We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place - warm, friendly and comfortable - highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir de la Maison Blanche
Ranked #4 of 31 Amboise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. It is a beautiful place, with a lovely hostess who made us feel really welcome (and makes exceptionally good jam!). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Manoir de la Maison Blanche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2010

If you want the feel of living on a French estate, this is the place for you. We spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was large and spacious with a separate bath area, TV and comfortable bed. The rooms have been completely renovated and are tastefully decorated with many antiques. Breakfast was always a pleasure with plenty of choices and homemade jams and treats. The hostess, Annick, is most charming and helpful and speaks excellent English. Amboise is a beautiful town with good restaurants and an excellent location for exploring the chateaus of the Loire Valley. Historybuff 1789

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historybuff1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

You could hardly do better for a place to stay in the central Loire Valley. The Maison Blanche is a beautiful old farmhouse, with lovely large, well decorated rooms. You need to be a little nimble to negotiate the spiral staircases - it would be difficult for the elderly or the disabled. The rooms were very comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyGrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

 We had an outstanding stay in October. Annick, the owner of this family run B&B was so helpful and friendly. Our upstairs room was quiet and clean. It was spacious by European standards. The location was perfect to explore the surrounding Loire valley countryside. We particularly enjoyed the feeling of an old french rural village dwelling completely remodeled with double pane windows but using the original 16th century timbers.  We don't understand the review posted earlier commenting on the room since we stayed in the same upstairs room and found it fully finished, comfortable and quaint. Be aware the stairs are steep but secure- we had no issues. Annick and her family were special hosts. We stayed 3 days in the middle of a train strike in France- Annick and her daughter checked schedules and news for us daily on their personal computer. The rolls and croissants for breakfast were delicious. We had to leave early on the last morning and Annick prepared the breakfast for us 30 minutes earlier than normal. The grounds  were relaxing. If you don't mind walking, the town is a pleasant  15-20 minute walk, but slightly uphill on return. Otherwise drive to town is  about 5 minutes. We had no problem parking in October, but don't know about peak season.      

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacific99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This B&B was a wonderful highlight of our accomodations during a 3+ week trip throughout France with our two children. Annick is a kind, gracious, friendly and very informative hostess. The room was clean, comfortable and very charming. Our boys thoroughly enjoyed the lovely property and interacting with the dogs. The delicious homemade jams were a treat for all in the morning. (I wish I could have brought some home! ) The location was quite practical for commuting to several chateaux in the area and yet felt secluded. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatines4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at La Manoir de la Maison Blanche for 2 nights en route for an extended trip within France. Found it to be an excellent place to stay. Mme Annick was so welcoming and warm and provided a beautifully clean room with lots of space, a decent shower and a great breakfast - the last two especially became our criteria of a good night's stay! There is also a kitchen with microwave and a table so if you don't fancy eating out you can always bring something back and eat 'at home'. A kettle too, which was very useful. It's such a peaceful place to stay yet within walking distance to Amboise town centre, so the best of both worlds. In fact, we so enjoyed our time there on our way south that we stopped there again on our way back! What better recommendation than that! Would definitely recommend the Manoir to anyone either passing through or staying for longer in Amboise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SareyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed for two nights with DH, Mom, and Gram. I'm sorry to say that the B&B was not what we expected. The property is absolutely in a quiet park-like setting and the host was just lovely. But the rooms were not finished. Unpainted pieces of wall (I'm not referring to the charming 15th century beams), leaking shower without a mental floor of all things, particle board on some walls and floor, actual holes in others. And the stairs we had to take to our rooms were newly built, but misshapen and wobbly. My suggestion would be to ask to stay in the main house or make sure that the building is finished before you book. Otherwise Amboise is covered with other hotels, B&Bs, etc. at comparable or lower prices.
Hope you have a better experience than we did - if finished, this would be a cute, cozy place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#11 of 25 in Amboise
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de la Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Maison Blanche

Address: 18 rue de l Epinetterie, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir de la Maison Blanche has spacious rooms at your disposal, with private bath and toilets, TV, Wi-Fi access in the rooms...Perfect for discovering the Loire, its castles such as Chambord (the largest Loire Valley chateau with the biggest wooded park in Europe), Blois, Chenonceau, Cheverny, Azay le Rideau, as well as the International Garden Festival in Chaumont sur Loire, the Villandry castle gardens and the Langeais fortress. Check-in between 4:30pm and 8pm. Outside of this time you must call in advance or write an email. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir De La Maison Blanche Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing