We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Amboise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visit to Amboise”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wonderful place. Just put a new addition on to serve meals. When we were there we wanted to have a glass of wine in the gardens but they said was not possible. Breakfast offerings limited. It overall nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clos_Amboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for spending time to share your impressions. We are pleased to read you and then improve ourselves.

Since yesterday, we welcome you in our new Salon where eat and drink are possible.
A beautiful space with bar and terrace are provided.

Our buffet breakfast, unlimited, suggest you following choices : bread, viennoiseries, jam, ham, cheese, honey, fruit salad, dried fruits, eggs, cereals ...

Yours sincerely,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    208
    55
    9
    10
See reviews for
118
344
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, comfortable rooms and cozy public areas. Everywhere you can find pleasant small surprises. I felt myself like a princess in the wonderful palace :)

Room Tip: In the top floor of the mail building there are smaller rooms. In other building there are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

Yours Sincerely,

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at Le Clos d'Amboise. The staff was incredibly friendly, the grounds are beautiful, and we would recommend it to anyone! Although our stay was during the off season (winter), there were short lines at all of the attractions, and delicious restaurants to choose from.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

Yours Sincerely,

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I usually stay at a business hotel near my customer on the outskirts of Amboise, but decided to try an hotel in the town for a change. Good call. Using trip advisor reviews I booked on line using an hotel booking web site. The hotel is on the edge of the historic town centre and only a 5minute walk from several good restaurants. It is on a one way street so you have to be sure from which way you are approaching to enter thorugh some quite narrow gates and archway, wide cars beware. Safe and secure parking at rear of hotel. Reception staff, in fact everyone we met were very courteous and helpful. Rooms are decorated in a real mix of history with effects that must have formed the private home before it became an hotel. Bed very compy with good linen. Coffee, tea making, stocked bar fridge, tv, wifi internet, cosy lounge with open fire and small residents bar. I didnt stay for breakfast so can't comment. No more staying at the IBIS then !!!!! Did you know that Leonardo da Vinci spent his last 3 years along the road at another Clos.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.


Yours Sincerely,

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our car trip around the chateaux filled Loire centred in Amboise at the very lovely Clos D'Amboise, a former manor house now turned hotel with a most charming and helpful staff.

Upon seeing the amount of luggage we had, they quickly changed us into a larger suite for our 3 night stay. The furniture and decor was French and antique with oh so many old French mirrors gilding the dining room and the bedroom was very comfortable. Especially enjoyable was the convenience of being right in town to walk where we needed and yet it was very quiet surrounded by an extensive walled garden and pool resulting in a most serene setting.

Breakfasts were delicious with meats, cheeses, fruit , eggs and pastries along with good jams and coffee. The breakfast room even had a wood fire burning on our last October morning adding more atmosphere to our final breakfast there.

Manager Gabriel particularly added to the enjoyment of our stay with his willing assistance and advice.

Do not miss this refined lodging if you want comfort and convenience while in the Loire.

Room Tip: Ask the advice of the hotel in determining what type of room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

Yours Sincerely,

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This town is so cute that you want a hotel to match, and Le Close fits the bill. It is fantastic. The staff are SO friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants (accurately), providing guidance about local attractions. Just great! And it is just a lovely old building that has recently renovated rooms (at least in terms of bathrooms) and the furnishings are exquisite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.


Yours Sincerely,

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great walled in property with it's own private garden and pool. Our room #6 was large and overlooked the garden This is an old chateau in town but had an elevator, a/c and large modern bathroom. There is on site parking. Very walkable to all attractions in town. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing missing is their own restaurant but I was told they are planning to open one in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leclosamboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

Yours Sincerely,

Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#7 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Property: Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing