We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far away from anything cool in Blois”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Blois Centre
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too far away from anything cool in Blois”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This Hotel is okay if you are on a business trip, but for vacationing not so good. It is over a half a mile away from the best parts of Blois and is at the top the hill, so if you do walk to the cool parts of Blois especially for dinner, walking back in not fun. Also, it does have air conditioning.. except not before May 1st, so our late April trip with a little heat wave the room was very uncomfortable. The restaurant was always empty, never a good sign. The pricing on room service is confusing.. and created a problem, the staff did take care of it.. but still a hassle is a hassle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Blois Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear David A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

I am disappointed to read about your inconveniences during your stay. I am sorry if you found that our hotel was not conveniently located. Let me also take this opportunity to apologize for any discomforts brought about by the air conditioning system.

Once again many thanks for your feedback. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    152
    86
    20
    16
See reviews for
49
193
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It is not very near the castle, but it is not very far away either. So, location is quite good, unless you don't like to walk or have some health problems,
I used to stay in thhis hotel in business like 13-15 years ago, and it was good to see that there was total redecoration and restyling of the hotel, both public areas and rooms. Our room was facing a courtyard, so no traffic noise. It was in fact very quiet, modern and comfortable. It is not luxurious, but still nice to come back after a day of sightseeing.
The breakfast was included in our rate and it was good in quality and variety (the muesli bread was very good!).
Friendly staff at the reception with a good advise for a place for buying macarons (Feuillete!). There is a laptop near the reception with free internet connection, which was convenient to check emails and the weather forecast for the next days.
There are complimentary car park, although not very big. One night it was full, and we let the car near that park (which is free during the night) and next morning we could find a place again in the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing te courtyard if you want to make sure that you can't hear traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CIVOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a reasonably priced international hotel catering (when we were there) for American tour parties and other group events. Our twin room was fine apart from no mirror in bedroom area, only in bathroom, so difficult to put on make-up when the glass was all steamed up! Tea, coffee and drinking chocolate on tray - unusual in continental hotels. Options for different types of pillows available.
The staff at reception were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, the hotel was clean and the rooms were fairly well insulated from noise. There's free parking in the hotel's own car park - a bonus in this town.
There's a restaurant but the choice of food was limited and very expensive for the area. Breakfast was reasonable with a good choice of cereals, cold meat, cheese, fruit and cooked food too. But it cost 16 euros which was pretty extortionate if you only want coffee and croissant!
Blois is built on the side of a steep hill leading down to the river and the hotel is near the top of the town. Climbing back up steep streets and stepped passageways kept us fit! Possibly not a good choice of location for anyone with difficulty in walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallopingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Having a car in a city can be a chanlensge, but this Holiday Inn had its own parking lot. Just drive into the alley way between the restaurant and the building next door. Parking is free.
The receptionist was very kind and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable with lots of pillows.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripanticipation3359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

I guess I'm not expecting much, being somewhat in the French countryside. The front desk at night was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the hotel was quite. I guess the one issue i had was the breakfast. I only had about 5 minutes to grab breakfast, so i took a coffee and 2 croissants to go. For this, I was charge 16 Euro's. There is no in between I guess, which I commented on to the front desk. At other hotels I've stayed at, they've waved the charge when they hear this. To make matters worse, the front desk assumed I had 2 people eat breakfast out of my room, so she had charged me 32 euro's instead. She did take this off. When i mentioned it to my co-worker who had eaten and checked out earlier, she had done the same thing to him. Also, 5 euro for wifi! This should be included in the rate. I don't know how great the other hotels are around, but next time down here I would probably stay somewhere else.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Blois Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blois hotels

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Great frontdesk staff! clean and modern rooms. Ordered room service and received magnificent platter of cheese and white wine. Really happy with our stay. Had to pay 5 Euros for internet connection, wireless, in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdanies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Just average. The rooms were nicely sized: the bedroom was well done, nicely appointed and clean, but this was balanced out by the dated and worn down bathroom. With some remodeling work it would be quite nice, but unfortunately I don't really fancy staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.7 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Styles Blois Centre Gare
0.6 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
1.4 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Blois Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Blois Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Blois Centre
Address: 26 Avenue du Marechal Maunoury, 41000, Blois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Blois Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Blois, Holiday Inn Blois-Loire Valley hotel is the perfect place for a business trip or to enjoy tourism in family. The hotel is located less than 10 minutes walk from the city center of Blois, 2km from the train station, and 5 km from the motorway A10. It is perfectly situated for exploring the " chateaux of the Loire": Chambord, Chenonceau, Chaumont, Blois... Visit our pandas at Zoo Park Beauval located 40 minutes from the hotel. Take advantage of our local products ( Loire wines and goat cheese AOC) Our Holiday Inn Blois hotel, freshly renovated in a contemporary design, combining comfort and zen, has 78 air conditioned bedrooms and fully equipped with minibar, safe, internet acces, cable TV,tea & coffee facilities. Enjoy our private car park, freely available. We stay at your disposal to assist you for your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Blois Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Blois Centre Hotel Blois
Blois Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing