We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in a busy tourist town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed one night and, luckily for us, were upgraded to a larger room, more like a suite (Room 16). Very comfortable, verging on luxurious. We ordered breakfast in our room. As well as coffee, breads and fruit juice, they brought us home made fruit salad, yogurt, cheese, ham and boiled eggs. More than we wanted to eat! - but what we had was very good. The garden is beautifully cared for and a pleasant place to sit and relax. There is private parking, too. Altogether, nothing to criticise. We will stay here again next time we are in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

Please note that you will always be offered ou best price and conditions by phone 33 (0)2 47 30 10 20 with our receptionists Patricia and Olivier or on our website : www.leclosamboise.com.
Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise in July 2013 for three nights .
Nice and quiet hotel only five minutes walk to the city centre .
We had a very relaxing breakfast every day outside on the terrace .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.
As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The location's a bit awkward to get to by car, but is close to town centre and it's only another 5 minutes to Clos Luce.
The hotel is quiet and stylish. Our room was a little small and oddly-shaped, but quality of furnishings and soft furnishings was excellent.
Didn't eat here (try the superb La Breche), but gardens and pool area are very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.
As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Going to be brief, this was far and away the best france hotel experience of my fiancée and I. Spent two nights here, 3 in Nice, and 3 in Paris (2 different hotels in Paris). First floor room, which was huge.

The gardens are beautiful and peaceful, we enjoyed a bottle of sparkling wine each night outside in them on some very comfortable chairs. The staff were happy to get us ice for our drinks.

We had breakfast our final morning, which was delicious. The bread was fantastic, as was the orange juice.

Location is great, as others have said. Very short walk to chateau d'amboise (which I would consider to be city center).

To top it off, Fleurian personally made sure we got to the train station by going above and beyond the call of duty. Can't thank him and the hotel for a great stay in Amboise, a city and hotel we will return to if we return to France.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for encouraging our staff in providing a professional and friendly service to our visitors, this being one of the most important parts of their mission.
As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel is ideally placed to explore the streets of Amboise - only a couple of minutes from the Chateau and town centre. It is very well presented, with manicured garden and quiet pool area. We didn't realise before arriving but the private parking was very useful as there weren't many other spaces nearby - the gates are closed at 9pm however.

The staff did all they could to accommodate us, including booking a restaurant, and our room on the top floor was comfortable if somewhat small with low beams, especially in the bathroom so watch your head when using the toilet! If you hope to use the internet be warned that the wifi was terribly slow, only sometimes getting over 1Mbit/s at the best of times so you can forget watching video! Also, although we didn't use it, the sauna is not included, and costs an extra 10 EUR/person.

Room Tip: Low beams, especially in the bathroom on the top floor so avoid if possible
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel. It has been a real pleasure for all of us to read your comments.

Please note that you will always be offered ou best price and conditions by phone 33 (0)2 47 30 10 20 with our receptionists Patricia and Olivier or on our website : www.leclosamboise.com.
Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely hotel and great location about 2 minutes walk from the centre of Amboise. Amboise is a very beautiful town right on the Loire with the town built round a very cool castle. In front of the castle is a whole street of restaurants, cafes and coffee shops so loads of options for dinner. The hotel has nice rooms, theres a pool in the grounds and breakfast is either in the dining room or outside in the grounds. Parking is limited at the hotel but there are 3 free car parks within about 200 yards so its not a problem.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest rooms available and it was very nice so I dont think you can go wrong wha...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here the day they were changing the sign to add an additional star. The place is certainly nice, there's a pool, it's quiet, the terrace is charming it's centrally located, etc. However, the room that we were given was on the top floor and was in not very good shape. The bathtub was cracked, the flooring was coming up and overall, the bathroom could have used some refreshing. Also, I bashed in my head a few times on the roof support beam that one must duck under to get to and from the sitting area and the bed. I can't comment on the other rooms but for the price we paid, we were expecting something special - but we got an average stay, instead.

Room Tip: If you're taller, avoid the top rooms with the support beams and check the bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-n-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

Concerning your comment about the room, I have passed on the remarks to our front office manager in order to strengthen their team training, and deeply regret that you were disappointed. This unpleasant event is definitely not representative of the Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4* please accept our apologies.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4* in the near future and meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at each time.

Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
365 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £101 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing