We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stars ruin our night”
Review of TrogloDelice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TrogloDelice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Troglodyte rooms have really beautiful modern design. only bemol for room etoile. You cannot switch off the blue light on roof and bathroom tiles. So don t forget to advise owner to shut down it at your time . Not possible to sleep, Owner told us that lights will shut off att 23h but it happened only at 1h00! Possible to cook . Breakfast is excellent composed of numerous local product. TIP you can get discounted pass to visit ALL chateaux de la loire around

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanp22002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for TrogloDelice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stopped in the Oasis cave on a return trip North from Collioure and were delighted with our find as we had booked it 'on the hoof'. The room is indeed a cave but spacious and very well equipped with even a little kitchenette including refrigerator which was handy for our picnics. The caves face a delightful, well-tended garden where guests can enjoy the peace and tranquility of the area. That said it's only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Azay which is a beautiful village and nice to see outside of the coach party visitors.

Breakfast was good, with the owners keen to point out the provenance of the ingredients. Please note, the owners do not speak English so if French isn't a strong point, take your phrase book.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliePLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Shame that the weather during our stay, didn't live up to the warm welcome we had from Marité and Philippe Sarrazin.
This was a unique stay that we were really looking forward to but as we arrived the drizzle and grey conditions didn't make the cave living seem such a good idea and that was a shame because the work that had been done, in renovating the rooms to make them habitable was really impressive.
Dehumidifiers in both rooms were in use when we arrived and were switched off when we were given the tour, but we decided that they needed to be in use while we were in the rooms and they made a difference. We did have to empty them, proving that they were in fact, necessary.
We had booked both Oasis and Eden, both unique and different in size,layout and decoration. We made good use of the little kitchenette, very handy for snacks and drinks. It had a fridge but not a kettle.
The patio of each room, overlooking the lovely garden, had teak furniture, but the rain stopped us from using it for more then a few minutes.
Was very impressed with the breakfast that was taken in the converted loft space of the main house. The room with free wi-fi, but not a very good signal. Marité and Philippe sat with us both mornings and we had lively chats ( in French). The choice on the table was different both mornings and we had great fun trying to translate "homemade rhubarb jam" into Spanish for a couple of other guests who didn't speak French but who did speak some English. The problem being that they don't seem to know rhubarb in Spain!

Located within about 20 mins walk of the town of Azay-Le-Rideau and it's chateau.
Payment has to be made in cash or euro cheque only

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at Troglodelice for 3 nights in May 2012. Our large room (cave?) was "Oasis" and its decor was appropriate to its name. An outdoor setting allowed relaxation adjacent to the lawned garden. The room was very clean and comfortable, had a small kitchenette but no microwave, which would have been handy. Bathroom with shower was spacious and clean. Each morning we had a short walk through a beautiful garden to a dedicated breakfast room attached to the main house. Breakfast comprised breads, home-made jams, yoghurt, cheeses, coffee and tea. Free wifi signal was only available at the breakfast room although this was open for use throughout the day. Parking on the property a short distance from the room. Marite and Phillippe were wonderful hosts and very helpful. We all had a lot of fun trying to communicate with each other.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewmpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at this B & B. The owners were very hospitable. They didnt speak English but tried very hard to communicate with us. They were a very friendly couple. The room was very interesting as it was built into the side of a hill. They did a great job decorating and charged a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cara94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The night I and my wife spent at the the Étoile room was unique, an experience we will carry to the rest of our lives. The small kitchen in the room is an invitation to an evening of "gourmandise". Replacing the TV by a stereo is such a simple idea... Putting a CD with French music by its side is a call to romance.
All of Mr. Sarrazin inventions may seem a little exagerated at first, but once you get involved by the atmosphere of the room, everything just fits.
Breakfast was good and the only problem was that there was a small leakage in the room's chimney, so since it rained during the night, we could hear drops falling. A little annoying, but nothing that Mr. Sarrazin can't fix easily.
Last but not least: it is one kilometer from the Chateau.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Loved this little place - definitely the nicest B&B we stayed during our time in the Loire Valley. Marite and Philippe are ever so friendly and helpful - they gave us advice on where to eat (nearby L'Aigle D'Or in Azay-le-Rideau, which was excellent), they served a delicious breakfast (with home made jams - try to Potiron (pumpkin) - yum!) in their delightful garden, and they made their two (soon to be three) Troglodyte cave rooms so welcoming. The decor is lovely and and rooms nicely laid out, they have little kitchens and nice big bathrooms. The room we stayed in had an oriental feel and was very comfy. If we'd had more time we would have bought a bottle of wine in the little wine shop in Azay and sat in their garden to enjoy. One warning - they don't speak much English so you may need to brush up on your French to be able to converse.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.1 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Monarque
Le Grand Monarque
#3 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
94 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'auberge Pom'poire
L'auberge Pom'poire
#5 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
74 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TrogloDelice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TrogloDelice

Address: 3 route de la Vallee du Lys, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range: £74 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TrogloDelice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing