We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job for an overnight stay at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced room for 4 as we passed through Blois and Hotel Le Savoie was as we expected. Our room (101) was basic but clean with a double bed, two single beds and a small bathroom. No tea/coffee making in the room. The TV appeared to only have French channels. The owners were friendly however had limited English.It was a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre and chateau. Around Hotel Le Savoie there is not much action with a number of buildings around the hotel vacant and a vacant block across the road. We were there on a Saturday and parked in the street with no problems. There is limited activity around the hotel but we found a great restaurant about 5 minutes down the road on the way to town where we ate, serving a mix of Asian, French and mexican food! The station is just at the end of the road, less than 5 minutes walk. Breakfast was 7 euro per person for basic fare of cereal, juice, croissant, baguettes and tea/coffee. Overall, the hotel did the job for us - a comfortable and clean bed for the night on our way through Blois.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Louise de Savoie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

This little hotel is very convenient if you are passing through. It is located at walking distance from the train station and very close to the center, restaurants and the likes. The hotel is not fancy, has no elevator, no air condition. The receptionist seem to be husband and wife. Nice people who tried to help where needed. We arrived late July and it was very hot and humid in the room. They gave us a fan and that solved the issue. Though we got a room facing the street, and yes you could hear the train, we had no problem and no noise that didn't let us sleep. Not fancy, minimum but clean, the bed could be updated or at least the mattress. If you are passing through with a bike trip or visiting the Chateaux nearby, it is good enough. If you are looking for a romantic trip, forget it

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The good:
- rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious
- rooms are cleaned once per day
- great location
- very reasonably priced
- free wifi works well in the rooms
- plenty of power points in the room

The bad:
- the owners are really lovely but hardly speak any English which made it a little difficult for ignorant Aussies like ourselves!
- the shower head in our room (no. 209) was partially broken which got a bit annoying 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyT589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is only a 2 star hotel but is reasonably priced for it proximity to the city center . The owners are very helpful and speak a little English. The rooms are a bit small but are very clean and OK for short stays. The station is less than 5 minutes walk away, the city center 15 and the river 15 minutes. Parking could be an issue but currently there is space available on a plot of land opposite but don't know how long this will be available. Breakfast was standard fare for budget hotels but in saying this, it was very good at only 7 euros. Stayed with some friends and would use this again if I was in the Blois area.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the side or rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipB417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just needed to stay one night in Blois and after failing to find another hotel in the town centre with parking we were very happy to find this hotel.
It was a very basic no frills room but the price was fair and we could park right out front. We were pleasantly surprised to find it a short and interesting walk into the town at night via the castle to have dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Good
One of the cheapest options in Blois.
Close to the railway station -- easy to find on arrival by train.
Within about 15 minutes' walk of most place in Blois.
Very friendly and helpful manager (his wife less so!).
Good breakfast -- but nothing special.
Secure bike-parking available.

The Bad
Some of the rooms are VERY small: too small to even have a chest of drawers, so clothes have to be piled on the small desk, or hung in the small cupboard.
Truly MINUSCULE bathroom: approximately 3 foot by 3 foot, containing shower, basin, and toilet.
Thin walls: you can hear your neighbours talking, and moving around because of the
creaky floorboards.
Located at the top end of town, so going out means climbing the hill again at the end of the day.
Located just a hundred yards or so from the train station, so some reviewers complain of noise. We asked for quiet rooms (at the back) and could hardly hear the trains.
No lift/elevator (not a problem for me, but for anyone old/disabled with heavy bags, it could be a problem).

Summary
Perfectly OK for those on a tight budget, but if you are staying more than 24 hours or so and are not on a tight budget, it is probably worth staying somewhere more central than this.

PS: Note that at present (Sept. 2011) Google Maps places the hotel in the wrong street, so search using the correct street name, not the hotel name.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JdeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Terrible bathroom! It's like a plastic cupboard with a toilet in. Shaving my legs with them balanced up on the wall was an interesting experience. Room was very clean but definitely a cheaper feel. However the owners were lovely people and the location was great. Not bad for the price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggebare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blois
19.8 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louise de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louise de Savoie

Address: 6 rue Ducoux, 41000, Blois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louise de Savoie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Blois, on the right bank of the Loire, between the station and the castle. Louise de Savoie Hotel offers a unique setting that combines the charm of the old with a contemporary renovation of high quality. A warm welcome and a team available to make your stay in Blois a true moment of relaxation and conviviality. Coming from the world in our hotel, so where you come from, you are welcome. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Louise de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Savoie Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing