We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically Perfect in every way!”
Review of Logis La Breche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Logis La Breche
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Irwin, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at La Breche for three nights in mid-October with my daughter. The location close to the train station was perfect for us as we arrived after dark and left at 6:00 am a few days later. Since the restaurant is busy until fairly late there was no problem with the late arrival. We were greeted by name and with the scents of delicious food.

We had room #10 on the top floor. It exceeded our expectations. The decor was warm and inviting, the beds and pillows comfortable, the bathroom spacious and recently remodeled. The only minor flaw was a slightly strange odor in the bathroom but with the door kept shut it didn't come into the bedroom.

The walk to the town of Amboise was about 10-12 minutes. The road just outside the hotel is a little too dark but once we were beyond that it was fine and we felt perfectly safe even late at night. The walk across the bridge provides a great view of the castle although in mid-October it is not lit at night.

I ate breakfast one morning - it was a nice selection of food including some ham, cheese, and hard boiled eggs.

We enjoyed our dinner immensely. The three courses actually became six when they served a lovely cream soup at the beginning, a scoop of pistachio ice cream before our dessert, and a small chocolate-dipped macaroon after the dessert. The service was very attentive and M. Berthelot personally inquired after us.

Both M. and Mme. Berthelot were kind to us and patient with my French. They accomodated our early departure and prepared our bill ahead of time and made it simple to leave early.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen_and_Erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    128
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
63
177
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at La Breche in mid and late September 2013. The accommodation (a self contained room) was very clean and spacious. As we were not located within the hotel it was extremely quiet. The breakfast provided was very good and the meals in the restaurant ("terrier") were amazing (especially the Porc pie). The majority of the staff were lovely however I found the attitude of one concierge rude. The location of the hotel (just across the river from the main town centre) was a short walk to all the Amboise tourist attractions, supermarket and an array of cafes and restaurants. All in all a very comfortable stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenjyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in La Breche for 3 nights and were very satisfied. It was clean and the rooms were a bit larger than others in which we stayed in France. The restaurant was excellent and deserves the 5 star rating. We ate dinner there one night and breakfast one morning. The bed was comfortable. Its location was somewhat disappointing but worked out okay. It is across the bridge from the main center of town. But the price was very good and getting to and from the train station was only a 5 minute walk. The front desk person seemed too busy to be very helpful, although she was always polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here in mid Sep 2013. It is conveniently located, the rooms are excellent and clean, and the hotel has off-road parking (somewhat limited but you can book in advance). The proprietors are most friendly and helpful and we would stay here again if in Amboise and would recommend it to our friends. Oh and by the way the restaurant is terrific.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife & I stopped here overnight on our way back to the UK. The hotel is situated across the bridge from the centre of Amboise, in a residential area - away from the overpriced restaurants of the main town. Hotel La Brech has a very pleasant shady garden, where drinks & food are served when the weather allows. The main part of the hotel is a large attractive building but we stayed in an annex room (No.15) in the garden, which meant we could relax in the garden at any time. Our room was a very generous size having two double beds (proper doubles & not 2 singles pushed together) a seating area, TV (no English channels), a large well fitted shower room and separate toilet- all for 79 euros. Everything was very comfortable and clean. We liked the fact that every member of staff is mentioned by name in the hotel literature, from cleaning staff, restaurant staff and kitchen staff. We were surprised to be told that the earliest we could dine in the hotel restaurant would be 8.30pm because the restaurant was busy! The restaurant is very comfortable, service & food & wine excellent and reasonably priced. At one point the owner caught me swapping mash potato with my wife for her pasta & mushrooms & after a few minutes returned with extra mushroom & tagliatelli for us - a nice touch!. The hotel had a large party of American tourists staying there, hence the busy restaurant. We both slept well, absolutely no traffic noise an enjoyed a good continental breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are good but I have not experienced rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel was simply beyond our expectations. It is well situated about a 15 minute walk to the town and 5 to the train station. The staff are fun, pleasant and very helpful. The restaurant is simply superb. The variety, the quality of food, the service and the wine list are all exceptional. The hotel grounds are quiet and it was nice just sitting out in the afternoon sun enjoying a drink.

This is not what you expect of a 2 star hotel!

The rooms are all light and of ok standard, with good sized bathrooms.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rousesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We've just stayed here for 3 nights booking through the Logis de France web site, we booked half board and were not dissapointed in any respect, our hosts and staff were friendly and very efficient, especially with the evening dinner service. The breakfast was plentiful, and the evening meal superb. On arrival Madam said to park our 2 motorcycles in the garage without me asking if it would be possible. The walk in to town was nice over the 2 bridges, in fact it helped to build a good appetite for dinner. I'd just reiterate the previous good reviews as to the food/hotel, and to say that a hotel restaurant that is fully booked every midweek evening in late September must be doing something right. We shall look forward to returning hopefully soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#9 of 25 in Amboise
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
0.5 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis La Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Breche

Property: Logis La Breche
Address: 26 rue Jules Ferry, 37400, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amboise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis La Breche 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Logis La Breche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis La Breche Hotel Amboise
La Brèche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing