We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sud / South
RdC  / Ground floor
Séjour / Living room
Séjour Living room
Cuisine / Kitchen
Cuisine / Kitchen
Cuisine / Kitchen
Etage / First floor
Chambre Est / Est bedroom
Chambre Est / Est bedroom
Chambre Sud / South bedroom
Chambre Sud / South bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
magatha20...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay - our little piece of luxury in the Loire. From the welcoming bottle of fizz to the free-to-use bicycles, we felt that we were very well looked after by Patrick and Dominique.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg M
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect French holiday”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent the most wonderful three months of our year in France. We made arrangements a year in advance to stay in L'Atelier in Azay le Rideau because it had everything on our wish list and we did not want to miss out. Two bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, a downstairs toilet, private garden setting away from the traffic and an easy stroll into the village with all conveniences.
From our first email communication, through contract and payment arrangements, owners Patrick and Dominique dealt openly and promptly with us and we rightly felt confident to commit to staying there.
Arriving in late winter we found the bare trees and stone buildings a real change from the Australian winters we know. Spring blossoms on cherry trees and wistaria everywhere made the town very pretty and before long the garden was shady and green.
Inside the electric heaters kept us warm, the wi-fi internet radio, the TVs and video kept us entertained, and the well planned kitchen and lounge made us feel at home.
As summer approached the limestone walls and tiled flooring came to the fore as they kept the home comfortably cool.
Every minor maintenance issue was corrected quickly and we felt welcomed into the local restaurants and community because of the respect in which our hosts are held.
We cannot recommend this holiday apartment highly enough.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardo3...
Azay-le-Rideau, France
2 reviews
“Delightful country stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and found the cottage comfortable, quiet, well appointed and very well equipped with everything we needed to prepare meals and refresh ourselves before moving on. Patric and Dominique were very welcoming and we appreciated the "Welcome" sign at the gate. There is plenty to visit in the local area but a car is definitely needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: Slight earthy odour coming from natural stone face the building is attached to, affecting laundry and stair well...May be of concern to people with chest problems.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMartin40
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Even better than expected.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fantastic spacious,stylish house and idyllic garden in beautiful location.
Pretty town with lovely shops,chateau and places to eat.
Great region of France to explore.
Perfect hosts who's warm welcome and attention to detail in the house made for a relaxing,peaceful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful view of the garden through huge,stylish window.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat G
1 review
“We all loved our stay at Le Plessis and hope to return before too long.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I and two friends stayed at Le plessis for four nights last week. We fell in love with it from first sight - the lovely walled garden, the comfortable and well equipped house, the marvellous way that the house incorporated the stone wall of the cliff into the staircase, and probably most of all, the warm welcome from Dominique and Patrick - including the 'welcome' notice fixed to the gate.
We will certainly try to come again to this gem of a gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: Having to leave so soon
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara100Au...
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here with 2 friends. We were all very happy - great location - lovely and quiet.
Patrick was a great host and very helpful and a beautiful village to stay so close to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not a full shower in main bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne33
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have stayed at Le Plessis several times and have no complaints. The hosts - Dominique & Patrick are excellent, warm and friendly, know the area like the back of their hand and are happy to share their local knowledge. Both the Gite and the Atelier are well appointed and all facilities are of a good size. Azay-le-Rideau is a lovely town and it is an easy stroll to local shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing