We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room & Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room & Grounds”
Reviewed 26 May 2008

After being led directly to the hotel with our GPS navigation system (doubt that we would have found it easily otherwise), we managed to park in the parking lot. Be sure to find a way to back into the space -- it will make it so much easier to get out.
We stayed in Room #6 at the top of the stairs. It was a lovely room which looked out onto the gardens, and we were able to leave the windows open at night.
Our one dissatisfaction was the bathroom. it was a long, narrow bathroom and had plenty of room for a large shower to be built in at the end. Instead, however, a very narrow bathtub was used along the long wall. It was too short for my husband, and not easy to use the shower attachment in a too-small tub. The tub could also benefit from having a grab-bar installed.
We would definitely stay here again, but would request a room with a shower.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and the view of the beautiful grounds from our room
  • Disliked — Too small/narrow bathtub
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneStarHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    212
    59
    9
    10
See reviews for
124
350
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Visually this is a 5 star property. The manicured grounds are similar to the Ritz Carlton in Laguna Beach and you feel like you're staying at a castle. My mother and I had an adorable villa close to the lobby and it was clean and a little larger than what you'd expect in France.

That being said, the room we reserved was 105 euros/night and included breakfast. When we arrived, exhausted from the trip and navigating our way around Amboise to find this hotel, we were told it in fact breakfast was NOT included. We didn't feel like it was worth a battle so we let it go.....the breakfast room smelled a little like dirty feet so it was fine.

My 2nd issue was when I decided to go use the restroom at the gym one evening....it was 200 feet from our room and seemed logical as my mother was using ours. Less than a minute after I closed the restroom door, I hear the owner pounding on the door, yelling, asking what I doing in there?! It was really bizarre and unlike anything i'd ever experienced. I wasn't sure how to respond.... When I yelled back that "I was using the restroom"...he yelled that the gym area is to workout and that I need to use the facilities in my room.... I left feeling very offended and insulted.

Had I been here alone or without my mother I would have checked out of the hotel immediately or at least confronted the owner. You don't micromanage your guests, even if you do own the place. I felt confused by this behavior and would never return to the hotel.

Such a shame as the hotel itself is beautiful. My advise would be to ask for a room AWAY from the lobby and the eyes of the owners, as they really like to watch what you're doing. Oh and bring a copy of your reservation too if it includes breakfast....

  • Liked — clean and beautiful property
  • Disliked — interaction with the owner
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank soberinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

This hotel was quite difficult to find, especially while navigating the poorly labeled streets pulling one large suitcase! As difficult as it was to find, it was certainly worth it. This converted home with a lovely garden and pool, felt like we were staying in a friend’s house rather than a hotel. Each room is decorated in a different style and I would suggest requesting a room that overlooks that garden rather than the street in front. There is parking on site for very small cars and all the shopping and dining is within walking distance. This quaint hotel makes a great central location to tour the Chateau regions of the Loire valley. The staff is small but extremely helpful. We absolutely loved their dinner recommendations and suggestions for chateaus to tour. The personal touch was exceptional. The rooms are on the larger side by French standards and very clean and quiet.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

A friend and I elected to stay here for two nights in late October and were thrilled with the property. Our room was beautiful, clean and well-maintained. The breakfast was the best we had in France and included a selection of breads, coffee (and a pot of hot milk which was delicious), fruit, yogurt, meats, cheese, etc... The gardens are gorgeous, and the property was in a great location. As others have mentioned, the parking lot is a bit tight, but we managed our small manual car just fine in the lot. This property was a great value, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The property was beautiful and a good value - breakfast was amazing.
  • Disliked — We liked everything here.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denverrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, IA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

We stayed 3 nights at Le Clos d'Amboise in May. We had a double superior room for I believe 95 Euros a night, and when we saw the room, we absolutely couldn't believe we'd paid so little! It was incredibly huge, with a sitting area, spacious bathroom (but w/ shower only, no tub), tall-tall ceilings, and really pretty decor/bedding. We never heard any noise from the street or from other guests. Parking is a bit tight, to say the least, but the mere fact that they have parking is a huge plus. If the hotel lot is full, though, there is a public lot right down the street, perhaps a 3-minute walk, and we found that to be really helpful.

The staff were gracious and friendly, and the grounds were absolutely beautiful! The only quibble I had was a small one - we ate breakfast in the hotel dining room one morning and were charged for it (breakfast isn't included in the room rate, but they didn't make that clear at check-in; they just told us where/when it was served), so be careful if you don't want to pay 10 Euros each for a breakfast that's really heavy on bread/pastries and no hot dishes.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Amboise. We saw other, much more expensive, hotels while we were walking and driving around and were so glad that we'd paid less for an equally beautiful place. Finally, the location is just fine; we had no problem walking to a more-central part of Amboise to eat or shop, though I suppose parts of the town might be a bit of a hike. It definitely isn't on the highway out of town as I'd thought it would be when I was browsing on their website. In short, it's lovely and I'd gladly to stay there again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in the spring. We had a very beautiful large room in the annex overlooking the very nice garden. Bathroom was modern and clean. We cannot comment on rooms in the main hotel as we did not see any of them. Breakfast (extra charge) contained a good selection of fruits, meats, hard boiled eggs and cheese. Hotel is within walking distance of all Amboise attractions and restaurants. Recommendations for dinner were good. Off street parking is provided. Spaces are tight but managable as long as you don't rent a large truck or van. Amboise is a good base location to explore the Loire valley and has a great street market next to the river on Sunday. This hotel is a little more expensive than some but worth it especially if you are staying a few nights.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodhenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We stayed here in October 2007 for 3 nights. The four of us stayed at 2 of the cheapest rooms at this hotel - "Comfort double" for €75 a night. They are on the 2nd floor (US 3rd floor) and has slanting ceiling. Despite the small size of the rooms, they are comfortable. Our rooms face the beautiful courtyard/garden and are very quiet. Bathroom is relatively spacious with modern fixtures.

Location of the hotel is great, just a few minutes walk to the Chateau and center of town.

Ammenities include minibar, TV (1 English channel - CNN), hairdryer. There is no in-room safe. No elevator, no A/C.

Breakfast buffet has a good selection - croissants, breads, cold cuts, hard and soft cheeses, jams, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee/tea, juices.

The only complaint we have is the parking lot (inside the hotel grounds). It is quite small - and can be difficult to maneuver if your car is big and the lot is full.

  • Liked — Lovely Ambience
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank y2000k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Property: Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing