We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Choiseul(Amboise)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellevue(Amboise)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
356
230
63
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
230
63
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleycarriage housele closcharming hotelsuperior roomtop flooroverlooking the courtyardrue nationalefamily suiteon site parkingfree parkingswimming poolthe hotel's restaurantbeautiful groundsbreadtucked awayshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The gardens and landscaping were charming. The rooms were tasteful, bathrooms luxurious, and thoughtful details throughout. Loved the padded headboard. There was even a parking space on the property.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinakraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We arrived in the evening with friends, while Olivier from the front desk came out to "greet" us. We had 3 rooms, all in seperate parts of the hotel. The room was large but lacked any charm, it wasn't a room I wanted to spend any time in. Sleep was difficult as it was very warm, the air conditioning consists of a stand-alone AC unit with instructions on how to empty the condensor bucket... not exactly the activity i had in mind at 3AM when the AC stopped working.
The breakfast had been going well until my mother asked if more croissants could be brought out. She asked a man who appeared to be taking great interest in everyone's comings and goings, we later foind out that this was the owner. His reply to my mother was very rude, indicating that if she had eaten all the croissants, there would be none left and what did she expect. This was all said in a loud voice in front of other hotel guests. My mother hadn't even taken or eaten any croissants! The owner's rudeness continued for the rest of our stay- there is a CCTV monitor in the reception which he watches, so if you are entering, leaving, or just moving around the hotel he will watch or follow you. It was all a little creepy. The hotel is in a good location and has a nice small garden though, it's only redeeming features as far as I am concerned.
If you do decide to visit Amboise I'd sincerely urge you to find another place to stay. Our stay was ruined by the rude owner who liked to spy on us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KarenWalshLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Beautiful garden, great location, all looks perfect from the outside. Service was gruff most the time, particularly the welcome. We stayed a suite and it lacked warmth and charm despite being huge - it wasn't a room you wanted to spend time in. they ran out of croissants at breakfast and it wasn't v generous. Could all be improved with a smiling receptionist, some small changes to the room and more food at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Loved this hotel. The garden was lovely and the pool really beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great.

Our room was really well designed and lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyclingChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

After reading the reviews and as we could not find any other option, we booked the hotel for 1 Saturday night with a rate of 143 Euros.

Our Classic Room was big, comfortable and clean, but with just a small window, facing other room. The weather was really hot, around 30o C; our air conditioning stopped working in the middle of the night. Also, my husband that is tall, was distracted and hit his head on the beam in the bathroom... (that wood beam previously mentioned by the other reviewer!).

But what we definitely disliked was the service. We found it very impersonal in different occasions with two different staff. For example, as we were not in the main building, one of them guided us to point out where our room was and gave us the keys. He did not even spare time to properly show us the room.

This is a small and charming hotel, but you can definitely find a better and cheaper option. For the price we pay and for the impersonal service I will not come back and will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasileirinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews