We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bellevue(Amboise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Choiseul(Amboise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
479
145
20
12
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
145
20
12
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle manoirloire valleystained glass windowscharming hotelbeautiful manoroff street parkingfirst floorthe ground floorlovely poolshort walkhistoric buildingprivate parkingsmall towna lovely stayspacious roomfresh pastrieseach evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a beautiful little hotel. If you want to stay in accommodation that is in keeping with the historic fairytale surroundings of the Loire, choose this one. Its slightly crumbling stone exterior and smart country manor interior will make you feel you're in a little castle of your own. It is very unique and pleasant, slightly quirky, but full of light, beauty and comfort. It's slightly smart casual -- friendly, not stuffy. With its antique furniture, polished antique hardwood floors, huge leaded glass windows, and gorgeous tranquil pool (set under mature trees in a walled garden), it's perfect for grownups with a love of historical surroundings -- but do note it's not the place for toddlers or screaming running kiddies who have 'previous' in breaking things. My only criticism, which is not really a criticism, is that they ought to use the delightful breakfast room as a full restaurant for dinners in the evening -- it's too beautiful to use it only in the mornings!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgwaypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

On our way home from Cap Ferret, we decided to stay over in the Loire valley and finally decided upon Amboise and the Manoir Saint Thomas. We were not disappointed. It was really lovely - the room was perfect, the service second to none and frankly I only have great things to say about it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubruxella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Manoir St Thomas for one night as we traveled through the Loire Valley. Amboise is not a big place, but even with our GPS it was a little bit hard to find the hotel because the front gate is a little small and narrow, and our unit was trying to send us to the back door which was closed, with the one-way and pedestrianized roads making life a little complex.

Once we arrived though, things improved greatly. The grounds of the property were immaculate, with a pretty garden preceding a small parking lot and a copse of trees that shaded the entrance to a pool. Travelling with my family of two young children and a wife with a bad back, I struggled gamely with the bags up the short steps to the back door and to the reception. I was told that the room was up the stairs, but it was such a warm and inviting lobby area, like a posh home, with a friendly receptionist, that I smiled, got the bags up to the room and then went back to my family in the car to get dinner. Only later did we unfortunately find out that our family room that we booked had actually been on the ground floor after all (best to ask) so I wrestled the bags back down to the landing and to our room. I can certainly say both rooms were nice, but our latter room, the one underneath the stairs was in fact a truly spectacular room, with very tasteful sort of contemporary empire decor.

There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity, and of course the Chateau, the nearby Italian pizzeria seemed a good choice with the children but plenty of choice to suit every budget. The next morning, the breakfast got off to a late start (perhaps we presumed it would start at 8am) but it all arrived eventually and was very pleasant as others have reported. The short stroll to Chateau Amboise and back was a very nice invigorating stroll to work off said breakfast.:) I thought it was a very nice property, and the service was so friendly and helpful that one could easily look past the odd mix-up or two. I would definitely recommend the hotel for the area.

Room Tip: If you are a family with luggage - stay downstairs!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Central, 4 minutes walking to the center village/castle. people at the "front desk" are very kind and speaks english. really good breakfast, with fruits, dairy and charcuterie products from the region, all fresh. noisy stairs, old and classy ancient french building. no elevators. good but shady swimming pool. parking inside the property (important). we stayed at the biggest room and, for five people (2a, 3k), it was a bit small. good and spacious bathroom.

Room Tip: don't come here if you want modern stuff or heavy lugagge, this is an old french manoir, decorated with classical colors and furniture. working staff very friendly. nice food.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaplanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in the Manoir and it is an outstanding hotel. Our stay was one of those rare occasions where they really did a good job in all regards - service, room, housekeeping, breakfast, plus the location is perfect and it has on-site parking.

For us it was a fantastic base to explore the Loire and we only wish we had another night or two. The hotel is set in a big, old mansion with immaculate gardens, character and really well finished. Nothing was out of place in our upstairs room in the main building. Nice big bathroom.

The staff were great, giving helpful advice and personally picking us up from a restaurant on one occasion where we were struggling for a Taxi.

We'd love to go back to this classy establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camesawleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews