from the "clocker" on the room key. Bed and linens are of a very high quality. Mini bar (which I rarely use) items were very fairly priced. We stayed in the Annex which was quiet and comfy. The only negatives were: WIFI didn't work in annex; baggage had to be carried up a very narrow stairway; toilet was in a very tiny room. I didn't interact with the staff (who seemed to me to be super formal) but another member of my party did and he found them to be helpful. Breakfast (additional 13 Euros) was average.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekay458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
22.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Property: Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing