We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful room and great location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Manoir Saint Thomas for four nights. We had room number 1 on the first floor, which was large with high ceilings and a beautiful old fireplace (it was classified as a spacious room on the website). The bathroom was spacious, and all the furnishings in the room were tasteful. The stained glass accents on the windows are a particularly nice touch. The grounds and pool are very well maintained and are nicely lit at night.

We had the breakfast a couple of mornings, which consists of pastries, cheeses, cold meats, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, fruit, mini-pancakes, crepes, and waffles, as well as juice, tea, and coffee. The breakfast is a little expensive (17 euros/person), but it was quite good and hearty for a day of walking or cycling. The hotel's staff was friendly, spoke English well, and were very helpful with providing maps and arranging for a taxi to pick us up the day of our departure. It is only a short walk from the hotel to the chateau and the city center. The only problem we had was that the Wifi was very weak in our room, but was fine in other parts of the house.

We were sad to leave and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    134
    19
    11
    0
See reviews for
151
341
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After being in postage stamp rooms in Paris & Amboise, even a junior room, specifically room 7, puts these other syays to shame. Larger, more relaxing, human service, space, and surroundings make this place a winner. It was a 2012 Trip Advisor winner and should be in 2013 as well.

Situated in the Loire Valley of France, near Le Loire River and many chateaus, don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzgdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great boutique hotel with secure off-street parking. Lovely grounds with a heated pool. Beautifully restored warm cosy rooms with large modern bathrooms. We stayed in one of the suites - plenty of room for 3 adults and a nice garden outlook. Very personable and exceptional service from all who looked after us (owner, front desk and breakfast room). Breakfast was a treat - very traditional and wholesome. Could not fault this hotel and would definitely return and recommend. This hotel is conveniently located to central Amboise where there are many exceptional restaurants, patisseries, as well as the nearby Amboise Castle and Clos Luce (Leonardo Da Vinci's home - well worth a visit). We used this hotel as a 5-day base to visit Chateaus and Caves (vignerons/wine) within the Loire Valley - all within easy driving distance. We visited other towns but Amboise has that certain charm and is not cluttered with too many tourists.

Room Tip: Breakfast - don't be late as your selection will be limited. However, a staff member will renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RplusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,331 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on the last leg of a journey from south of France

Nice hotel, friendly staff, good family room with sofa bed in separate lounge area and a large bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower

Pool was clean but small - my youngest boy stood on an exposed nail (of which there were a few) on the decking - not impressed (he or I)

Ideally situated for Amboise castle, eateries and shops

Also the best buffet breakfast we had on our 17 day trip

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Le Manoir Saint Thomas is a couple of street back from the chateau and main street meaning it's quiet at night. A stunning building with some fantastic rooms to explore and helpful staff. The bedroom was large with high ceiling and shutters on the windows, the only disappointment was the shower which was just an over the bath affair and the price of the breakfast which we didn't have. Although the weather didn't allow us to use it, the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool which i can imagine would be great in the height of the summer, especially if you've been walking or hired a bike

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoMarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

For starters, Isabelle, the manager treated us like we were part of the family. She was warm, friendly and issued great suggestions. She placed us in a room downstairs so we would avoid carrying heavy luggage. She also suggested and made reservations to eat at two great restaurants very close by: L' Alliance and Le Lion d'Or.
The property is centrally located; it has interior space for parking. Breakfast was very good but they could improve the selection/variety of choices.
The house is charming. The premises are very well kept. The beds are comfortable.
We have many pleasant memories from our stay at this place.

Room Tip: Select a room downstairs if you have to drag heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Staying in the lovely manor house was perfect for visiting the many castles/chateaux around the Loire Valley. Le Manoir St. Thomas was within walking distance of everything in Amboise and had secure parking that was definitely one of the reasons we chose it. Breakfast was very nice and the manor house is beautifully appointed- you feel as if you are in someone's very special home. The staff was excellent, helping us with both suggestions and reservations for restaurants, plugs for our computers, and our baggage. Our room had the most wonderful bathtub, with brand new fixtures. We loved it! Too bad the weather did not allow us to use the outdoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: We were on the higher floor, that had a sitting room with a couch. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKP6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
604 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
367 reviews
15.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Property: Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing