We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst treatment ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blois
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La maison de Thomas
Ranked #6 of 18 Blois B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst treatment ever”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I can not comment.on anything about Maison de Thomas other than the service, which was dreadful.
We had a reservation, and were coming NY bike from Chambord. We arrived at 4:20 on a hot, steamy day looking forward to a shower and clean clothes. Instead, we found a sign on the door saying that they would be back at 5. At 5:20 another guest showed up and let us into the lobby. He then called the proprietor, who had him relay the message that we should just wait there, and he would be by some time after 6. Meanwhile, the other guest had to leave, so we would have to remain in the lobby of the B&B until the proprietor showed up since we had no way to lock up.
Having already waited for an hour, and having no idea when after 6 he would show, we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocSam1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume T, Gérant at La maison de Thomas, responded to this review, 1 May 2015
Hello, thank you for your comment,
on tripadvisor , which we ignaurons properly functioning until today .

It is not always easy to do everything perfectly. We welcome you among us and sometimes we have to leave . Since we try to know the hours of each arrivals to better satisfy you.


Thank you , your comments help us to improve.
Guillaume .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in the Médicis room on the second floor, lovely large room with a very comfortable bed and great linens. Slept like a log! We did not hear any noise and despite being non smokers we did not notice any smoke smell. The shower pressure and bathroom were top notch. Thomas is very welcoming, receiving us with a complimentary glass of wine and an excellent suggestion for dinner, Restaurant L'Hote Antique. This restaurant was 5 minutes walk away and we had one of the best meals in France there. Be advised that the parking is a little ways away from the hotel down 33 steps and the staircase up to the rooms is very narrow and twisty, we left our big suitcase in the car and just took in a small carry-on bag.

Room Tip: loved the Médicis room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
242 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

William, the chap who runs the place was really friendly and went out of his way to help us with an errand. We stayed in Salamendre - minimalist/modern in decor on the first floor, with shower. It's about a15 min walk from the train station. If you are traveling by train, leave plenty of time for the uphill walk towards the train station on your departure. We rate it highly because his kindness outweighed a few "cons". While on a quiet street, you can hear your neighbors very well. We are guessing that the bathroom of the next room was right at the adjoining wall where our bed was. So you can hear many things! And not just from next door but from above as well especially if you have a neighbor who loves walking around the room in high heels. There's no tv or air conditioning, but it was raining and cold when we were there. So the heated floors and drying racks were just nice. Our room had perpetual cigarette smell. Came from downstairs. So we had to shut the windows most of the time and it was quite stuffy. If you pick other rooms, I suspect you will be better off...Rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed every 2 days. Note: best to let owner know when you are arriving so that he can expect you especially if you don't speak French. Bring slippers if you don't like walking on wood floors, and your own toiletries (small bottle of shampoo/bath gel provided). Staircase is very narrow and rickety, and thankfully we packed light. Breakfast is simple but we are not morning people. William stays at the back, past the door where you have breakfast. So you can catch him there if there is no one at the reception.

Room Tip: If you don't like smoke, don't pick Salamendre....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great room, recently refurbished with good quality features throughout. It's a great place to stay in Blois. The bed is really firm, which I like. The shower is really good if you are tall like me as it is adjustable in height, with good water pressure (shower rating 8/10). No air-conditioning, but windows open up to let a breeze in. Breakfast which is included in the room rate was fresh and filling to start the day. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

La Maison de Thomas is a very friendly B&B in Blois. It is located on a small street that is a short walk down the the hill into the main section of town. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are in great condition and seem to be recently renovated. A couple of downsides--the beds are incredibly hard--almost like sleeping on cement and there is no air conditioning. On the plus side, the rooms are good sized, the breakfast (continental) is fresh and filling. I'd stay here again if they change the mattresses to something even marginally softer. (The incredibly hard bed is why this gets an average rating).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelguySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Car parking was a little difficult. We had hired a car and unfortunately the B&B is on a pedestrian only street. We parked out car 2 streets away in a public car park. It was safe here however the only down side was needing to carry our luggage to and from the accommodation. There is also no lift so keep in mind you may need to carry your luggage upstairs as well.

The staff were very friendly, the wine/food degustation offered in the cave cellar was terrific.
In addition the breakfast was lovely - complete with fresh baked goods. Definitely filled us up for a day of chateau exploration or just relaxing in town!

All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street if possible. Allows for more cool wind to blow through the room duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deepa23mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here with friends while biking the Loire Valley. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The owner and staff were friendly and the woman who waited on us, name unfortunately forgotten, gave us some excellent suggestions as to sights to see, bike routes to take, and places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.4 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Monarque
Hotel Le Monarque
#11 of 28 in Blois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Styles Blois Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La maison de Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La maison de Thomas

Property: La maison de Thomas
Address: 12 rue Beauvoir | 41000 Blois France, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosts' rooms(chambers) situated in city center of Blois. Quiet and warm district. Closeness of the Royal castle ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing