We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent five nights here in July. The hotel is just ok. Not deserving of four stars. Rooms were large but in need of maintenance, gardens were also not well presented. We had no wifi in our room for the whole stay despite daily promises that it would be fixed. Over priced for what you get.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We were hoping for a romantic night and have booked over the phone with a promise of a superior room on ground floor. Our advise is to confirm all promises by email. On arrival we were given a room on 2nd floor, small cramped, very dated bathroom and not romantic!! The very nice lady at reception tried her best and gave us room #3 that all reviews say to avoid... Still better than first option. We have enjoyed our evening so far, just uncomfortable we had to complain and still a little worried that noise in reception will keep us awake. The hotel is lovely and personnel very nice, don't book the top floor unless it's the cheapest option. Restaurant was fine and offers 3 main courses, so there is something for every taste meat and fish. Cheese platter delicious!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Muriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

my family of 5 stated there in late june for 3 nights. they accommodated us with a large suite. Well maintained rooms, lovely main house with sitting rooms and a bar, central location in Amboise.
While there is parking, spots are limited and we had to park on the street a few times.. No screens on the windows, and with flies at night we had to rely on the a/c.
More pricey than local hotels, but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Staff was young, energetic and incredibly personable and helpful. (Had an issue with my IPad, and they spent some time chatting with Apple in Paris, then with train personnel for a trip to Paris!) Tough to call this a hotel; more like a villa or large B&B - breakfast inside or outside; pool and grounds terrific after a long day tripping through the valley. Large rooms with more than amble baths. Noticed a large party arrived late and staff accommodated them with food and wine. Right in town center; quiet.

As two couples we had a blast; also terrific for families.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rddevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clos_Amboise, Directeur général at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind message. All the team was happy to welcome you. We always do our best to our guests during their stay. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were only able to stay one night and wished we could stay longer. The hotel has private parking (always an appreciated plus), a nice pool (which we did use), and many lovely sitting areas. Our rooms were wonderful - The decor is what you would expect in the Loire valley. Our room had a large bathroom and even a large closet area. Safe and refrigerator were available in the room. Although we had rooms over the dining room, they were quiet. Our only problems were the noise level of the air conditioning unit and there was no hot water for our evening shower (very cold). But we would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a terrific charming hotel with lovely garden and pool.
Everything was great and we would definitely return.
Although we did not have dinner there we wished we had after mediocre fare in the lee of the impressive chateau walls.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 19 on 1st floor in garden.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Merlin9646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We drove from Paris to Amboise to make it our overnight base while we toured several castles. We found this lovely hotel while driving around. Au line at the front desk was lovely, helpful and made us feel at home. Our room was magnificent, the bathroom brand new, the toiletries were Roget-Gallet --wonderfully scented. We walked three blocks to the town, toured the Chateau d'Amboise--Leonardo da Vinci is buried here--and walked back to the hotel. Next morning we had a delicious breakfast made to order.
You will love the grounds and the pool, it all was so special that I had to tell you about it.
After breakfast we drove to Chenonceaux and then Chambord!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank cocolil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £97 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing