We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Charitha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Charitha
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you happen to find yourself or plan a stay in in Azay-le-Rideau, Chez Charitha is an excellent midtown choice. Not only because of Charita, a delicious host eager to share his vast knowledge about local specialties, but also because you can experience the magic of the place in an authentic old house, situated in one of the narrow streets that triggers that “je ne sais quoi” of the past. Most definitely you’ll be spoiled for your choice when siesta time rolls around, when you can enjoy a glass of wine and a slice of rosemary goat cheese in the small, yet cozy backyard. Breakfast comes with a variety of choices from different kinds of fresh fruits, teas, juices, exotic jams (coming from Denmark I was so surprised to see my favorite jam lying next to my fresh croissant), not to mention that you can choose your breakfast time. As well, big up for the free public parking right around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AvecPaulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
70
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very nice service from the owner. It's a small place with two rooms and you are made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and location was ideal for us. The room was separate to the bathroom but clean and nicely decorated with Sri Lankan momentos.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_CameronM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We changed our travel plans at the last minute and were lucky to find this warm and homely bed and breakfast. Charitha has worked in the luxury end of the hotel industry and this shows in the little touches in his home which is cared for and spotless. The breakfast in the gardens was fit for a king and the house is right in the heart of the beautiful village of Azay so ideal for visiting local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFWilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

WE stayed "Chez Charitha" during our hiking weekend in May. The weather was pretty miserable for hiking but the warm welcome and our 3 day stay at Charitha's homey and comfortable B&B largely compensated for it. He made us feel at home, gave us tips for visiting vineyards, going out to the local restaurants and directions to go to Frank's to buy the home made goat cheese, one of the specialities of the region. The breakfasts were delicious.A real banquet. All in all a great place to stay.

Kerry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budel, nl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

instead of 1 night , we stayed 1 week !
Because it was
* very friendly * very clean * great breakfast * very helpful * perfect location * fantastic host * great wine * nice garden * all possibilities * cosy * quiet * and the nicest host you can dream of !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Upon our arrival, CHARITHA greeted us with a welcoming smile, a glass of wine and friendly conversation. Our room and the bath were spotless. Breakfasts were delicious, fresh, healthy, filling, planned around our tastes and served on our schedule. This is a lovely, very convenient place to stay with a proprieter who is friendly and helpful. Charitha demonstrates that he truly likes and appreciates his guests. We stayed at CHEZ CHARITHA for three nights although we had planned on staying only one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmaggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Monarque
Le Grand Monarque
#3 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val de Loire
Hotel Val de Loire
#7 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Charitha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Charitha

Property: Chez Charitha
Address: 2 rue Victor Hugo, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and breakfast includes two bedrooms (two doubles) with a rear garden at your diposal (best for a pique nique) in a house built in 1823 and recently renovated. This house is located in the very heart of the town and is only two steps away from the tourist office and 300 feet away from the castle.One of the best place to stay at , simply because of its proximity with the local shops and facilities ( car parks , rent a bike shop, souvenirs shops, restaurants, bakery, post office...) , the tourist office and the castle that one must visit because of its history and its spectacular light show called " Les imaginaires d'Azay le Rideau". You will be seduced by the charm of this unique town as well as this nice and comfortable Bed and Breakfast where you will feel at ease and independant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chez Charitha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing