We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manor
Pool Rabelais Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Manor
Pool
Rabelais Room
Living room
Dining room
kitchen / dining room
Rabelais Room
Ronsard Room
Junior Room
Junior Room
Bathroom
Bathroom 2
Garden pool
Garden
Garden pool
Du Bellay Room
Garden
Domain
Domain
Domain
Domain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LukeForti...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently returned from an enchanting stay at La Grande Loge. We were an extended family of 9 grown-ups and 2 babies, yet there was plenty of room for everyone in this well-equipped and tastefully refurbished lodge house. Mme Touze looks after her property with great care and attention to detail (it was, after all, her family home - she now lives in the adjacent wing and is, incidentally, the perfect landlady: attentive but never intrusive). There are plenty of grounds in which children can play, a pristine swimming pool and all the facilities you would expect from a comfortable holiday home. The nearby winery (Chateau de L'Aulée) is a short walk away and sells the best value 'cremant' (champagne by any other name) you will find anywhere in France and there is a plethora of other attractions within easy reach... although you might choose to simply unwind with a few good books in the seclusion of La Grande Loge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: A secluded, spacious and tasteful place to relax and unwind.
Liked least: Coming home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for this so marvellous review.. It was a great great pleasure to meet you .. I hope you will come back ...by example to buy our so delicious Loire champagne !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjfraser
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in the Heart of the Loire”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

La Grande Loge is a magnificent place to stay during a visit to the Loire Valley. As a group of four Canadian couples, we recently returned from biking in the region and spent an idyllic seven days enjoying this sumptuous and historic manor as a starting and ending point for each day's adventures. It is perfectly situated in central Loire near the small, charming village of Azay-le-Rideau and is easily accessible from Paris by train or car. Everything you need for a memorable vacation is close at hand - groceries, winery (Chateau d'Aulee has good whites), bike rental, a chateau, cafes, even a farmer's market which boasts amazingly fresh produce at this time of year. Yet its location at the edge of town, surrounded by farmers' fields, is very peaceful and feels like a country setting. You might even have a visit from neighbouring cows like we did!

The Loge itself is an exceptional home, and as other guests have mentioned, the pictures do not quite capture the size, grandeur and special feeling it evokes. The kitchen has all the "bells and whistles" and is well-stocked with equipment and staples, the bedrooms are roomy, the furniture/beds are very comfortable - we all slept well after days of touring and biking. There are 3 shower rooms, modernized and clean, and two separate rooms containing the toilets. The weather was hot and sunny during our stay so we really appreciated the easy-to-operate pool and the HUGE yard, filled with exquisite roses, in which it is situated. We spent every evening meal outdoors - a highlight!! For children, it is an ideal place with trees and lawn that extend forever, perfect to explore and play games of tag and soccer. There are also tons of pool toys and bath towels. Despite the draw of the many compelling sites in the local area as well as the neighbouring villages and towns, we so enjoyed the lawn, garden and pool that one day was devoted to relaxation of all this outdoor space had to offer.

If you are considering a group or family trip to the Loire, La Grande Loge is definitely the place to stay - we highly recommend it!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
It was a great pleasure to have so kindly guests who understood with patience and humor some little electricity problems we tried to resolv as quickly as possible... And have estimate the region and our good wines .. Thanks for this wonderful review which reward our wish to give to our guests very nice souvenir of their stay in this home and in the Loire Valley !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So_jet_la...
Phillip Island, Australia
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful stay at La Grande Loge as an extended family of six adults and two children. I have no hesitation in recommending this outstanding property.
Highlights were:
- Tastefully decorated, character-filled rooms with lots of space for our extended family
- Large dining table and well-equipped, modern kitchen (perfect for long family lunches)
- Stunning grounds with a tree-lined driveway, well-maintained swimming pool, beautiful entry courtyard with large old trees, and lots of outdoor furniture
- All the practical stuff like wifi, washing machine and dryer and a large supermarket within walking distance
- Brilliant location in Azay le Rideau, surrounded by wineries and the famous chateaus of the Loire Valley
- Lovely owner who was welcoming and helpful without being intrusive, assisting us with dinner reservations and more than happy to share the fascinating history of the property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniszc
Bahar ic-Caghaq, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding property”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home after spending seven wonderful days at La Grande Loge. When I booked our holiday online back in April I was impressed with the photos on the website. Well the place is actually even more beautiful than the photos. It is absolutely stunning.
We were welcomed by the charming landlady who quickly showed us around and immediately made us feel very much at home. The house is full of light, very spacious and surrounded by views of the beautiful garden where we spent a lot of our time. The kitchen is fully equipped and the living room is very comfortable with a great fireplace which we enjoyed every evening. The location is perfect as it 5 minutes from the charming village of Azay le Rideau but more importantly it is situated in the heart of the Loire with easy access to all the Chateaux in the area. The house is very tastefully decorated with many amenities to keep both adults and children entertained. I heartily recommend this place as we had an unforgettable holiday there.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annechala...
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Mille mercis pour cette belle appréciation, ce fut un plaisir de recevoir une Famille aussi agréable que la vôtre... la maison était impeccable à votre départ... vous êtes vraiment recommandés aux autres loueurs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing