We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
44
5
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
5
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church au cheese jam breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015

To begin with, it is one of the best hotels my mom and me have ever seen. Actually it is not a hotel – it is a sweet home far from home. The hotel is housed in an elegant old-fashioned building with magnificent atmosphere. The owner, Philippe, and his wife do their best to make their guests feel safe, comfortable and happy. The rooms are furnished beautifully – as for our room, called Bois de Rose, there are roses everywhere: on the wallpaper, in the bath, on your linen etc. Everything is neat and tidy. On the second floor there is patio, where you can relax before going to bed after seeing the gorgeous castle of Blois. But what we liked best was breakfast! It is served in a spacious dining room and you have a meal under the accompaniment of classical music playing from early morning till late evening. As for the dishes, it defies description: fresh croissants, sweet melon and strawberry, various kinds of expensive cheese and sausage, hot pancakes with maple syrup and several kinds of jam, orange fresh, smoothies, baked honey apples, fruit salads and what not! I suppose, Philippe is not only a hotel owner but a real Michelin Chef )) But the most important thing is the attitude of the hotel owners to their guests – we have never met such openhearted, kind, responsive, sincere and in every respect beautiful couple! The only thing we were sorry about was the fact that after two fantastic nights we had to leave. We DO recommend everyone to visit this hotel – you’ll certainly enjoy it! Thank you, Philippe, keep it up! Faites attention a vous! Soyez en bonne santé! Alice and Irina.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izverginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Right next door to the cathedral, 16 Place St Louis could not be better placed to explore the lovely town of Blois. It is an old house on four floors - the rooms are on the third and fourth, so you must be fit, and prepared to climb old stairs, the higher you go they lean inwards slightly - quirky indeed! We were given the choice of Bois de Rose on the top floor, and the blue room immediately below, as there had been a last minute cancellation . We chose Bois de Rose - although the door is tiny, as pointed out by other reviewers, the room is charming, the bed huge and comfortable, the ensuite perfectly adequate. My husband is 6 ft 4. He managed the doorway, and we have some wonderful photos of him bent double in the doorway to remind us of a lovely, if quirky place to stay. Breakfasts are lovely, served in a gracious dining room by the owner, Philippe, who is absolutely charming, very helpful, and goes out of his way to ensure you have the best places to eat, suggestions of places to visit. He produces freshly made fruit compotes each day, freshly made smoothies, croissants from along the road, fresh bread, coffee, tea, hams, cheeses. I dare say there are bed and breakfasts which are easier to navigate - but honestly - this is a gem. As is its owner. If you can stay here, do.

Room tip: Bois de Rose on the top attic floor has a very tiny door! But the room is charming and comfortable.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Its location is convenient so you can walk to the chateau or Blois downtown within 10 mins.
The host Philippe is super helpful and provided bike rental, dining and travel suggestions which are extremely useful. The breakfast is also one the best I've had in France.
Overall speaking, very much worth the value!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ji C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Let me start by saying that Philippe is the perfect host: friendly, knowledgable, but not overly familiar. I should also say that I just loved breakfast every morning: the choice of items was superb, the quality top-notch and the setting impeccable. The house itself is also a treasure, with beautiful wooden beams and antique furniture.

The room, however, was very uncomfortable. I had the Rose room, I believe that the Blue one is similar, but the larger suite on the top floor may be a very different story.

The Rose room is small, which is usual in France. It has a bizarre low door, which is inconvenient but I could live with it. But it had no desk, no chair (there's one armchair tuck in the corner), and worst of all, no storage space at all. There is no place to put your luggage, apart from on the floor; and no place to store your clothes, simply nothing (there is one cabinet with a few drawers, but they were filled with blankets and pillows).

My room was serviced every day. This included making the bed and cleaning the bathroom, but not replacing the towels or emptying the trash can.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Au 16 is on Place Saint Louis, opposite the cathedral. Philippe was very welcoming and the room fine – the house is elegant and packed with antiques. You do need to be fit – it’s above the town and tracing the alleyways of the old quarter does mean going up and down a lot! A stunning breakfast in the beautiful dining room - coffee in jugs was good, the croissants and baguettes fresh, the preserves lovely. Orange juice, ripe melon, pancakes and maple syrup delicious. We didn’t alas have room for the honey cakes, the cereal, yoghurt, cheese and ham! When Philippe heard we were planning to visit Chambord he dashed off and returned with a voucher for a reduction “Enough for a coffee!” he said. a great welcome. oh - and he recommended and booked us an excellent restaurant, Le Bistrot Du Cuisinier - i'd recommend that too as i do Au 16. i only didn't give him five stars because the room isn't the largest and the hills are steep - i was suffering a back problem and felt them! but the welcome and the breakfast and Philippe himself are 5 star.

Room tip: we had Bleu de Loire - lovely decor but not the largest room but then this is an old, narrow old house! for one night i'd trade space for delight...
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews