We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Historic Amboise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Historic Amboise”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The hotel, originally built in 1107, has of course been updated so that it is very comfortable, but retains its elegant castle-like charm, is very well-staffed and provides every service possible, including off-street parking.

You can walk every where you want to go in Amboise and drive to the many amazing castles in the Loire Valley many are 45 minutes or less away.

Tip: We got off the train in Tours and picked up our rental car there, since the rental agency in Amboise was closed on Saturdays. The train station in Tours (Saint-Pierre-des-Corps station) is any easy drive of about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criancadodeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    132
    19
    11
    0
See reviews for
144
331
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife & I stayed for 4 nights mid November, we had travelled for 2 1/2 months to Eastern Med, Spain, Italy & France and this was easily in our top 3 hotels & we stayed in some good ones.
The staff were very helpfull, charming and nothing was a problem for them. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. The Manor is within easy driving distance of Chateaus & Paris is 2.2 hours away. Easy walking distance to all of Amboise restaurants, cafe & shops. The Manoir should not disappoint. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Manoir Saint Thomas from 11/2-11/5/12. Our flight from Dallas, TX arrived at CDG in Paris mid-morning on 11/2 and we picked up our Hertz rental car and were able to drive to this lovely manor without much difficulty--although it was a bit tricky to locate in Amboise as others have noted. The Hertz in-car navigation system made our drive from CDG to Le Manoir Saint Thomas much easier than it would have been if we had to rely completely on maps (though we had those also). The staff at Le Manoir Saint Thomas could not have been nicer and we felt welcome and pampered for our entire stay. The room was more than large enough for us and had a nice window that we could open for fresh air (see picture) and the bathroom was modern and spacious. We got some nice recommendations for places to eat in Amboise and other helpful advice as well. Breakfast was a little pricey but was so convenient we ate there each mornings except on our last day when we drove back to Paris. I highly recommend this lovely old manor and would stay there again in a heartbeat if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Don_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I, we stayed for 3 nights in October at the Le Manoir Saint Thomas. An enchanting manor hotel located in the heart of town. We got the Catherine de Médicis room on the first floor, a very large, luxurious and confortable room. The bathroom was also large and completely renovated, with all kind of toiletries. Breakfast served in a beautiful dining room was tasty and full of choises. The location is also quite ideal for a stroll round the town, just a walking distance to restaurants, cafes and shops, as well as to the Chateau de Amboise and Clos de Luce.
Don't miss the Le Bigot, a famous patisserie existing since 1913, for an afternoon tea and tasting of homemade pastries and chocolates.
We would like to thank the staff of the Manoir St. Tomas who was very friendly and helpful. We would definitively come back and stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMIL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

A beautiful manor. A very comfortable and large room with a huge and very modern bathroom. All super clean. No elevator but an original manor house would not have had one of course. Very close ( easy walking sitance ) to the chateau and to Clos de Luce. It had parking and a very nice breakfast for only 15Euro. The front desk person was very helpful and recommended some great restaurants as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We've spent a great deal of time in Amboise, and have seen the hotel before. This time, we decided to stay there, and are very pleased that we did. The hotel is beautiful and very well located in the heart of town. We made a last minute booking with some special requests. The staff came through wonderfully; we are very impressed with the hotel and the Manoir Saint Thomas staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Behind a large gate and high walls, Le Manoir offers seclusion, private parking and a small swimming pool. Inside, the decor is pleasant and comfortable, and consistent with the period, while the amenities are up to date. We had a delightful few days at Le Manoir, and enjoyed the small but comfortable rooms, friendly staff and excellent cold buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
15.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Property: Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing