We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel away from the busy road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel away from the busy road”
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Le Clos is the perfect place for the couple looking for a little bit of romance while remaining close to the touristy bits of the Medieval town of Amboise.
We stayed in room 5, a ‘Confort superieur’ room in the main building, furnished with a huge four-poster bed. The room has views over the very well kept park, with its centennial trees.
We found it very difficult to resist using the swimming pool, which is placed so that the sun is always shining over it. Although not a lap pool, it is large enough for a gentle swim. During the hotter parts of the days one can relax under the trees next to the pool.
We found the buffet breakfast to be really good value as it includes everything we needed to start the day.
The Clos is situated inside the old village, away from the main road; it is therefore extremely quiet, yet a 5 minute walk to the Chateau in Amboise. A real find.

  • Liked — The stylish deco in the rooms inside the main building
  • Disliked — Small parking-Ask the help of the staff to park a large car
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValentinoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    208
    55
    9
    10
See reviews for
118
344
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I have stayed at Le Clos on four occasions now, and it just gets better.

The ambience is superb, the rooms, gardens and the breakfast are all the best I have ever stayed at and top my value for money charts, and I have stayed in some very expensive 'international' hotels around the world.

Just the most perfect place to stay with plenty on offer in the surrounding area.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — Having to go home!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMRMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

As others have said this is a restored 200 year old manor house/townhouse, with stables/coach house and large garden on the edge of the old heart of Amboise. It is on a busy, narrow, one way street and the turn in through the gate is extremely narrow. Once in, the parking is very tight but we didn't have much trouble. There is free parking just up the street on the Place Richelieu, so just dump the car and everything you need in town is within a few minutes walk, post office, internet cafe, launderette, mini market, book shops, restaurants, cash machines, tourist office and of course, the castle.

We had a large airy room above the one time stables. Surprisingly the bed was long enough for my legs. I'm 6ft 3in. Unfortunately the two bedside lights are mini chandeliers so there was no way one person could read without waking the other and the pillows are soppy little things.

The was a chest of drawers but no wardrobe or full length hanging space. The only hangers were in a half-height cupboard by the door.

There is no ladies make-up mirror or suitable light. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom.

The bathroom/toilet is very small. I was unable to sit straight on the toilet as my knees were jammed against the bath. Although the main heating was off, there is a small electric heater in the bathroom to dry out towels etc.

The breakfast was pretty good but at €11, it should be, with fruit salad, juice, ham, cheese, bread and self-service.

The chambermaid was very friendly and efficient as was the young lady on the desk.

We paid €135 per night plus breakfast, considerably more than the price shown on this site, which we thought was poor value.

  • Liked — bags of character and location
  • Disliked — lack of amenities in the room and price
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

The Clos d'Amboise was a great place to stay while touring that part of the Loire Valley. The room was small and no elevator, but the location was excellent. The lady in charge was very friendly and spoke excellent English. (The man who took over for her on occasion was very rude, but just ignore him). She helped us out when we had problems with our car rental and was a great source of information. Also don't miss the little restaurant just across the street, Le Cene. The couple running it are wonderful and the Italian style food scrumptious. The parking lot for the hotel is a bit cramped, but then so are the streets of Amboise, thus giving it much of its old world charm.

  • Liked — the location and the beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — The surly man who took over for Patricia when she was not there
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheelvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wild West
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed two nights in a triple room in the former stables. It was spacious enough, clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The manor house and stables that have been converted to guest rooms have been beautifully renovated, with high quality craftsmanship.The dining room is quite beautiful and the breakfast (extra charge) was ample and fresh, with breads, cereals, yogurt, meats, eggs, cheese, juice, tea and coffee. The garden is peaceful and there is a lovely swimming pool. The owners have justifiable pride in their place. The hotel is near to the centre of town and the chateau. There is free parking on the grounds but the spaces are fairly tight so a small car is best. If we return to this area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Beauty, comfort, great breakfast, location, parking.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoddessT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Generous sized room, very modern bathroom, includes hairdryer. The mattress was very comfortable, I'd give it a 75 on the sleep number scale. The property is beautiful. They advertise a fitness room, but it's a couple of old exercise bikes in a stable. I'm not kidding. We didn't try the breakfast since it wasn't included in the price of the room.

The location is very convenient without being in a noisy area. It's on rue Rabelais which is a few blocks from the chateau.

Definitely go see Le Clos Luce, Leonardo da Vinci's last home. It's an amazing experience. IBM built a bunch of his inventions using materials available at the time. They have also framed and posted scores of quotes from LdV (in French, so get out your dictionary). It made me want to read more on his life and achievements.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, large room, location
  • Disliked — Parking lot inside the grounds is so tight we didn't even bother
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank K_and_J_858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

After being led directly to the hotel with our GPS navigation system (doubt that we would have found it easily otherwise), we managed to park in the parking lot. Be sure to find a way to back into the space -- it will make it so much easier to get out.
We stayed in Room #6 at the top of the stairs. It was a lovely room which looked out onto the gardens, and we were able to leave the windows open at night.
Our one dissatisfaction was the bathroom. it was a long, narrow bathroom and had plenty of room for a large shower to be built in at the end. Instead, however, a very narrow bathtub was used along the long wall. It was too short for my husband, and not easy to use the shower attachment in a too-small tub. The tub could also benefit from having a grab-bar installed.
We would definitely stay here again, but would request a room with a shower.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and the view of the beautiful grounds from our room
  • Disliked — Too small/narrow bathtub
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneStarHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#7 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Property: Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing