We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel in Azay-le-Rideau”
Review of Le Grand Monarque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Monarque
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, TX
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel in Azay-le-Rideau”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent four nights at Le Grand Monarque while in Azay-le-Rideau for a family wedding and were quite pleased. Our room was spacious by French standards with plenty of room for luggage. The air-conditioning worked well, breakfast was good and plentiful with adequate selections and hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. The private parking is worth the price; the public parking to the rear is handy, but on Saturday morning it is a market and cars have to be moved; it also appeared to be full much of the time. The hotel's prices were reasonable for the quality. If we return to Azay-le-Rideau, which is a distinct possibility, we'll stay at Le Grand Monarque.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor of the second building, which was very quiet, but it meant climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    102
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
183
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Staying here has prompted my first trip advisor review...

Made the 5 night booking through booking.com which was very easy with no obligation. On arrival we were met by the very friendly Eric who welcomed us with a choice of speaking French or English (we chose English as we were very tired after a long drive). Our bags were whisked up to our room whilst Eric gave us some history of the hotel & local knowledge and showed us to our room. We stayed in a top floor comfort room with exposed beams and very comfortable bed. The en suite was spotless & was a lovely mix of original beams and contemporary fittings and a super powerful shower!

At this point as tired travellers we would have liked the option to have a drink, however aside from some bottled water there were no facilities in the room to make a tea or coffee, although there was a room service option.

First morning we had breakfast in the hotel which was your standard cereals, pastries, yoghurt, meat buffet etc.

No parking at the hotel but the public car park or on street parking is all free. Evening meal in the restaurant was very nice, not a huge choice on the menu but clearly cooked by a chef with a passion for fine food.

Overall, a very nice stay & would recommend.







Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FontCotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this centrally located historic hotel that is part of the fabric of this beautiful town. The owner was very welcoming and clearly had an eye for detail as the hotel is well cared for with modern renovations while maintaining historic charm. Lots of amenities and thoughtful touches for travelers.

As we were there in the off-season, there were few guests besides us. This made our stay feel very special. We have gone to Europe twice in March because we get a lot more of everything: time for conversation with the owner and staff, the privilege of having two other tables besides us in the large dining room. The meal we had in the restaurant was our favorite during this trip to France. High-end food in a comfortable setting with great service and reasonable prices.

Our room was huge! It was so wonderful to stay here after a cramped few days in Paris. Modern bathroom, amenities like tea kettle and full tea service in your room, and views of both the city center and the courtyard of the hotel, which is lit with an amber glow at night.

Only a two-minute walk to the chateau through an incredibly charming town. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank msmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were very happy with the hotel. A spacious room in traditional style, comfortable and well maintained, with effective and controllable air conditioning. Very helpful staff and a warm welcome. We took an evening meal on one occasion, which was very high quality and good value, though the menu is short so we dined elsewhere on the other evenings. Overall a very enjoyable stay in this interesting little town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was by chance that we found le Grand Monarque. There was a mix-up with a booking we had made somewhere else. But what a find! First, the location, right in the middle of the village of Azay-le-Rideau and within an easy walk of the château and everything else. And there's parking. Le Grand Monarque commemorates Louis XIV (not that I am a fan of kings). It is in a group of buildings that were once a post-house where coaches changed horses. These old buildings have been made into a comfortable hotel with a quiet and shaded courtyard. Our room was attractively furnished and comfortable for sleeping or just for relaxing. We had a good dinner and breakfast. The staff, including the owner, added an extra polish with their very courteous welcome and frequent attention to the comfort of us and other guests. The bill was very reasonable for the quality of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found this hotel on-line and it had rooms available - most places were full! We were not sure what to expect but it is a really lovely place to stay whilst visiting the Loire. It is right in the centre of town, but very quiet, and we had air-conditioning which was bliss!! The room was plenty big enough although not much storage space. The food was excellent, and the breakfast choice was great. The owner and reception staff are very helpful - the restaurant is closed on Sunday night - but they are happy to recommend ones which are open. You can walk to the chateau, and other restaurants and bars in the town, and it is very easy to get to other chateaux. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate building across the coutyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 537Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner chose this hotel to break the drive to the south and we were sorry to only have the time for one night's stay. The hotel was decorated sympathetically with its age - not old and musty but aged and tasteful. The staff were very helpful and cheerful at all times. The restaurant was a real find too. Exciting food with great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
11.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Monarque

Property: Le Grand Monarque
Address: 1 rue du Chateau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Le Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Monarque Azay Rideau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing