We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This is a beautiful hotel with a lovely garden. Our room had a view of Chateau d'Amboise. The location was great. We recommended this place to our friends who went on vacation with their son. They enjoyed the pool since they were there in July. Breakfast was okay but you can find good food in town. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is available which is good because there is no on street parking.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were surprised to find Le Clos d'Amboise right in the heart of the town. We thought it was going to be out in the country since it had the pool and gardens. As we were only there for 2 nights, we never drove once we arrived and that was such a pleasure. While most people like to go to visit the chateaux in the area, we were content with the local flavor (including Chateau d'Amboise) and rented bikes to check out the countryside. We all agreed this was a fairy tale town, and we thought we may see even see Shrek while walking around. The rooms and ensuite baths were very spacious and totally updated - ours were in the carriage house so don't know if all the rooms were like ours. We took advantage of the exercise room (in the old stables), the pool and the beautiful gardens. The staff was pleasant and everyone offered great information - even directions to Mick Jagger's chateau nearby. I'm a pretty picky American tourist, and everything was beyond my (European) expectations! Thanks for the great visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet59or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent an extremely enjoyable five night stay in the Clos d'Amboise in August 2009. Everything that has been said about the hotel in most of the earlier reviews seems correct to me, although I cannot comment on all of the points made in “It's not what they tell you” - yes, as far as Room 3 is concerned, the air conditioning is like a humidifier and it does make one heck of a noise – not something you could leave on overnight, and yes the gates are locked overnight although we did see the staff open the gates early one morning to allow a party to leave.

Breakfast was €11 which I felt at first was expensive (especially given the €/£ rate) but compared with offerings in cafés in Amboise was excellent value for money – plenty to choose from including cheeses, ham , cereals, bread, croissants, cake, boiled egg.

Our room (3) was a “Comfort Room”. It was very pleasant and extremely convenient (immediately inside the main gate and with an external door from the garden). It was a very good size, although the bathroom with WC/sink/shower was quite small.

The bedroom area contained a large double sized bed, two coffee tables and two easy chairs, a desk and chair. The wardrobe was a little on the small size. There was a huge stone fireplace into which the air conditioning seemed to vent. The room was light with windows facing the front of the house, and the back of the house. The windows at the back overlooked the entrance steps and I was always a little concerned at the level of privacy when the curtains were open. There were net curtains but I suspect with lights on in the bedroom or bathroom they would not have been the most discrete.

The bathroom was modern and offered a good rage of toiletries. There was also a very effective hair-dryer. The main issue was its width. Stand in front of the sink, close the door and you had just a few inches space.

Parking is a significant problem and we felt compelled to get back to the hotel early to be able to park relatively easily. There is public parking further up the road but in our experience this seemed full on most occasions that we walked past.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return (hopefully when the £ is a bit stronger).

We ate at a number of different restaurants, Epicerie, Alliance La cene and the Parvis which are separately reviewed.

We also went to our first (and last) Son et Lumière, something that we had previously been looking forward to. Unfortunately we were unable to book individual seats and so had to make do with very, very crowded benches – that was the way they pre-allocate. Understandably it was all in French but it was heavily loaded with young girls prancing on and off “stage”. We left after 20 minutes. Yes I know we must be pagans but I was losing the will to live, and sensation in my behind.

Leonardo's House was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We cannot fault this hotel. Stayed for 3 nights with 2 young children. We had a huge family room (by far the biggest and most comfortable of our 4 week European trip). What with a pool for the kids, car park (small - best to park in the free car park just down the street), great location, excellent service, there is nothing not to like. Only wish we could stay longer,

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Planned to stay in Amboise for a day or so to tour the Chateux and castles of the Loire Valley. Amboise is a great central location for traveling this area. Took the train from Paris to Amboise. This hotel was a gem for us. After spending a few busy days in Paris, we looked forward to slowing it down a bit. The Clos de Amboise hotel has an amazing garden and pool area which is so relaxing. We hired a driver at the travel center located in the center of town along the river. We used a company called Accu Deco to take us touring some of the castles of the Valley. This company is very good. The driver was very accommodating and was fluent in several languages and local history. I highly recommend this company. After a busy day of touring, it was nice to get back to the peaceful hotel.. Amboise has several little shops and eateries and most sites can be seen a couple of days. The hotel was so peaceful we decided to stay a couple more days just to relax. Only recommendation for hotel would be to heat the pool. Water was very clean but also very cold. Highly recommend this hotel for peaceful, romantic getaway. Would not recommend as a hotel for a family with small children.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickorylanefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The garden and pool areas are lovely, but if you think you’re getting luxury without the financial hit, as the Steve book claims, you’ll be sadly mistaken. The rooms are 2 star quality at best. The worst is that their web site claims are so false. The “comfort superieur” rooms are cramped, the fitness room is a tiny place with a couple of old machines, the pool is not heated, and the claim about the rooms being air conditioned is a joke. Each room has a vaporizer, which doesn’t begin to cool the room on a hot day (it was 88F the three days we were there in June). And the machine shuts off after 5 hours, at which point you have to empty the water bucket in the back yourself and restart. If you’ve been out for the day, or it happens at 4 AM, good luck. They also don’t tell you on their web site that they lock the gate from 11PM - 8AM, so if you need to leave early in the morning, you have to find parking the night before in the city lot 75 yards down the street, if you’re lucky. Have fun toting all your bags down a city street at 6 AM.

Tips: The directions on the web site are terrible. Amboise has a lot of narrow one-way streets that are very hard to figure out when you first arrive. To get to the hotel you have to turn off the main drag on Voltaire. And skip the Continental breakfast for 11 E. It’s nothing but croissant, cheese, yogurt and canned fruit. There’s a market within easy walking distance, and a number of good patisseries.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobiusLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with the The Le Clos d'Amboise, although upon check-in were not sure if we had made a good selection. We arrived quite late due to traffic and navigation issues (which the night-time attendant quickly let us know she was not pleased of our late arrival as you must arrive prior to 11 p.m. in order to check in). There was also a miscommunication with our reservation as we booked for 2 adults and 2 children which was printed on our confirmation, however the hotel only showed us booked for 2 adults and 1 child. This was quickly resolved but seemed an issue when we first arrived.

Upon check-in, we were shown our room which was spacious and accomodating. We did not have an opportunity to explore the hotel and grounds until the next morning, but the next day we were very pleased with what we saw. The gardens are beautiful and the hotel is kept in impeccable shape. An elegant breakfast is served in the main dining room which was had a nice variety of breakfast items. The pool is located at the back of the garden and signs are posted to keep voices down as this is a "relaxation area". I was impressed by this as it added a nice atmosphere to the gardens and pool area.

We found the price to be extremely reasonable and in hindsight would have spent more days at the establishment had we known how charming it would be. It's location is very convenient to the Chatea d'Amboise and Clos Luce' and numerous restaurants and cafe's. Especially the Cafe' Gerard located a short walk away on rue Nationale which was fantastic and extremely reasonable. We were very warmly received each morning for breakfast which offers a huge variety of breakfast croissants, quiche' s and tarts for extremely reasonable prices. The service was excellent and the workers were extremely friendly.

Would definitely book this hotel again if ever in Amboise again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
604 reviews
2 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £74 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing