We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay on route to Bergerac”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Saint Raphael
Ranked #14 of 32 Amboise B&B and Inns
CHELMSFORD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overnight stay on route to Bergerac”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very comfortable room, extremely clean and well decorated. Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble and very helpful. We had a front room and had a little traffic noise which did not bother us as we loved the view, which overlooked the Loire with arched bridge, lovely.

Secure parking, good breakfast, we were very satisfied with everything and would not hesitate to return. Amboise has lots to offer, on our brief visit we went to Leonardo di Vinci chateau, had a meal in the town overlooking the castle. Lots of restaurants, would have liked more time here.
We felt very comfortable and safe. Lovely hosts.

Room Tip: We were happy with our front room but if you are a light sleeper a back room may suit you better but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROLChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This B&B was in an excellent position for a two night stay in Amboise. After a days drive from the UK it was a pleasure to leave the car and walk across the bridge into the town centre.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to a delightful room at the back with its own small terrace. The room was spacious and nicely decorated.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.
Would certainly recommend for a short stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose this place mainly because of its proximity to the castle, although the rating and reviews didn't give much cause for enthusiasm. The room was nice and breakfast was great, but what really makes me give it top rating is the hostess. She was the most helpful and well informed host during our stay in the Loire Valley: she recommended a great restaurant for dinner (actually several restaurants, I expect they were all good) and she helped us with the choice of castles to visit.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view on the Loire and the castle and the noise from traffic was very low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciprian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

While this is not a 4 star hotel, it is a wonderful place to stay. The hostess, Cristalle, makes the place - she goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. We had the room in the back with a private terrace - it was heavenly. I would cheerfully stay here again and recommend it to others. Parking is on-site. Breakfast is included in the price.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - get the room in the back with the terrace and shower. It is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATLC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We visited France in Aug 2013 and stayed at Chambres d'hôte Le Clos Saint Raphaël (bed and breakfast) in Amboise for two nights. The hotel, as we were told has been operational for slightly over an year. The stay was comfortable and the hostess-Christelle, was helpful and well aware of the place. She could converse in at least three languages and made an effort to mingle with the guests and greet all at the breakfast table. The stay however was more than a delight for our son who had Christelle's dog, Candra to play with him throughout. Below I have summarized our experience.
(+) Spacious and clean rooms - Spacious enough to fit in an extra bed without making the room seem any smaller.
(+) Breakfast was standard- croissants, bread, jam, cheese, milk, juices and breakfast cereals; no eggs.
(+) The hotel is quite near to the Chateau de Amboise and Leonardo da Vinci's last home (walking distance).
(+) Good Wi-fi connectivity; no TV
(-) The busy traffic next to our room (Leonardo da Vinci) caused some disturbance at night. Add to that, the absence of air-conditioning required us to keep the window open which further accentuated the traffic nuisance.
(Neutral) The check-in times are from 5pm-8pm. If you reach before 5, you have to outside wait till the owner comes and opens the gates. We did not know about this. However, since we reached about 20 mins to 5, it was not too much of a hassle for us.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the traffic for a comfortable night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sachin314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Owned and operated by wonderful Christelle, this B&B offers large rooms with comfortable beds and a complete breakfast of breads, jams, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Christelle is a friendly host who speaks multiple languages and quickly responded to all of our specific needs. The bathroom was newly done, and it included a heavenly rainfall shower. The price was right, and the location was excellent (just a short walk to town). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This place is a gem. The manager is super friendly and provides you with very useful information on places to visit, the history of the Loire Châteaux and where to eat or have a drink. The breakfast, with delicious French croissants, is excellent. The rooms are nicely decorated and some rooms have a super view over Amboise and its royal Château. It is extremely convenient within a walking distance of the city of Amboise. The only drawback is that you can neither leave your luggage nor park your car before 4:00 PM.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#5 of 25 in Amboise
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#4 of 25 in Amboise
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#7 of 25 in Amboise
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Saint Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Saint Raphael

Property: Le Clos Saint Raphael
Address: 5 rue de Blois, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos Saint Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing