We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“really nice stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

my mom and i stayed here for 3 nights during our tour of the Loire Valley castles. once we found the hotel, we realized what a great location it has! park the car and walk to the main part of town in under 5 minutes. fantastic!

Frederic was so welcoming and gave great directions for getting to the castles in the least amount of time. i was disappointed we only saw him on checkin, but the woman at the desk was also very nice. she spoke some English but we definitely communicated better in French.

on arrival in our room, there was a welcome note and a bottle of forest strawberry liqueur. nice touch!

the room was large and had a little entry with a desk off the bathroom. the beds were really comfy and the brought us real pillows at turn down (thank you!).

this is the only hotel in our stay that actually made a point of honoring our request to reuse our towels. they were left just as we'd hung them on the rack. perfect. wonderful. thank you for adhering to your environmental policy!

we didn't have breakfast at the hotel as the local cafes and bakeries had breakfast for much less than the 17 euros they were asking at the hotel. when we came back with our yogurt or pastries, they had no problem with us using forks or spoons and enjoying our food in the lobby.

they have a very nice property with tables and chairs and a pool. we took the opportunity to enjoy wine, bread and cheese outside one afternoon. it was a nice place to hang out. it was too cold and rainy to even think about using the pool but it was a nice size.

you can park at the hotel for free which i didn't expect. that was greatly appreciated.

i'd go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle S, Propriétaire at Le Manoir Saint Thomas, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor.
All your compliments and opinions are our reward and tells us that we properly fulfill our mission of welcome.
Pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Amboise.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    130
    19
    11
    0
See reviews for
143
329
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights Mar/April. It is a very charming hotel full of character. The bathrooms are extremely modern and the room we stayed in was very comfortable. The breakfasts were so good that we enjoyed them every day we were there. Isabelle and Frederic were extremely helpful to us lending us a map of the area and recommending chateaux and places to explore. There is also private parking at the hotel which is certainly a bonus in this area. Amboise is a beautiful town and very handy to everything the Loire Valley has to offer. We certainly hope we will have the pleasure of staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyH417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here last Oct. 3 nights - very comfortable and charming building with so much history. Good location within walking distance to everything in town.... the town of Amboise is so charming and quaint. We wish we could have stayed longer there. The owner and staff very accomodating and friendly which was so nice. We would love to return. Good restaurants everywhere we dined.
Lovely town, Lovely accommodations.

Room Tip: IF stairs are an issue, ask for the lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi43california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It's hard not be slightly overcome with the beauty of Amboise and 300 meters from the amazing castle is this hotel. Welcoming, clean, quaint and a lovely breakfast. And if you are lucky the charming Isabelle will be on duty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We choose Amboise as our base for touring the Loire Valley and its many grand chateaux, and booked three nights at the Le Manoir Saint Thomas for our accommodations. It turned out to be a great choice as the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our room was very comfortable, and the up-to-date, designer bathroom was furnished with excellent amenities! Also, the hotel's private, off-street parking was a real plus as there are very few available parking spaces during the day in the town. We will certainly will try to stay there on our next visit to the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite Souveraine, which is on the second floor (third floor in American parlance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle S, Propriétaire at Le Manoir Saint Thomas, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review.
Comments like yours are extremely rewarding for our staff and our hotel .
We hope that we 'll have the plesaure to accomodate you one more time if you plan another trip in our beautiful area.
Kind regards.
Isabelle SOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

A cordial welcome, and a nice spacious room, with a supremely comfortable bed. Nice bathroom, and toiletries replenished daily. Maintenance needs attention though: there was an area of plaster missing near the window, and the hearth area is unattractive, with scorch marks in an empty fireplace. There was plenty of hanging space, but no drawers to unpack non-hanging clothes. We found neither of the two chairs in the room was comfortable: also the loo is on the far side of the room from the bathroom, which was inconvenient. There is some noise from the road outside: light sleepers may prefer to book a room on the garden side of the house. Service at breakfast was initially prompt, but was not followed up during the course of the meal; they don't seem to want you to need more tea or coffee.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiemay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for four nights in September. This small hotel was originally a priory built in 1107. It is well appointed with spacious atmospheric rooms and modern bathrooms. The best of both worlds.It does not have an elevator. It has great air-conditioning for those of us that appreciate that amenity. The staff was wonderful. Led by the unflappable Frederic at reception who made reservations for us in other hotels as well as restaurants and provided lots of useful advise and directions. Everyone was very helpful and made us feel at home. The chambermaid even brought me an extra table for my carry-on bag without me asking. It was like staying with friends. They have a swimming pool and a free, secure car park. It is tricky to get into the place, but if you study the directions provided by the hotel you'll figure it out. Breakfast is delicious as well as expensive but the convenience is worth it. If the crepes were kept hot it would be even better. This is a great place to use as a base for exploring Loire Valley Chateaux.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so choose rooms based on ability to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinnaWyckoff_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
208 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
770 reviews
15.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Property: Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing