We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Good location, rooms are a good size. Nice breakfast.

The health spa is a ten minute walk however, and need to book in advance. We got the impression from the web site that it was in the manoir intself.

They should improve their service system, since a staff member tried to enter our room at night while we were in bed the day we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveFromBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    134
    19
    11
    0
See reviews for
152
342
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Very nice hotel. You would for the price expect small service touches like your luggage being carried to the room. The hotel is understaffed and the outside is nothing like the photographs. The pool area looked as if it had not been visited by the staff for more than a month - don't expect anyone to serve you or offer you a drink it will be up to you to track the staff down. If it were half the price then i would score it 5.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I stayed at the Manoir for 1 night as I wanted to visit a few castles around Amboise. The hotel is walking distance from the Royal Castle and Clos Luce. It is also close to several restaurants and shops. Very safe hotel with locked parking and access.
My room was large, clean and had everything I was looking for.
Breakfast is simple but very good. Did not have dinner there as the restaurant was closed ad the end of October
Highly recommended for couples and romantic getaways.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frarob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We splurged on this hotel for our stay in the Loire Valley. It was an memorable experience to stay in rooms that are five centuries old or more! Our room was huge with a king bed, large desk and mini-fridge. The bathroom was pure luxury with updated plumbing and large, deep soaker tub. The only negative aspect to our room was the location of the toilet - it was located on the opposite side of the room from the remainder of the bathroom despite there being plenty of space in the bathroom to have included the toilet. In the middle of the night, we had to cross the creaky wooden floors twice to go to the toilet and then to wash our hands. Otherwise, we loved the indulgence of turn down service, candies on our pillows, a small bottle of raspberry liqueur to greet us and plush terry robes (unfortunately, the pool was closed for the season).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcclinchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This was a very nice place to stay. the town is lovely and there is plenty to explore. the hotel was quite nice. we paid for a larger room and it was lovely. it was on the top floor and was very nice sized, comfortable bed and the bathroom was large. had a nice bath and shower. my only comment on the bath is that they do need a shelf or a small table, as there is no where to place your toiletries. the staff was helpful and gave us good restaurant recommendations. we did not eat breakfast at the hotel so i cannot comment on that. There was ample room to park your car and then a nice walk into town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Wonderful accomodations, concierge made reservations at L'Epicerie (one of the best holistic dinner experiences in recent memory), and great service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVJCTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

A charming hotel, delightfully restored, with attentive and friendly staff and only a short walk away from the centre of Amboise with its many restaurants and cafes. A wonderfully relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring the Loire valley. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFL6258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
605 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
370 reviews
15.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Property: Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing