We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for four nights in September. This small hotel was originally a priory built in 1107. It is well appointed with spacious atmospheric rooms and modern bathrooms. The best of both worlds.It does not have an elevator. It has great air-conditioning for those of us that appreciate that amenity. The staff was wonderful. Led by the unflappable Frederic at reception who made reservations for us in other hotels as well as restaurants and provided lots of useful advise and directions. Everyone was very helpful and made us feel at home. The chambermaid even brought me an extra table for my carry-on bag without me asking. It was like staying with friends. They have a swimming pool and a free, secure car park. It is tricky to get into the place, but if you study the directions provided by the hotel you'll figure it out. Breakfast is delicious as well as expensive but the convenience is worth it. If the crepes were kept hot it would be even better. This is a great place to use as a base for exploring Loire Valley Chateaux.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so choose rooms based on ability to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinnaWyckoff_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent two weeks in France and three nights at the Manoir St Thomas in Amboise. It was our best hotel of the trip. The staff attended to our every need, recommended restaurants and made reservations for us. The rooms were large, well appointed and clean. Would definately stay there again. They have a great sitting room where we'd enjoy an after dinner glass of wine by the fireplace.

Room Tip: They have three price levels. We chose the least expensive and were extremely happy with our choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4Foto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The only negative that we associate with this fine B & B is that our GPS didn't quite know how to get us to the entrance gate . . . thanks to a couple of confusing one-way streets. Fortunately there were helpful friendly neighbors to augment our technology.

We were most satisfied with every aspect of the stay from our most welcoming welcome to our efficient check-out. We purposely selected one of two fist floor room when we made our reservations because of a warning on a tripadvisor review that the stairs were formidable. Our room wasn't luxurious but it was not cramped in the least, very well appointed with a great bed and super bathroom. It was absolutely quiet even though we were just feet away from the car parking area. The grounds were most attractive and a very good location for early evening wine.

I am not good with names but the very attractive lady who registered us was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The Manoir itself is within a five to ten minute walk of almost all of the restaurants and shops in the area. It is also a very good base camp (easy in and out) for exploring the Central Loire. The 17 euro deluxe continental breakfast offered by the hotel looks most inviting but we are not big breakfast eaters unless, of course, it is complimentary! Outstanding pastries and coffees were available at two wonderful patisseries just a few minutes walk away for less than 5 euros per person.

We had three most enjoyable dinners at nearby restaurants during our stay each selected to give us simpler (less rich) meals than we had enjoyed in Beaune for four nights. We will review each separately but here is a preview: L'Epicerie offered one of the best meals we have enjoyed in five trips to France; Chez Bruno very enjoyable, especially eating outside--a little funky, nothing fancy but good food and wine at a reasonable price and La Cene, a comfy family Italian restaurant with excellent pizza.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a very pleasant three days at this lovely manor house located centrally in Amboise. We had the large room on the first floor with a comfortable queen size bed and a small alcove with a desk. The bathroom was huge with a large comfortable shower. Couldn't be more convenient with parking on site in a lovely park-like setting. Pleasant helpful staff. We had a minor power outage in the bathroom and they attended to it immediately and gave us a discount on the room. Very sweet. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Manoir Saint Thomas for four nights. We had room number 1 on the first floor, which was large with high ceilings and a beautiful old fireplace (it was classified as a spacious room on the website). The bathroom was spacious, and all the furnishings in the room were tasteful. The stained glass accents on the windows are a particularly nice touch. The grounds and pool are very well maintained and are nicely lit at night.

We had the breakfast a couple of mornings, which consists of pastries, cheeses, cold meats, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, fruit, mini-pancakes, crepes, and waffles, as well as juice, tea, and coffee. The breakfast is a little expensive (17 euros/person), but it was quite good and hearty for a day of walking or cycling. The hotel's staff was friendly, spoke English well, and were very helpful with providing maps and arranging for a taxi to pick us up the day of our departure. It is only a short walk from the hotel to the chateau and the city center. The only problem we had was that the Wifi was very weak in our room, but was fine in other parts of the house.

We were sad to leave and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After being in postage stamp rooms in Paris & Amboise, even a junior room, specifically room 7, puts these other syays to shame. Larger, more relaxing, human service, space, and surroundings make this place a winner. It was a 2012 Trip Advisor winner and should be in 2013 as well.

Situated in the Loire Valley of France, near Le Loire River and many chateaus, don't miss it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzgdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great boutique hotel with secure off-street parking. Lovely grounds with a heated pool. Beautifully restored warm cosy rooms with large modern bathrooms. We stayed in one of the suites - plenty of room for 3 adults and a nice garden outlook. Very personable and exceptional service from all who looked after us (owner, front desk and breakfast room). Breakfast was a treat - very traditional and wholesome. Could not fault this hotel and would definitely return and recommend. This hotel is conveniently located to central Amboise where there are many exceptional restaurants, patisseries, as well as the nearby Amboise Castle and Clos Luce (Leonardo Da Vinci's home - well worth a visit). We used this hotel as a 5-day base to visit Chateaus and Caves (vignerons/wine) within the Loire Valley - all within easy driving distance. We visited other towns but Amboise has that certain charm and is not cluttered with too many tourists.

Room Tip: Breakfast - don't be late as your selection will be limited. However, a staff member will renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RplusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
420 reviews
2 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
241 reviews
15 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £79 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing