We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”
Review of Logis La Breche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis La Breche
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Rooms very nice. Very nice courtyard but no BYOB. WIFI good. Hotel is across the river from town but it is an easy walk to the square where there are lots of restaurants. We ate dinner at the Hotel one night and we were all disappointed- perhaps we were expecting too much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliabritishcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

we picked this place for a one night stay in Amboise based on TA reviews. The location is great, just over the bridge from the town centre (about 10 mins walk, all on the flat, but beware of cobbled streets if you are physically challenged for walking or in a wheelchair). There is no parking in the logis itself, but you can park for free on the road outside. The logis has a lovely garden, where dinner is served in the evening, or you can just relax and have a drink. Reception was fine, welcoming and typically French in décor. The room we had on the first floor was reached by a tiny winding staircase, and there are no lifts, so difficult with heavy luggage. The room was at the front of the logis and very small (although it was larger than most apparently when we tried for a room change), it had a double and one single bed, small TV and ensuite shower and toilet, you couldn't swing the proverbial cat. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The weather was very hot and sunny and consequently the room was very stuffy, no aircon, and you couldn't keep the windows open at night as traffic thundered down the road from very early in the morning (5am ish). We ate in the restaurant for dinner which was excellent, all home cooked and plentiful. Breakfast was disappointing for us compared to hotels, but I guess for this type of place it is usual (cold ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals and bread). If you want a low cost place to stay, and not concerned about sleep then fine, but for us it was disappointing, only being saved by the dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank clarissa_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We first stayed at la breche in 2006 even though it was a bit tired it was ok. When we stayed for a one night stopover in the last night of our holiday 19th june it had new owners had had been renovated but without losing its character. The owners were so friendly the rooms were clean food was superb a great last night in france. We will definately be back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiametta60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights as part of a weeks self arranged tour of the Loire Valley. Chose the hotel from the reviews on here and were not disappointed. It proved to be an excellent base to explore Amboise and the surrounding area.
Hotel has convenient parking either on the road or the public car park 50metres away and situated on the North side of the river just a couple of hundred metres from the bridges.
It's approximately a 10 mins walk to the main part of the town, across the two Loire bridges
Hotel owners and staff extremely hospitable, and we enjoyed our after dinner chats.
Bedroom very comfortable large bed in a long narrow room, very good shower small wardrobe suitable for a short stay. We had the added benefit of a small balcony accessible from the bathroom overlooking the garden. We would have used this and the peaceful garden more had the weather been good but it was too cold and wet. Not what we expected in mid summer!
Breakfast was extra, it was simple but with good coffee and juice and usual cold meat and coissants.
Hotel has a small bar which is really a part of the excellent restaurant, so really only usable when the dining area is not in full use. We ate in the hotel for 2 nights and both evenings the meal was excellent and is reasonably priced for fine dining.
Definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant, and would happily stay again if in the area

Room Tip: Room 6 is on first floor and has balcony, bed slightly awkward position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel in Amboise was booked by our cycling tour company.

Friendly owners provide a personal touch to your visit. Our room was small compared to those of others we stayed in on this trip, but there were three of us - an unusual number sharing a room. The access via a narrow twisting staircase may be a project for those of moderate strength and agility (or physical debility) who need to shlep their bags to and from the room. Our room faced the street and was moderately quiet. In summer one would likely need to open the large windows to cool the room.

The food in the restaruant was quite good and the place was packed mid-week with good vibes from the locals who obviously enjoy the cooking. Put in a reservation if you plan to eat at Breche. Hotel Breche also has a nice garden where you can have a picnic or simple dinner picked up from local grocers provided you order a bottle of wine and or drinks from the owner (ask permission first).

The negatives regard inadequate cleanliness of the bathroom which can be corrected by attention to detail and poor wifi connectivity at night. There is really no central area in the hotel to congregate or converse.

All stated the hotel is fun and enjoyable. The center of Amboise is a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our room was large, clean, quiet and in very good condition. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was good sized and newish. Staff was very kind and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent - one of our best meals in France. Great location near the train station, easy walk to town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We received a very warm welcome and the hospitality was great. The room although small was immaculate. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet which allowed for 3 great nights of sleep. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful. Our server, Sophie, was so sweet and efficient and the owners, Jerome and Marie were warm and charming. Since our entire trip was by train, it was nice that the hotel was close to the train station and yet an easy walk over the bridge into town. One word of warning though there is no lift so you may be carrying luggage up 3 narrow flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlass2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
650 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Bonne Etape
La Bonne Etape
#14 of 25 in Amboise
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis La Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Breche

Address: 26 rue Jules Ferry, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amboise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis La Breche 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Logis La Breche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis La Breche Hotel Amboise
La Brèche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing