We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holiday Within a Hoilday”
Review of Le Vieux Manoir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vieux Manoir
Ranked #1 of 32 Amboise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Holiday Within a Hoilday”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed with Gloria and Bob for 3 nights recently as part of a week's holiday in the Loire Valley. The house is beautiful, the location perfect with everything within easy walking distance and the accommodation excellent. The breakfast was served in a conservatory, opening out onto a beautiful garden. Breakfast consisted of lovely fresh bread, pastries, cereal and a selection of cheeses.Bob and Gloria were exceptional hosts and so very helpful with advice and recommendations about local attractions and restaurants - It really made the stay extra special. I could not rate a stay here highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    17
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
66
217
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is easy to see how much attention and love has been poured into decorating Le Vieux Manoir. The attention to detail is exceptional. The beds are extremely comfortable and the garden is beautiful with stunning roses. We had breakfast each morning in the conservatory looking out over the garden. Breakfasts were delicious with good French cheeses and breads. Bob and Gloria were wonderful hosts giving us information on where to eat and advice about sightseeing. Restaurants and shops were within easy walking distance of the Manoir. We were sorry we had only two nights there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_P562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It didn't take more than a moment to feel part of the family with Gloria and Bob and Toto and Baby. Beautifully maintained Manoir with lovely private garden, a real cherry tree, and stunning rose garden to enjoy while having breakfast of fresh fruit and selection of extraordinary breads and cheese. Our room was very nicely appointed with fluffy towels and toiletries. Gloria's restaurant recommendations were spot on for tasting some of Amboise best and most innovative cuisine just a short walk from the Manoir. Three nights was not long enough!

Room Tip: Madame Lafayette is on the third floor but quiet, nicely appointed, and beautiful view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days in Amboise. Our hosts Gloria and Bob provided us with wonderful suggestions on where to eat and what to visit. The recommendation to visit Beauregard was especially appreciated. The breakfasts in the greenhouse overlooking the rose garden were delicious. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely, comfortable rooms; a delicious, generous breakfast; a rose garden to while away the spare moments and a hostess with wonderful advice about the restaurants and the sights! One of the most pleasant places we've stayed in a while. Le Vieux Manoir is located within easy walking distance of the Amboise Chateau, and many good restaurants, and easy driving distance from many of the best chateaux and Vouvrey, for just one sample of the wine tasting opportunities. A perfect base for visiting the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizuna_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Behind a stone wall and entry gate, Le Vieux Manoir is approached by a gravel path through a large and secluded garden with numerous rose bushes that were in full bloom during our four-day stay in late May.
In the middle of the garden path is a fountain, and the gentle splash of water from the fountain adds to the calm and harmony of the location of this wonderful auberge, converted for this purpose by its American owners and in-house managers over the past two decades.
The building has been beautifully restored to the authentic appearance of an 18th century manor house, and furnished accordingly.
Guests are welcomed with a glass of wine in the large living room. Breakfast is served on the glassed-in patio, looking over the back garden.
Attention to detail is obvious everywhere, so that the feeling of calm and an appreciation for the uniqueness and history of the setting is preserved.
The room we stayed in was one floor up, overlooking the large front garden and the entrance gate. It had two large double windows overlooking the garden, and a separate bathroom, with another large double window. The bathroom was very well designed; with a separate toilet room, a full bath and shower and a separate sink area. The shower supplied a steady flow of hot water, at a constant temperature.
The room had a large canopied bed, excellent reading lights on side tables, a bench for luggage at the foot of the bed with plenty of room for two bags, a couch and several chairs. There were two large built-in closets in the room.
Everything was attractive, carefully chosen and placed, and kept spotless.
Le Vieux Manoir is located in the heart of the historic center of Amboise, a short walk from the banks of the Loire, and from the chateau that dominates the town and the riverfront.
Bob and Gloria, who supervise everything on-site, are very well informed hosts, who are able to help visitors make the most of their time in the area, and are able to help assure reservations at restaurants in Amboise that have a limited number of tables and serve memorable dishes.
This is a place that we would love to return to, and think you will want to do so too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I can’t think of anywhere I would rather be on a warm and sunny afternoon than sitting under the cherry tree in Gloria and Bob’s magnificent rose garden fronting their beautiful Vieux Manoir in Amboise, while sipping a glass of wine liberally supplied by our hosts. And we did just that several times during our most recent four day visit mid-May. We had stayed at le Vieux Manoir a couple of years ago and loved it, loved Amboise and loved Gloria and Bob. This trip was just as enjoyable and the attention to quality just as evident. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable; breakfast, which is served in the atrium facing the other gorgeous rose garden, is well beyond anything that could be expected in a French inn; the bedding and lines are top quality and the furnishing perfectly suited to the inn’s ambiance and charm.

Amboise itself is an interesting, pleasant and busy little town on the banks of the Loire, with lots of restaurants and shops, a huge Sunday market, a much underrated chateaux royal that towers over the town and provides magnificent views of the surrounding countryside, an ideal location for visiting the many chateaux in the immediate area.

But what sets le Vieux Manoir apart from other fine places is the genuine interest that Gloria has in the comfort, well being and satisfaction of her guests; from arranging day trips, making restaurant reservations, providing suggestions for outings, a glass of wine, even tips on French etiquette to smooth the cultural bumps for newcomers to France. Her partner in this endeavor is her husband of 50-plus years, the ever patient and helpful Bob, always ready to answer the call with a helping hand. You can be sure that the next time we are in the Loire valley we will be staying at le Vieux Manoir.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#5 of 25 in Amboise
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#4 of 25 in Amboise
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Manoir

Property: Le Vieux Manoir
Address: 13 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time into Le Vieux Manoir, an enchanting 18th century mansion, completely restored in 1999 by an American couple, hidden in the heart of Amboise, a historic village with a celebrated Royal Chateau. The Manoir grounds are surrounded by ancient stonewalls that enclose the exquisite gardens and private secured parking for guests and create a warm and private world. Within a short stroll are over 30 restaurants and numerous charming shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Manoir Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing