We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & tasteful stay with wonderful breakfast”
Review of Le Clos Pasquier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Pasquier
Ranked #4 of 18 Blois B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Peaceful & tasteful stay with wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Beautiful B&B discovery in the Loire Valley. The perfect place to have a base while visiting the many chateaux and wine regions. We have had the pleasure of staying at Le Clos Pasquier twice now, and both times I was impressed with the tranquil setting, tasteful decor and amazing presentation of the copious 5-star breakfast. Claire and Laurent Nicot have turned their charming property into a private and welcoming haven using beautiful materials and colors to decorate the breakfast and living room as well as the guest quarters. While remarking on the lovely colored tiles, I learnt they were reclaimed from another old property and installed while they renovated their place.

Upon arrival I received a lovely tray with fresh tea of my choice along with a delicious and generous piece of fruit cake. The room had bottled water (both sparkling and still) and nice amenities, with soft towels and a towel warmer in the bathroom. Every detail has real quality and the breakfast breads are all home-baked by Claire, along with artisanal cheeses, delicious smoked salmon and ham. There are even warm items such as pancakes and waffles, impeccably served in special dishes. Both Claire and Laurent speak very good English and are helpful in giving advice on where to go and what to do, be it sightseeing, picking a restaurant or finding a good realtor while hunting for properties (which was our reason for staying).

I look forward to returning again and highly recommend this B&B, which is apropriately called Maison d'Amis in French. The value is amazing as well, you will enjoy the visit to Le Clos Pasquier and Blois is a lovely town with many great restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
84
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Le Clos Pasquier is an exceptional property, and we chose to stay there in preference to being in the heart of Blois for this very reason, despite the fact that it is not as convenient. The advantage of course is that it is very very peaceful, yet takes just minutes to drive to the centre.

The house offers you a lovely, welcoming, restful atmosphere, has lots of character including original beams and beautiful terracotta tomettes, is decorated with great style, imagination and taste, and equipped to an extremely high standard.

We communicated in both English and French with our charming, attentive hosts. Always approachable for help with information of all kinds, Claire and Laurent also prepare you a wonderful continental breakfast: a different and generous choice on successive days, (including table setting!) much of which was made in their own kitchen: little rice puddings, breads, jams, delicious baked apples ...

Our only criticism if it can be called such, was that we wanted to enjoy the local wines with our evening meal and the taxis to the town were very expensive since (we assume that) the meter starts running from the geographical point at which the driver receives your call.

We have a second home in the South West which we rent to holiday-makers. Le Clos Pasquier would make the ideal stop-over for those of our guests intending to drive south and to explore the delights of the Loire on the way: we will be recommending it - vivement!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We would highly recommend this Chambre D'Hote. The owners are delightful and very helpful, the room was fabulous and the breakfasts have to be the best we have eaten. You are about 5-10 mins from Blois and a perfect location to visit many of the Chateaux.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We had an excellent weekend at Le Clos Pasquier. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, offering us brochures and recommendations for all the different things to do in the area. They provided very good advice on the local castles, Blois, and where traffic may be heavy. The room we had was renovated and very comfortable, and the common room downstairs would have been a great place to relax if we had more time! The breakfast was also excellent. It's not an American breakfast (no bacon, eggs, sausage, or pancakes), but it's about the best French breakfast I've had, with homemade breads, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, ham, yogurt, etc.

Only potential drawbacks: it's not in the town, so you need a car to get there, or rent a bike at the train station. It's not particularly close to a bridge, so if you're planning to bike to the castles or vineyards, just be aware you'll first have to bike to a bridge. It's not immediately obvious from the road (it's a home, not a hotel), but there is a small sign out front, and our GPS did find it (although we had to type "Oree" and not "Impasse" to let the GPS locate it).

But if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay with a delicious breakfast and helpful and friendly hosts, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryT770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

In contrast to our personal experience with the vast majority of tripadvisor reviews upon which we have relied, we were quite disappointed with Le Clos Pasquier. This was the most expensive hotel in which we stayed during a 2 week trip to Italy/France, but it was not the nicest, most convenient, or best value for the money. It was extremely difficult to find, despite GPS and several phone calls to the hotel. The owners seemed quite annoyed by our difficulty in following their (poor) directions. We would have chalked this up to our lack of fluency in French, except that a subsequent experience at Les Valles in Crisse-sur-Manse, a B&B in a tiny village in which essentially no English was spoken, was delightful, largely due to the owners, who made us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owensleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Le Clos Pasquier is a fantastic guesthouse five minutes drive from the centre of Blois. Claire and Laurent, the owners, are a sophisticated couple who have thought carefully about every detail to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The property has been beautifully restored and the beds are incredibly comfortable (the same make as in a well known 5 star hotel chain). Claire and Laurent are extremely welcoming and helpful. We arrived late on the first night and they were able to suggest a restaurant that would still be serving and even booked a table for us. During our stay, they also suggested Chateaux and other places to visit and every recommendation was perfect. The breakfast is magnificant and the experience was brilliant from start to finish.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Terrific Host and Hostess make you feel invited in to their lovey renovated 16th century old hunting house. The decor is superb (very modern upgrades/bathrooms) along with the beautiful breakfast that Clare & Lauren's do with great pride. Listen to their restaurant recommendations in Blois; (we had three nights and three excellent restaurants). The B&B location is easy to get to; in a quaint village across from the Loire and two minutes out of Blois. Blois town was well worth the time to explore especially the Chateau in town and enjoy the town turns into a huge market on Sat. am.. And all the most glamourous chateau's are with in a hours drive. You will be amazed as we were and listen to your hosts reccommendations if you are under three days stay. We will never forget our host's generous help when we messed up our TGV Train travel to Tours/St. Pierre which is where we got the rental car. One important note is to make sure you have cash to pay the note/invoice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
3.4 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
4.0 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
3.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
3.1 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Hotel Louise de Savoie
#10 of 28 in Blois
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Pasquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Pasquier

Property: Le Clos Pasquier
Address: Impasse de l'Oree du Bois, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of the forest of the royal town of Blois, Le Clos Pasquier, a 16th century manor house warm and cozy, seduce lovers of old beams and terracotta. You can relax in the large living room or discover the remarkable wealth of the Loire Valley. Two rooms invite you to undeniably cocooning. Two spacious suites with separate access and lounge will bring you calm and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Pasquier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing