We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in so many ways!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Moulin des Charmes
Ranked #3 of 19 Blois B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming in so many ways!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Upon seeing an enormous british flag being waved to alert us to Le Moulin des Charme's entrance by a chuckling Englishman we knew we were in for a treat. Noel and his lovely French wife Marina were delightfully entertaining hosts, the accommodation beautifully appointed and ever so comfortable and the setting so picturesque. Absolutely charming and heartily recommended!

Helpful?
Thank JaneElizabethT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
78
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The only thing that could have made our stay better was if it had been longer! Spending three nights with Noel and Marina was the best part of our trip to France. We felt as though we had dropped in on long lost cousins who welcomed us into their home with delight. Noel is an Englishman married to an energetic French woman. What a team!

The things we enjoyed: comfortable, spacious, elegant accommodations; warm and welcoming living areas for our pleasure; delicious breakfasts with croissants fresh from the patisserie and eggs straight from the chickens; gorgeous grounds for relaxing or roaming; hosts that provided great ideas for daytime excursions; the sounds of the outdoors; interesting conversations with the Terrys and other guests.

A couple of times a week Marina serves dinner to their guests...and Noel pours wine! If possible, take advantage of this treat. It begins with watching Marina in the kitchen and ends hours later with a sip of cognac.. All so French!!

Would we return?? In a heartbeat! This place is a true gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TownsendDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights last summer, and were just delighted with it- it was beautifully done up and maintained- in a very peaceful and tranquil setting. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and up to 5 star hotel standards. Very french (obviously!), very chic. Amazing breakfasts, with all sorts of gorgeous homemade jams- from whatever happened to be in season at the time. Eggs for breakfast were freshly laid by the hens and ducks wandering around in the gardens.

The village the house is in is absolutely tiny- I believe there is a restaurant there, but it was closed when we were there (August 2010)- so we ate with our hosts- set up on a table down by the riverside, all candlelit and stunningly pretty. Great wine was flowing, and we really enjoyed meeting some of the other guests (normally this would be my idea of hell- making small talk with strangers for a whole evening - but somehow it turned our to be very enjoyable). Marina our hostess, in particular made our stay feel extra special.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Wow! Marina & Noel what a fantastic couple. We stayed for four nights while touring the chateaux of the Loire. The weather was kind and the location idilic. This has to be one of the top chambres d'hote in the region. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and beautifully equipped. If you have the opportunity to eat one or more of Marina's evening meals you are in for a real treat. Fantastic food and sparkling conversation (some would say robust). Noel is a real English gentleman and Marina a French lady tres charmante. We had such a great time with them that we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel_ames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Noel and Marina were wonderful - the rooms were great - breakfast great - dinner special - area convenient for plenty of chateaux on the Loire - would return in a second!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My wife and I wanted a relaxing holiday, Noel and Marina made sure that we were very well looked after and gave us some good suggestions for local days out, they certainly went the extra mile. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent quality and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We were completely bowled over when we arrived at this sublime B&B and realised that we were going to be able to enjoy it for five nights.
There are not enough superlatives to describe this place.
The beautifully restored, several hundred year old mill is situated on its own sparkling stream, surrounded by large trees, extensive lawns and gorgeous flower beds- and with a complement of hens, ducks and three garrulous geese to add to the idyllic scene.
We had the "Azalea" room with a king sized bed and our relatives had the "Magnolia" with a large queen sized bed. But all the rooms are large, beautifully furnished with big, comfortable beds, arm chairs and ample storage space. Tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and chocolates were very welcome after a long drive! The bathrooms are huge and have a bath as well as a shower and come with fluffy towels and toiletries.
Breakfasts, served in the big, sunny kitchen, are delicous and abundant - pastries, breads, eggs from the chooks if you wish, fruit juices, home-made jams, fruit, endless cups of good coffee. All offered with a smile and warmth which begins the day well.
Noel and Marina are incredible hosts. Communication was always prompt and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for this unbelievably hard-working couple. All you needed to do was to mention a need or wish and they tried their best to help with information and instructions.
Marina is an incredible cook. Our four course dinner with wines to complement the dishes was wonderful. The setting, the food, the company and the ambiance made this an evening to remember.
On the other nights we ate at the pub/restaurant across the road from the B&B where the food was excellent, the prices reasonable and the staff obliging.
Without doubt, this is the best B&B experience we have ever had. It will remain in our memory bank for a long, long time. I only hope we can go back there again one day to enjoy the stunning hospitality and accommodation offered by Noel and Marina!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
5.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
6.4 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
264 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
5.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
6.9 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#2 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin des Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin des Charmes

Property: Le Moulin des Charmes
Address: 2 Chemin du Gue Taureau | Moulineuf, 41190, Blois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast and rental accommodation in Blois near Amboise in the Loire Valley. It will be our pleasure to welcome you for a holiday or a weekend B&B break in Molineuf, between Blois and Amboise near the chateaux of the Loire Valley. Le Moulin des Charmes is a converted manor house with mill providing accommodation. We offer luxury accommodation on a bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner basis near the picturesque towns of Blois and Amboise in the Loire Valley. We also have a self catering rental cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing