We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find and a great place to stay in Azay-le-Rideau.”
Review of Le Grand Monarque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Monarque
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A real find and a great place to stay in Azay-le-Rideau.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was by chance that we found le Grand Monarque. There was a mix-up with a booking we had made somewhere else. But what a find! First, the location, right in the middle of the village of Azay-le-Rideau and within an easy walk of the château and everything else. And there's parking. Le Grand Monarque commemorates Louis XIV (not that I am a fan of kings). It is in a group of buildings that were once a post-house where coaches changed horses. These old buildings have been made into a comfortable hotel with a quiet and shaded courtyard. Our room was attractively furnished and comfortable for sleeping or just for relaxing. We had a good dinner and breakfast. The staff, including the owner, added an extra polish with their very courteous welcome and frequent attention to the comfort of us and other guests. The bill was very reasonable for the quality of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    107
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
189
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found this hotel on-line and it had rooms available - most places were full! We were not sure what to expect but it is a really lovely place to stay whilst visiting the Loire. It is right in the centre of town, but very quiet, and we had air-conditioning which was bliss!! The room was plenty big enough although not much storage space. The food was excellent, and the breakfast choice was great. The owner and reception staff are very helpful - the restaurant is closed on Sunday night - but they are happy to recommend ones which are open. You can walk to the chateau, and other restaurants and bars in the town, and it is very easy to get to other chateaux. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate building across the coutyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 537Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner chose this hotel to break the drive to the south and we were sorry to only have the time for one night's stay. The hotel was decorated sympathetically with its age - not old and musty but aged and tasteful. The staff were very helpful and cheerful at all times. The restaurant was a real find too. Exciting food with great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel and once again we were really imlressed by the hotel, its staff and the food. The quality of everything is good, not flashy but in keeping with the lovely old building which is well preserved. Convenient for a walk round the town and an ideal central point for visiting the Loire chateaux.

The one possibly difficult thing is the stair case which is spiral and could be difficult for less fit people.

Overall an excellent place to stay for a few days or just overnight en route.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didmarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Azay, just a short stroll from the chateau. A really strong point is the excellent parking and the bike storage - both well thought out and easy to use. Our spacious comfortable room (Loches) was an interesting combination of very traditional decor with a spankingly modern shower room. Both were light and bright, there were plenty of mirrors and lights and hooks - things often omitted in French hotels. The room faced a courtyard and was very quiet. The receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't try the restaurant as the menu wasn't to our taste and for breakfast we went to the bar Francois I next door to the hotel, at a reasonable 6.50 euros each, excellent value. Both highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A pretty quick visit to this hotel, so wasn't able to try the restaurant or even the breakfast but everything was excellent. Very helpful reception staff (perhaps the owners) and lovely, decent-sized rooms. Nice big courtyard etc.;

I'd recommend the private car park. Something about gravel under the wheels of car...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streaky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIncoln, NE
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We choose to pre-book this hotel and were very glad. The room was large by France standards and quite lovely and comfortable. It was also a perfect location for visiting the Chateau, just behind the hotel. They do have a hotel, but we had not realized they were closed for service on Sundays. However, the staff booked us in a lovely restaurant a few doors away. I would recommend a stay here if you are in this area of the Loire.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
334 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
76 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
475 reviews
14.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Monarque

Property: Le Grand Monarque
Address: 1 rue du Chateau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Le Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Monarque Azay Rideau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing