We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hospitality in Amboise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir de la Maison Blanche
Ranked #4 of 31 Amboise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality in Amboise”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Amboise is a great home-base for exploring the many châteax of the Loire Valley region. The spacious country-like property of Le Manior de la Maison Blanche offers peace and privacy, yet close proximity to the various sights of the city, (I imagine that a car would be very helpful and glad we had one). Annick is a wonderful and helpful hostess. Our spacious room was on the top floor of the Main House. The narrow stairs may present a challenge for some, but for us the only difficulty was negotiating with luggage. (Other rooms are available at ground level in what appears to be the old carriage house.) Annick has done a wonderful job renovating the buildings. She is willing to show you the photographs of the process, if asked. As any good hostess should, she offers many suggestions (and brochures) for various châteax in the vicinity and Amboise museums and restaurants (in some cases, dinner reservations are necessary a day in advance). Every one of Annick’s recommendations was perfect. A real treat for us was the Saturday Market Day along the river—everything from flea-market items, fresh veggies, meats/seafood/cheese, to live ducks and rabbits. The white asparagus is amazing! Annick is personable and friendly and she takes her guests’ needs and comfort to heart.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    23
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
75
153
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It would be hard to find a better place to spend four nights in the Loire Valley. On the outskirts of Amboise but close enough to walk into town and set in large grounds with huge trees, Maison Blanche is an ideal place from which to explore Amboise and the surrounding chateaux. Our hostess, Annick, was charming and fun, the breakfasts were delicious and our room was spacious and very comfortable. A must-stay B & B. Many thanks Annick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed spending 3 nights with Annick at her delightful B&B. Annick was very pleasant and we felt right at home sharing stories with her. Maison Blanche is only a short distance from the center of Amboise but it is quite idyllic. The setting is just perfect. We loved seeing the house pets and were amused by her llama and horse both of whom are well cared for. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast room and the breakfast were excellent. We would definitely return to the Manoir de la Maison Blanche. As for Amboise, it is a perfect base for exploring the Loire Valley with its numerous Chateaus and beautiful scenery. On Sundays there is a delightful market in the town near the river that you won't want to miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd5547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Everyone in the hospitality world should spend time with Annick Delecheneau to learn the true meaning of the word hospitality. A little background: when we arrived in Paris and headed toward Amboise we fell victims to the kind of street crime that's in the news everywhere (Advice: don't think you're safe just because you're in your car with doors locked in big cities...anywhere!). After my wife's bag was stolen near the airport, our immediate reaction was to turn around and head home. Fortunately, we decided to forge ahead with our vacation plans and made our way to the Manoir de la Maison Blanche. I cannot think of a more perfect place to begin the healing process: the beautifully appointed room in a thoughtfully restored antique farm manor...the virtual nature preserve that surrounds the property...the stream of interesting and charming guests every morning at breakfast...but, above all, the wonderfully warm and welcoming Annick! We can only repeat the positive comments of so many reviewers on this site about the superlative features of this "home away from home". After a long day of visiting extraordinary chateaux, charming villages and all the other treasures of the Loire, nothing could be better than to relax in the courtyard at the Maison Blanche, enjoying a glass of the local vintage, and soaking in the historic charm of the Manoir itself. We cannot recommend this historic bed and breakfast highly enough. And to Annick: our sincere thanks for bringing the magic back to our visit to France! A la prochaine!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay began with a beautiful drive up a tree lined driveway to the Maison Blanche. The host was warm and welcoming with many suggestions of what to do and where to go. My room was lovely- exposed beam ceilings and small windows. The breakfast was home made pastries, freshly brewed tea and coffee, yoghurt, fruit and juice. It was a charming stay at a special place. Will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Although we only stayed two nights here, we left wishing we could have stayed longer. Annick is the reason this place is so fantastic...her willingness to interact with her guests and help in any way possible goes a long way. We stayed in a ground floor room that was very spacious, and had the biggest bathroom of all the places we stayed. Her breakfasts were a great start to the morning, and we walked both nights to Amboise for dinner. The dogs are adorable, as is her horse that we'd see from the window of our room in the morning :). I know not everyone needs this, but for our jobs it was extremely helpful to have good wifi in the room as well. We loved our stay here!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvvacations83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Even though we have stayed with Mme Annick many times, it is always such a pleasure to return to the calm tranquillity of the house and park and the great hospitality of Mme herself. As always, very clean and comfortable accommodation and wonderful breakfasts - cereals and fruit with lovely breads and croissants which Annick buys from different bakers every day, so you never know what treat is in store! Also, choices of cheeses, yoghurts and wonderful home-made jam, some from fruit in the garden .... yummy. A new addition is Cousco (not too sure of spelling), the llama! Along with Indienne the horse he lends a lovely relaxed air to the park, you feel miles away from habitation but Amboise is just down the hill. All in all a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SareyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#9 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de la Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Maison Blanche

Property: Manoir de la Maison Blanche
Address: 18 rue de l Epinetterie, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir de la Maison Blanche has spacious rooms at your disposal, with private bath and toilets, TV, Wi-Fi access in the rooms...Perfect for discovering the Loire, its castles such as Chambord (the largest Loire Valley chateau with the biggest wooded park in Europe), Blois, Chenonceau, Cheverny, Azay le Rideau, as well as the International Garden Festival in Chaumont sur Loire, the Villandry castle gardens and the Langeais fortress. Check-in between 4:30pm and 8pm. Outside of this time you must call in advance or write an email. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir De La Maison Blanche Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing