We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Moulin des Charmes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
115
11
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
11
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millother guestsb bhighlight of our tripthe riverbacon and eggsloire valleyhomemade preservesbed and breakfasteach morningsitting roomcompotehibiscus roomflower bedsgracious hostsbeautiful gardentwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed with Marina and Noel for 6 days and were sorry to leave them and their lovely, comfortable home. You couldn't wish for better hosts and add to that an interesting home, fabulous breakfasts, quiet grounds to wander in and plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the river gently running through the property ( and where we participated in the evening aperitif hour). Be sure to take advantage of the opportunity to enjoy a superb evening meal cooked by Marina with wines carefully chosen by Noel. We ate with them twice and both were memorable evenings - far better than driving to find a dinner that often is pricier and not as delicious. An added plus is you don't have to drive home! We were in the Camelia suite upstairs and were very comfortable. The other two rooms (one more upstairs and one on ground level) looked equally lovely. Both Noel and Marina went out of their way to make sure we knew where to go to see interesting sites on our daily jaunts around the countryside. I will recommend Le Moulin des Charmes to friends and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCDancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

It was an honour and a treat to spend 6 nights in the care of Noel and Marina. I say care because they so obviously do about their guests feeling welcome, comfortable and as friends in their home. If there has been a bad egg in these reviews they cannot spoil the lot as these hosts are nothing but sunny side up!!! Pull round the corner in past the gates and tired from your journey and voila you are whisked into a world befitting its name. We enjoyed everything from room to meals to conversation to advice about all topics!!! What are you waiting for? Arrive as a friend to be and you will leave as a friend with great memories!:)

Room Tip: Some rooms up some down...all lovely
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntydaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at Le Moulin des Charmes for two nights with our two daughters in September. We were very warmly welcomed by both Noel and Marina. The Mill is a a beautiful home with some parts of the mill dating back to the 12th century. We occupied two rooms one downstairs and our daughters were upstairs. The rooms are fantastic, beautifully decorated and with large private bathrooms. The security gates are easy to operate and provide a secure environment for everyone.

The grounds of the Mill are idyllic and it was very peaceful to wake to the sounds of the countryside after spending a week in Paris. My youngest daughter loved being able to help Marina feed the geese and chooks and play with Roxy the dog. Marina related beautifully with both our daughters (as did Noel). We took lovely walks through the property.

Marina is a fantastic cook. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts and a magnificent dinner prepared for us by Marina with the other guests and Noel generously matched wines from his personal cellar for each course.

Noel and Marina helped us to plan our activities while in Loire, recommended and even booked us into local restaurants. They gave us expert instructions on how to get to our next destination - Bordeaux. Noel even advised us on places to visit in Bordeaux. Thank you Noel we loved Sainte Emillion.

We would definitely highly recommend Le Moulin Des Charmes.

Thanks for the fabulous experience.

Larissa, Nicholas, Jemima and Annabelle

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here the same time as Ian and his family and another couple from New Zealand and we must say we loved it. We had the Magnolia room on the groundfloor and could step right into the garden. It was really nice and quiet especially for us, living in the city. The room was very nice with a huge bathroom. Noel is a real entertainer and Marina is a great cook. The dinner we had (8 people) was great, everybody really enjoyed theirselves. She really made a kind of triffle which was great. Also a delicious breakfast. For us the gate was ok, it gives you a privat idea. The first night we had dinner in the hotel on the other side of the road, which was also very nice. Noel and Marina thanks again for the lovely time we had in your house, we really felt welcome.

Erna and Bert
Holland

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We are used to stylish accomodation and surroundings which Le Moulin des Charmes offers, so we booked for 5 nights. What a disappointment it was to us after looking forward to our stay there based on its website and e-mail communication with Noel and Marina. Noel is without doubt close to the perfect host, a true bon vivant who appears to enjoy life to the full and certainly goes out of his way to help - as he did with us on at least two occasions. He deserves to build up the business to its optimum, he is however facing an uphill battle, enter Marina, a skulking, stressed, burnt out manic, who took an immediate and quite unjustified dislike to us. We arrived on the day of an annual antique/bric-a-brac fair being held in the outer grounds which really had little impact on the house or garden, this coupled with a fairly large contingent of family members and friends some of whom were staying at the mill appeared to put an unwarranted stress on our hostess. Someone had to pay and it was us. To put all of this into perspective, the meals were excellent even if at breakfast you could be met with a surliness or a forced bonhomie from her. The freely flowing wine which we read so much about was only evident when we enjoyed an additionally paid for pleasant evening with good food and wine and Marina thankfully ensconced at the far end of the table in twilight. This experience made our trip to the Loire less than it should have been (which was fortunately counter balanced by catching up with friends from Le Mans). We believe Marina needs to shape up or ship out and retire as guests do not warrant this kind of treatment. It's something we certainly have never encountered before or since. We rate our stay as 3 or 4 out of ten but it could and should have easily been 8 or 9. Good luck Noel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 367John367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moulindescharmes, Owner at Le Moulin des Charmes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear Reader,

It is best for us to stay at distance from this type of personal commentary . Normally we have been able to forsee the nature of persons who request a reservation and therefore protect our other guests who enjoy the pleasure of staying here.

A great shame that the selfless characteristic of being a kind host is sometimes degraded on this media by such curious eccentricity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews